We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Hotel website
Hotel deals
107 Queensferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH4 3HL, Scotland
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Add Photo Write a Review

558 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    180
    231
    107
    27
    13
See reviews for
140
147
28
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (558)
  • Mar-May only
    (169)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (123)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (139)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (127)
All months
Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for a couple of nights and it had everything we needed. The breakfasts were a feast with a wide variety of choices. The beds were a bit too firm for me but fine for the rest of the family. The bathroom is very small, basically enough space for one person to do all 3 necessities, almost from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mentakab, Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The only thing good about the hotel was the stunning and gorgeous view we got from the hotel. The room itself was very basic. What disappointed us was two things. One was the WiFi. To obtain the WiFi we had to fill up some membership form and when we did that the connection was very slow. The second was the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed in this holiday inn with friends for one night for concert stay, hotel was clean and tidy also staff friendly and very helpful, Lee who checked us was lovely and very helpful he should be rewarded by the company he is a gem. We had breakfast in the morning which is very plentiful and tasty, hotel is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubai
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is located on Queensferry Road at a quiet location and is opposite Sainsbury's. The room that we booked was a family room and we got a sofa-cum-bed for our children. The room and amenities were good. The hotel staff were quite gruff in their demeanor and could do better with a smile. Restaurant service did not quite match... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fife,Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

very poor service, poor food and no customer service whatsoever. Bedding was left behind TV which was a fire risk and the bath wasn't cleaned the first day. Food make me physically sick and for a 3 course dinner package we expected better than a dried up buffet. We left a full 23 hours before we were due to and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was one of the very few options left as it was a last minute booking. Don't be fooled by the word "city" as it is actually located at a residential area and rather far from the city centre (10 minutes drive from the rail station). We have a mini suit that has a double bed and a sofa... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Fera F, thank you for taking the time to leave us a feedback. I appreciate your comments on your room however I am disappointed to learn that you did not find the reception friendly. I am pleased to read that you liked the view and I hope you had a great time in Edinburgh. Best Regards More 

Kennewick
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Easy to find and access, with a 24 hour petrol station on the street in front. The staff were efficient and courteous; check-in took only a few minutes. Our third floor room looked out over the city, was clean and adequate as most Holiday Inns are. The restaurant was a very pleasant surprise. Although very busy with several tour groups,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear davidsI5116TF, thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you liked our restaurant and I appreciate your comments on the location. I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by some noise during the night and that the air conditioning was not working properly.... More 

Co. Durham, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Holiday inn is in a good location for a leisurely visit to the city. I was expecting more from this holiday inn. The staff were fantastic I must commend. The family room was ok but the bathroom/toilet was on the very small side for a family room. The pillows were not so great (you can get better in other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear seaham2004, thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you found the staff fantastic however I am disappointed to learn that you were not satisfied with the pillows as we have a wide selection of them available on request. Thank you for your comments on... More 

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Upon arrival we were upgraded to a suite, which got things off to a great start. We did not want to be in the city centre and reviewing the hotel online we noticed that there was a good bus service, with nearby bus stops that took us to the city centre. We ate in the restaurant one evening and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear DMC1958, many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your comments on the location and I am pleased to read that you found the food very good. I hope you had a great time in Edinburgh and we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards More 

Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had to change our plans at the last minute so booked this hotel only a couple of weeks before our holiday. We mainly chose it because the trip advisor reviews were very positive and it was close to the centre, so we could leave the car in the free parking and take the bus into the centre. The hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review

Dear Dawn P, many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us. I appreciate your comments on the parking and the location and I am happy to hear that you liked the view over Edinburgh. I am pleased to read that you found the staff very helpful and I hope to be able... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

335 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (63)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (15)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (85)
Viewed
Double Room with Handicap Accessiblity (12)
Viewed
Double Standard Room with a Sofa Bed (14)
Viewed
Double Twin Room (16)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (7)
Viewed
Suite (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (187)
Viewed
Room/suite (107)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#103 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 1,436 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#93 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marriott Edinburgh
#62 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 968 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay