We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Hotel website
Hotel deals
107 Queensferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH4 3HL, Scotland
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Add Photo Write a Review

552 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    178
    230
    105
    27
    12
See reviews for
135
147
28
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (552)
  • Mar-May only
    (169)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (115)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (140)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (128)
All months
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
47 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Be prepared to have interesting animal noises coming over the fence. It's on the way into town from the airport, which is handy. Still, a nightmare to find your way back to the hotel from town.... .... Or was that just me?

Was this review helpful? Yes
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Upon arrival we were upgraded to a suite, which got things off to a great start. We did not want to be in the city centre and reviewing the hotel online we noticed that there was a good bus service, with nearby bus stops that took us to the city centre. We ate in the restaurant one evening and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear DMC1958, many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your comments on the location and I am pleased to read that you found the food very good. I hope you had a great time in Edinburgh and we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards More 

Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had to change our plans at the last minute so booked this hotel only a couple of weeks before our holiday. We mainly chose it because the trip advisor reviews were very positive and it was close to the centre, so we could leave the car in the free parking and take the bus into the centre. The hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Dawn P, many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. I appreciate your comments on the parking and the location and I am happy to hear that you liked the view over Edinburgh. I am pleased to read that you found the staff very helpful and I hope to be able... More 

Bangor, Co. Down
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this hotel for one night on 7th June prior to leaving on our cruise from Rosyth. Staff could not have been more helpful and the man at reception told me to leave our luggage and he would bring it up for us. Room was spacious, very clean and extremely comfortable. We enjoyed dinner and breakfast, both meals were faultless... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Observor B, many thanks for leaving this great five star review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you found the staff helpful and I appreciate your comments on your room. I am happy to hear that you liked the steak in our restaurant and we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited Edinburgh for business and baggage lost the entire time I was there. Staff was so friendly and accommodating. Everything I needed was within walking distance or easily accessible via bus. Would definitely go back. Thank you for making my stay so comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Jessica S, many thanks for this great five star review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you found the staff friendly and accommodating and I appreciate your comments on the location. I hope you had a great time in Edinburgh and we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

1st of all, there was no TV remote in my room. They brought me one which wasn't working and the finally got it right on the 2nd attempt. The bathroom could have been cleaner and the decor in the room was a bit 90s. I also ordered a bottle of water to my room which never arrived.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Adeyemi M, thank you for taking the time to leave us a feedback. I am disappointed to learn that you found your bathroom not enough clean and that you had to wait for the right TV remote. I am sorry to hear that you did not receive your bottle of water, I will implement further staff training to make... More 

Rodenbach, Germany
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nothing fancy but that's what I typically expect from a Holiday Inn. We ate breakfast at the hotel and it wasn't that great. The bathroom in our hotel room wasn't very clean...looked really outdated to me as well. Some staff was friendly, others not so much. Far away from the city center but there is a bus stop right outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Sheri H, thank you for taking the time to leave us a feedback. I am pleased to read that you found your stay reasonable however I am disappointed to learn that you were not fully satisfied with the breakfast. Thank you for you comments on the bathroom this will be used in a constructive manner. I hope you had... More 

Hull
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ok so I never expected to room to wow me and it didn't but the hotel delivered what was expected and gave a good nights rest. Location is good with very easy access to the airport. Didn't eat here so can't comment

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear loofaman, thank you for taking the time to leave us a feedback. I am delighted to hear that you had a good nights rest with us and I appreciate your comments on the location. I hope you had a great time in Edinburgh and you will be back again soon. Best Regards More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So firstly the positive normal quality and friendliness from the hotel staff, room was comfy and as a gold member I was treated to the normal extras and service I would expect. Now the bad, I don't normally eat in the hotel but I did the once at this hotel, starters acceptable, and I ordered the legendary street snd ale... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Carl K, thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you found the hotel staff friendly however I am disappointed to learn that you were not fully satisfied with your dinner in our restaurant. Thank you for your comments on the pie this will be... More 

Belgium
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
41 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In my room I could constantly hear an annoying whistling sound coming from the bathroom ventilation system. At breakfast the pancake machine was not turned on in time (15 minutes after opening) so you had to wait until 45 Minutes in before you could actually attempt to make a pancake. Room itself is fine. Nothing special. Friendly people at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Gwen_BE, thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you found the bar staff friendly however I am disappointed to learn that you were not fully satisfied with your room. Thank you for your comments on the ventilation system and the pancake machine, these will... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

272 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (15)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (85)
Viewed
Double Room with Handicap Accessiblity (12)
Viewed
Double Standard Room with a Sofa Bed (14)
Viewed
Double Twin Room (16)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (7)
Viewed
Suite (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (125)
Viewed
Room/suite (72)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay