We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 144 Edinburgh hotels

Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Queensferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH4 3HL, Scotland
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West to your Saves list
Ranked #89 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Allan T Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    200
    88
    24
    12
See reviews for
107
125
23
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (471)
  • Mar-May only
    (125)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (103)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (140)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (103)
All months
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If going for short city break by car this is worth considering. It sits just on the edge of the city centre, no more than a 10 minute bus journey to Princess Street. Big plus is free parking as you do not want to take your car into town if you can avoid it. A retail park is opposite. Another... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Allan T, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you were satisfied with the price of the breakfast and I appreciate your comments on the location. I hope to be able to welcome you to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West in the future. Best... More 

Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Food was brilliant. Nice and hot and good choice Service excellent Music great and suited everyone Spirits wee bit expensive, although prosseco great price ..Overall A GREAT NIGHT. .we all agreed to book next year

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear animb, Many thanks for this fantastic review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the Christmas Party Nights with us and that you found the food brilliant. We look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards More 

Fleetwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent a month looking for a hotel in the Edinburgh area during school holidays. When I came across an offer on superbreak I took a gamble. I was pleasantly suprised, as the hotel was on the outskirts as I was unsure about Transport links, for those looking for a trip and don't want to pay city centre parking, this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear scoop_78044, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. I appreciate your comments on the location of the hotel and I am pleased to read that you found our customer service first class. I am sorry that you were not fully satisfied with the buffet but I am happy that you... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
63 hotel reviews
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Recently spent three nights here & had a room on the sixth floor, which afforded great views of the surrounding area, but unfortunately the window seal was damaged, resulting in a significant draft in the room. The restaurant staff were helpful & efficient, but the person on bar duties didn't know how to make a dry Martini, surprising in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear MLW28, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you liked the view over the city however I am disappointed to learn that you had a significant draft in your room. Thank you once again for your comments this will be used in a constructive... More 

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Two years ago this hotel won my personal Holiday Inn of the year award 2012, mainly due to the reception and the general quality of service, so we had high expectations when we arrived for a weekend in Edinburgh for some shopping and to meet some relatives. First impressions were not good, and after some time we were allocated a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Magickpyggie, Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review of our property. I was pleased to know that our hotel won your personal Holiday Inn of the year award back in 2012 and I remember our conversation in the reception area. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our service on this... More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for a weekend, on a trip to the Rugby @ Murrayfield. Hotel good, good service in bar / restaurant with decent food at decent prices. Great location - as Murrayfield only a 20min walk away (over a big hill!!!) Short taxi ride into town (less than £10 for the 4 of us) - so prices match that of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Dawn_MacD, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you liked the hotel and the service in the bar/restaurant however I am disappointed to learn that you found the breakfast pricey. I hope you had a great time in Edinburgh and you will be back... More 

Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here last weekend, 21st and 22nd November. Was visiting Edinburgh for Christmas shopping and the markets. Hotel very clean with excellent facilities, friendly and helpful staff, (thanks Carmen and all other staff on duty). Our break included breakfast which was excellent and we had an evening meal the first night and bar food on the second night, both good.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Gill I, thank you for this fantastic five star review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read that you found the hotel very clean and I will pass your comments on to Carmen and the other team members. I hope to be able to welcome you to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West in the future. Kind Regards More 

Billingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here November 22nd. Hotel was great, staff were friendly and was a very short bus ride into the city centre (number 41/43 straigh accross the road), would stay again when next visiting Edinburgh.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Ruby80, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a feedback. I am pleased to read that you found the hotel great and the staff friendly and I appreciate your comments on the location. We look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

This hotel should be proud of its staff, Shadhank and Lee were both so kind, we arrived late at night after being unable to stay at another hotel in the city as it was so disgusting! Shadhank was on duty and made us so welcome, he couldn't do enough for us. In the morning we met Lee who continued with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Ssnewrs, Thank you for this fantastic five star review on TripAdvisor. I am proud to read that you found our staff amazing and I will pass your comments on to Lee and Shubhank. I am pleased to read that you would recommend the hotel to anyone and I hope to be able to welcome you to Holiday Inn Edinburgh... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Cant comment on hotel as we were moved to a different hotel as the hotel had double booked. The move was organised for us seamlessly and the hotel was fantastic. Waldorf is a beautiful hotel in a prime location!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Neal M, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a feedback. I apologies about the inconveniences regarding your booking but I am pleased to read that your move was seamlessly. I hope you had a great time in the city and you will be back again soon. Best Regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Address: 107 Queensferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH4 3HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Scotland
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Family Hotel in Edinburgh

120 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay