We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 147 Edinburgh hotels

Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Queensferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH4 3HL, Scotland
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
75%
Ranked #96 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Soskis Maidstone, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (431)
  • Photos (126)
  • Location
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (114)
  • More
true
Write a Review

431 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    183
    84
    22
    12
See reviews for
98
116
23
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed over the weekend for a wedding which was held next door at Edinburgh Zoo. We were pleasantly surprised with the hotel, the rooms were clean and quiet, the staff were very friendly and the breakfast excellent with lovely views over the hills and very attentive waiters. We had a problem with the hair dryer in our room and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Weymouth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in this hotel as it was convenient for the airport (about 15 min drive) and we had an early flight. It was spotlessly clean and the staff on reception were very efficient and helpful. This hotle must have one of the best views of Edinburgh. We booked this hotel as we thought we were going to get a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Auntieloulou, I would like to thank you for leaving this review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you found the reception staff very efficient and helpful and that you liked the view over Edinburgh. However I am disappointed to learn that you were not satisfied with the takeaway breakfast. I am happy that your stay was overall... More

Amsterdam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here two nites and the stay was at best average. Really a no frill hotel but the biggest downer was the bed. Really tiny in size...uncomfortably small for two...and not sturdy enough. Felt like one was sleeping on a folding bed. No safes in the room for valuables. The upside was the view from the room where u... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear anupmasuneja, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you liked the view over Edinburgh however I am disappointed to learn that you were not satisfied with the size of your bed, we have king size beds in the executive rooms. Thank you once again... More

Midlands UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in a 2 double bedded room during our stay in Edinburgh. We were allocated a room on the third floor opposite the lifts and this was very noisy on the first night we were there. More soundproofing of the doors might have been helpful. Breakfast was astronomically expensive for a fairly average hotel buffet and was not included... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear mrsajd_10, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you felt our restaurant was expensive and I apologise for not offering the free standard internet for you. I will implement further staff training to promote our free internet offering to ensure that this matter does not occur again. With... More

Aberdeen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic service and food- dinner and breakfast. 10/10. Rooms quiet, spacious and clean. Tv, water and twa, coffee, cocoa in room free. amazing bug window with view across Edinburgh. Good location, free parking and such good value for a family room! Thoroughly recommend. I have just joined Hi club!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Frizzmondo, Many thanks for this wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your feedback on the service and the facilities; I will pass your comments on to the team. Thank you once again and I hope to be able to welcome you to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West in the future. Kind Regards More

Scotland
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
38 hotel reviews
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a very nice stay at this Holiday Inn while in Edinburgh for the military tattoo. We had a nice mini-suite on the 6th floor with great views over the hills. The hotel has free parking so was ideal to park up and get the bus into the city centre without any hassle. 40 & 41 takes you to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Salmo01, Many thanks for this review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to learn that you had a very nice stay with us and that you liked the views over the hills. I hope to be able to welcome you to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West in the near future. Best Regards More

Dubai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good hotel and perfectly positioned to the city centre. 7 - 10 minute bus ride. To and from bus stops right in front of the hotel. There is huge sainsbury about 5 min walking distance from the hotel and a big mall too. Spacious room for a express hotel and clean too. There is a restaurant and bar and also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear jnayson9, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I am pleased to read that you found your room spacious and clean. I hope you had a great time in Edinburgh and you will be back again soon. Kind Regards More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great hotel with friendly staff. Really comfortable stay. I have stayed at this hotel a few times now and would recommend it. I have never had any problems. There is a nice restaurant / bar area which is very convenient. The hotel is perfectly positioned and close to the city centre

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Lloydrayner, Thank you for this fantastic review on TripAdvisor. I am very glad to hear that you visited us again and that you are so satisfied with our staff and the facilities. I appreciate your feedback on the restaurant and the bar as well. I hope to be able to welcome you to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West in... More

England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here with my husband and children aged 4 and 6. The room was on the small side with virtually no floor space. The shower was feeble to say the least. The corridor was very noisy with banging doors, and soundproofing between rooms poor. We didn't pay the massive price for breakfast but had bought snacks from the Sainsbury's over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Annie P, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to learn that you were not satisfied with your room and I am sorry that you were disturbed by some noises. I appreciate your feedback on the play area of the hotel. I hope you had a great... More

Blackpool
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was the hotel we stayed in for our Edinburgh trip over 3 nights. As always these days, arrange your stay in advance by booking online through an trustworthy online agent will lower your costs for the stay. We were placed in a room on the first floor right opposite the lifts. This would not have been a negative if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear CecilCLee, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. I am really sorry and disappointed that you found our customer service sluggish and not genuine. Following your feedback I will be sure to look into this and provide further training to our team as we are very... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Address: 107 Queensferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH4 3HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Scotland

126 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#20 Business Hotel in Edinburgh #59 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Settle in to one of our 101 modern guest bedrooms at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West. Located over 7 floors and tastefully decorated throughout, our bedrooms in Edinburgh offer splendid views over Leith port, Edinburgh Castle or the scenic Pentlands Hills.Our rooms have recently received the new look Holiday Inn treatment and been revitalised with new bedding, soft furnishings and our unique pillow menu offering a choice of fillings and comfort levels to ensure that you get a great night’s sleep.The Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West hotel offers you an excellent base for exploring the famous city of Edinburgh, located only 1.5 miles from Edinburgh's bustling city centre and a mere 2 miles from the world famous Edinburgh Castle! Leave your car in our complimentary car park and hop on a bus to the city centre, it only takes 10 minutes! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
101

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer