We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 147 Edinburgh hotels

Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Queensferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH4 3HL, Scotland
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
77%
Ranked #93 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Lauren W Chicago, Illinois
  • Reviews (424)
  • Photos (123)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (110)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

424 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    186
    78
    21
    11
See reviews for
91
113
23
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

stayed here for 2 nights as a part of a tour. The hotel was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was abundant. The location was not idea, about a 10 min cab ride from the center of town, but it is located very close to a bus line and some very nice walking paths. They recently stopped offering free wifi... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Lauren W, Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us and giving us a feedback. I am pleased that you found the hotel very comfortable and clean and the breakfast abundant. I am sorry that you were disappointed because of the wifi however I am happy to share with you that from the 1st of July 2014 our... More

Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We first stayed at the property in July 2010 and this was our second stay. 1) Location: Out of the city centre, about halfway between the Edinburgh city centre and the EDI Airport. Right in front of it is a large shopping complex with Sainsbury's, M&S, Costa, etc. Right next to it is a petrol station as well. 2) Building:... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear KRUS_87, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I am happy to read that you visited us again however I am disappointed to learn that this time you were not fully satisfied with the hotel. I am delighted that you liked the view over the city and I hope you had a pleasant... More

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My frost visit to this hotel. Convenient for the city. I was on the 5th floor and had an amazing view of the city and castle. Breakfast was very good. The bed was 3 out 5 for comfort. Only negative would be the pillows could do with replacing as they were flat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Shaunkirsty, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a feedback. I am delighted to read that you liked the view of the city and the castle and that you found the breakfast very good, however I am disappointed to learn that you were not satisfied with the pillows. I would like to let you know that we... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I actually live not far away from it and last Sunday morning (08-June, gorgeous sunny day) went for a stroll and decided to pop-in and check out the breakfast. It's a nice place surrounded with lots of trees and it does not feel like you are in the city. Lovely, polite, helpful and well-trained staff. - I had a lot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Steve B, I would like to thank you sincerely for taking the time to leave us a feedback. I am pleased to hear that you found the staff lovely, polite, helpful and well-trained. I appreciate your comments and I hope to be able to welcome you to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights in October of 2013. Initially I was worried about it being a bit 'out of the way' of the city, and while it is too far to walk, there is a bus stop literally right out of the front of the hotel that will take you into the heart of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear BradFraser, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that your room exceeded your expectations and that you found the bar and restaurant area great. However I am disappointed to learn that you were not satisfied with the wifi prices. I hope you had a pleasant... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
32 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Weekend away with my wife and our 2 young sons, so had one night in a room with 2 double beds. Clean room with everything we needed and a great view of the city and the Firth of Forth. Reception staff were very helpful and polite and excellent service at the bar as well. Buffet breakfast was fine and great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear MarkP39, Many thanks for this fantastic review on TripAdvisor. I am happy to read that you liked the view and that you found the reception staff very helpful and polite. I hope you had a great time in Edinburgh and I hope to be able to welcome you to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West in the future. Best Regards More

York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

There was nothing to screen and shout about but the hotels was clean, cheep and the staff were very nice.we would stay again. Food was good and the bar was a nice place to relax. It was freezing outside but nice and toasty in our room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear jimslater, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us and giving us a feedback. I am delighted to hear that you found the hotel clean and cheap and that you think the bar was a nice place to relax. I hope you had a pleasant stay in Edinburgh and we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is not the worse of hotels, read on. Decent location and plenty of parking. Loved the staff, ALL were polite, charming and helpful. Rooms were adequately equipped with a comfortable bed. We were having a conference and the hospitality (read team, coffee and lots of yummy snacks) was top rate. The restaurant provided a small dinner menu which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear JAM1N, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you loved the staff however I am disappointed to learn that you were not fully satisfied with our services. I hope you had a great time in Edinburgh and you will be back again in the... More

Edinburgh
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I was lucky to be given an upgrade to a larger room and wow was I happy. Small door big smile. It's not far from city centre and has a retail park with a sainsburys just over the road. A great place to stay for a night out in Edinburgh.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear djrs1984, Many thanks for this review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you were happy with your room and that you found our hotel a great place to stay for a night out in Edinburgh. I hope to be able to welcome you to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West in the future. Kind Regards More

Santa Margarita, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The hotel rooms are ok the bathroom is too small the entrance is consistantly dirty .The best thing was the view . Even though we did not expect more from this type of hotel certainly not to have to pay a rate of a five stars hotel . Breakfast was mediocre the managment decided to raise the rates during a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear JetKid, Thank you for the recent review posted on TripAdvisor and I'm glad that you enjoyed the hotel views as these are considered some of best in Edinburgh. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy certain elements of your stay and I will pick these up with the individual people and departments to ensure that we improve these areas going... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Address: 107 Queensferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH4 3HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Scotland

123 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#20 Business Hotel in Edinburgh #59 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Settle in to one of our 101 modern guest bedrooms at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West. Located over 7 floors and tastefully decorated throughout, our bedrooms in Edinburgh offer splendid views over Leith port, Edinburgh Castle or the scenic Pentlands Hills.Our rooms have recently received the new look Holiday Inn treatment and been revitalised with new bedding, soft furnishings and our unique pillow menu offering a choice of fillings and comfort levels to ensure that you get a great night’s sleep.The Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West hotel offers you an excellent base for exploring the famous city of Edinburgh, located only 1.5 miles from Edinburgh's bustling city centre and a mere 2 miles from the world famous Edinburgh Castle! Leave your car in our complimentary car park and hop on a bus to the city centre, it only takes 10 minutes! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
101

See which rooms travelers prefer