We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 147 Edinburgh hotels

Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Queensferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH4 3HL, Scotland
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
75%
Ranked #94 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
si2008 Radcliffe, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (437)
  • Photos (127)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (115)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

437 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    187
    84
    22
    12
See reviews for
100
117
23
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Radcliffe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped in this holiday inn while working in Edinburgh for 2 nights must say very surprised with it had a room on the 3rd floor great views on the city and the castle..bedroom had 2 double beds in very comfortable.. bathroom was on the small size but its only a bathroom lol...good breakfast and for shops there a retail park... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear si2008, Many thanks for this review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you liked the views over Edinburgh and that you found your beds very comfortable. Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards More

Staffs
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This Holiday Inn is on a bus route straight into the city centre. This one isn't close to the zoo there is another HI next door to it. Opposite are some shops on a retail park but little in the way of restaurants. I had an accessible room not by choice but the bathroom was huge and unlike some accessible... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Bootrek, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you were satisfied with our location and that you found the breakfast and the food in the bar nice. However I am disappointed to learn that your bed wasn’t comfortable for you. I hope you had... More

Cornwall on Hudson, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's a Holiday Inn. What else can I say? The staff and management provided excellent service. The restaurant and room service were good. The pub was enjoyable. The location was great, with easy access to public transportation. The room was quite comfortable, although the bathroom was small to the point of being claustrophobic. All in all, I would stay here... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear acbodi, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a feedback on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read that you found the service excellent and I am sorry that your room was too small for you. Thank you once again for your comments and I hope to be able to welcome you to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West... More

Sault Ste. Marie
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
62 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

*Front desk personnel were pleasant and helpful answering all questions. *Large comfortable, spacious room *hotel has nice atmosphere *air conditioning *bus stop in front of hotel (near gas station) *shopping complex nearby (There is a cafe which is very reasonable and a good place to eat. - will save money on meals.) *received accommodations requested

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear roamingprofessor, Many thanks for this review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that your stay was excellent and I appreciate your comments on the rooms and the staff. I hope you had a great time in Edinburgh and you will be back again soon. Best Regards More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For a very last min night away, u couldn't fault it... Easy to find, polite staff, room was lovely and the view from our room was just lovely.... Even better wen it's dark.... It was about 25 min walk into town, that didn't put us off as it was a nice night for a walk..... Will be back again....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Dawn_bruce30, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a feedback. I am glad to hear that you found the staff polite and the room lovely and that you liked the view over the city. I hope you had a great time in Edinburgh and we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards More

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed over the weekend for a wedding which was held next door at Edinburgh Zoo. We were pleasantly surprised with the hotel, the rooms were clean and quiet, the staff were very friendly and the breakfast excellent with lovely views over the hills and very attentive waiters. We had a problem with the hair dryer in our room and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Weymouth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel as it was convenient for the airport (about 15 min drive) and we had an early flight. It was spotlessly clean and the staff on reception were very efficient and helpful. This hotle must have one of the best views of Edinburgh. We booked this hotel as we thought we were going to get a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Auntieloulou, I would like to thank you for leaving this review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you found the reception staff very efficient and helpful and that you liked the view over Edinburgh. However I am disappointed to learn that you were not satisfied with the takeaway breakfast. I am happy that your stay was overall... More

Amsterdam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here two nites and the stay was at best average. Really a no frill hotel but the biggest downer was the bed. Really tiny in size...uncomfortably small for two...and not sturdy enough. Felt like one was sleeping on a folding bed. No safes in the room for valuables. The upside was the view from the room where u... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear anupmasuneja, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you liked the view over Edinburgh however I am disappointed to learn that you were not satisfied with the size of your bed, we have king size beds in the executive rooms. Thank you once again... More

Midlands UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed in a 2 double bedded room during our stay in Edinburgh. We were allocated a room on the third floor opposite the lifts and this was very noisy on the first night we were there. More soundproofing of the doors might have been helpful. Breakfast was astronomically expensive for a fairly average hotel buffet and was not included... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear mrsajd_10, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you felt our restaurant was expensive and I apologise for not offering the free standard internet for you. I will implement further staff training to promote our free internet offering to ensure that this matter does not occur again. With... More

Aberdeen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic service and food- dinner and breakfast. 10/10. Rooms quiet, spacious and clean. Tv, water and twa, coffee, cocoa in room free. amazing bug window with view across Edinburgh. Good location, free parking and such good value for a family room! Thoroughly recommend. I have just joined Hi club!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Frizzmondo, Many thanks for this wonderful five star review on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your feedback on the service and the facilities; I will pass your comments on to the team. Thank you once again and I hope to be able to welcome you to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West in the future. Kind Regards More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Address: 107 Queensferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH4 3HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Scotland

127 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Edinburgh with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#20 Business Hotel in Edinburgh #59 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Settle in to one of our 101 modern guest bedrooms at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West. Located over 7 floors and tastefully decorated throughout, our bedrooms in Edinburgh offer splendid views over Leith port, Edinburgh Castle or the scenic Pentlands Hills.Our rooms have recently received the new look Holiday Inn treatment and been revitalised with new bedding, soft furnishings and our unique pillow menu offering a choice of fillings and comfort levels to ensure that you get a great night’s sleep.The Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West hotel offers you an excellent base for exploring the famous city of Edinburgh, located only 1.5 miles from Edinburgh's bustling city centre and a mere 2 miles from the world famous Edinburgh Castle! Leave your car in our complimentary car park and hop on a bus to the city centre, it only takes 10 minutes! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
101

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer