We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 185 Edinburgh accommodations

Art House Hostel

Save Saved
You added Art House Hostel to your Saves list
20 Gilmore Place | Tollcross, Edinburgh EH3 9NQ, Scotland (West End)
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (23)
  • Photos (4)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
Art House Hostel
Ranked #115 of 185 Specialty lodging in Edinburgh
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    1
    2
    8
See reviews for
3
1
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My two best friends and I recently took a trip to Edinburgh and decided to stay here. The hostel is very close to the city centre, we managed to walk to everywhere we needed and there are some lovely shops nearby - even an ice cream parlour and a wonderful pub with £5 dinner specials. We stayed for 4 nights... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed here for 3 weeks in March of 2011. Jon Joice, the manager/landlord, is a loaded gun waiting to go off. It was the worst visit of my entire life. I was extremely stressed because of him, which is a shame because the hostel itself is lovely and charming. During the course of my stay (in which I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

My parents were visiting for my graduation last summer and we decided to take a little trip around uk. First, when we arrived, our rooms were not ready, but instead of apologizing the manager barked at us like a dog and made us wait outside. I payed double to have a lovely room for my parents all separate and en... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This is (potentially) a nice hostel. The building is a cosy Georgian character terrace house. Unfortunately the behaviour of the manager completely ruins a promising little enterprise. When I was there I saw him bark at people who had unknowingly transgressed hostel rules. It came to a point where I saw him vault up the stairs, barge into one of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

unclean, Jon the owner was hitting on my 15 year old daughter. Dirty showerrooms, Poor management of cleaning routines ie can't get to showers and toilets while staff are attending to them. two out of 4 mornings no breakfast provided. Noisey outside as pubs kick out and people retun after 2am with a supodidky 1am curfew. over all a nightmare.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

My brother and I were travelling through Scotland and stayed at Art House for a few nights. The room was gorgeous and the beds comfy, one of the nicest hostel rooms I have stayed in. Unfortunately on arrival we were subjected to a 20 minute rant by JonJo about how he is the next Richard Branson and how he is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
Konstanz, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

I got back from edinburgh on monday. I stayed for 4 nights and was very satisfied with the art house hostel. I thought it was clean and had a homy touch to it. It has a big living room with internet access, a ton of movies and a beamer. Big kitchen, too. They have like 6 toasters, which i liked,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jonmacojoyce, Guest Relations Manager at Art House Hostel, responded to this review

hey thanks a million for your 5 star review of the Art House. We are very happy to hear that you had a great visit to the Art House in Edinburgh. You are very welcome to come back and stay anytime. Thanks for be a star guest.... happy onward travels and see you again soon. The Art House Team. More

sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Art house hostel, felt more like a home than a hostel. The place is really nice and clean. I stayed there for 2 nights and couldn't be more happier. They also have home cinema should you feel like not doing anything like i did for my last night in edinburgh. The bathroom was clean unlike some hostel i stayed in,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
jonmacojoyce, Manager at Art House Hostel, responded to this review

hey you feedback is very important to us and we are always looking for ways to make our Art Houses more homely and personal. Any ideas you have for the future please share with us as we are in the process of creating more Art Houses at the moment. We wish to grow but keep the homely atmosphere that is... More

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

unclean hostel, owner very rude. would not recommend a stay here, there is a lot of better places in Edinburgh, cleaner and with friendlier staff. It is not centrally located either which could pose a problem and there is only one toilet in the whole hostel for use by guests, which is in no way appropriate.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
jonmacojoyce, Owner at Art House Hostel, responded to this review

Your comments are totally untrue. You all arrived back at 4.30am in the morning extremely drunk and smoking in the hostel. You all were making lots of noise and asked to leave the next day by the Australian manager. The first night you were checked in at 1.00am by the Australian manager and so I am unsure when I ever... More

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Just back from a stay in edinburgh. we booked this hostel as we were arriving into the city very late, and nowhere elsewould accept the late book in, so in fairness to the manager on the place (young Oz guy), he stayed up to check us in. On our first night there we had no problems but on the next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
jonmacojoyce, Guest Relations Manager at Art House Hostel, responded to this review

Your comments are totally untrue. You all arrived back at 4.30am in the morning extremely drunk and smoking in the hostel. You all were making lots of noise and asked to leave the next day by the Australian manager. The first night you were checked in at 1.00am by the Australian manager and so I am unsure when I ever... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Art House Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Art House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art House Hostel

Address: 20 Gilmore Place | Tollcross, Edinburgh EH3 9NQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Art House Hotel Edinburgh
Art House Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Edinburgh with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Number of rooms
4

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Art House Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer