We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Roxburghe

#60 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
38 Charlotte Square, Edinburgh EH2 4HQ, Scotland (Formerly Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - The Roxburghe)
Special Offer
Great Special Offers
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Roxburghe
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,460 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for our friends 40th birthday. The hotel itself was fine. We had problems in the restaurant on the Friday night with poor service and cold food which threatened to spoil the start to our weekend but these were dealt with by hotel managers who went out of their way to make amends. Gavin Stirling made sure we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janet M
ManagerReply, Guest Relations Manager at The Roxburghe, responded to this review

Dear Janet M, Thank you for choosing The Roxburghe Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel during your friends birthday celebrations and that you found our location ideal for taking advantage of the city. Whilst it is disappointing to learn of your restaurant experience It is reassuring to know that we were able to rectify these issues in... More 

Lake District, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

A very last minute booking but one we were very happy with. All of your staff gave us a very warm welcome and were extremely helpful in ensuring we had a very pleasant stay. The friendly, polite and sophisticated service was certainly demanding of the full five stars. We ate in the hotels bar and grill on the first night... More 

Helpful?
Thank darwin2007
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe, responded to this review

Dear darwin2007, Thank you for choosing The Roxburghe - Edinburgh's Best Loved Hotel. I am delighted to learn of your hotel experience and how impressed you were with the team during your stay. We do strive to add that little extra particularly when guests are celebrating a special occasion. Everyone here will be thrilled with your kind words as it... More 

Sunninghill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is the second time this year I've stayed at the Roxburghe and although it was much pricier at New Year it's a great place to stay. Walking distance from everywhere but in a quieter corner of the city than most of the other city centre hotels. Clean and good sized rooms. Only quibble...I think breakfast should be included for... More 

Helpful?
Thank susanVVV
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe, responded to this review

Dear susanVVV, Thank you for choosing The Roxburghe and for taking the time to post your review. Everyone at the hotel will be thrilled with your comments therefore please be assured I will share your kind words with the team. Whilst our location is ideal for taking advantage of the city, it is the team who are the real point... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If you want to visit Edinburgh Castle this is the hotel for you! Its ideally placed, just a short tram ride from Haymarket Rail Station or you can come all the way from the Airport for less than a fiver! The staff are extremely friendly, rooms very clean & tidy and the concierge was really helpful in advising places to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adam N
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe, responded to this review

Dear Adam N, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Roxburghe. I am pleased that you found the service and quality to your satisfaction; everyone here is fully committed to providing the very best hospitality possible. Our concierge team send their regards and are very grateful for your kind words. Please do not hesitate to... More 

Standon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I arrived at Midnight on Saturday 6th Feb after spending time at the Royal infirmary following a family bereavement. The hotel were pre-warned that we would be arriving late so we didn't foresee any issues.......big mistake. The night receptionist, who was apparently having a torrid time with it being busy, berated a much younger colleague in front... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gary M
ManagerReply, Guest Relations Manager at The Roxburghe, responded to this review

Dear Gary M Thank you for choosing The Roxburghe Hotel. Naturally I am disappointed to learn of your hotel experience and I would like to sincerely apologise for any perceived lack of care during your stay. Your experience is not at all reflective of ordinarily usually high standards and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay further if... More 

Geraardsbergen
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We arrived on a very windy and rainy night. The hotel is very well located with a beautiful lobby, welcoming staff and romantic rooms. I've enjoyed the English breakfast every day. Bathroom is clean and beautiful. The staff is enthusiastic and gives very useful information. Definitely a place I would recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank KittyScheerlinck
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe, responded to this review

Dear KittyScheerlinck, Thank you for providing such a wonderful review of The Roxburghe. It is always nice to hear when we have delivered a great hotel experience therefore your kind words area greatly appreciated by all and will be shared accordingly. We look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh’s Best Loved Hotel soon. Best wishes Marcello Ventisei General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We came up for the Rugby, choosing the Roxburghe as I have stayed here before. It's all fine but it's a shame it's looking a little tired. The meal in the hotel Restaurant was very poor, admittedly it was heaving because of the Rugby, but probably not an excuse for a exceptionally bad meal. Probably will not chose it again... More 

Helpful?
Thank addicks765
ManagerReply, Guest Relations Manager at The Roxburghe, responded to this review

Dear addicks765, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Roxburghe during this year Six Nations rugby. We do value your loyalty and whilst I am pleased you have chosen to return it is disappointing to learn we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I have noted your comments regarding your restaurant experience and these will be used... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed a couple of nights at the hotel and really enjoyed the location, very central. The room was very clean and comfortable. The lobby and restaurant are a pleasure to discover, newly decorated it's just beautiful!!! And indeed a very helpful staff. We strongly recommend the place.

Helpful?
Thank NathUkFr
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe, responded to this review

Dear NathUkFr, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Roxburghe. I was delighted to learn of your hotel experience. Your comments really do reflect all the hard work and commitment demonstrated by the team on a daily basis. Everyone will be thrilled with your kind words which will be shared with the team shortly. Bedroom... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We came for an anniversary. From the moment we entered the hotel, the staff were efficient, yet welcoming and friendly, explained the facilties and layout of the hotel,, Club lounge was available with this superior room, which included a delicious breakfast attended by friendly and efficient waiting staff. Since arriving back home we have recommended our family and friends to... More 

Helpful?
Thank 71Nickmar71
ManagerReply, General Manager at The Roxburghe, responded to this review

Dear 71Nickmar71, Thank you for providing your five star review of The Roxburghe Everyone here at the will be delighted with your comments and to hear how impressed you were with the service and quality during your visit. Clearly you are thinking of returning already and what better way to show your appreciation by recommending us to family! Thank you... More 

Vejen, Denmark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Placed in short walking distance from Edinburgh castle and in area with many shops, walking street and restaurants and bars. Comfortable beds, room is nice kept but oldish. WiFi free and working fine, hot water came quick to the shower. No street or bar noice (at least in the back part where I stayed). Breakfast average standard (boiled bacon, not... More 

Helpful?
Thank EastwoodDK
ManagerReply, Guest Relations Manager at The Roxburghe, responded to this review

Dear EastwoodDK, Thank you for choosing The Roxburghe Hotel. It is nice to know we met your expectations during your stay however I do appreciate your constructive feedback regarding some aspects of your hotel experience. Rest assured we will use your comments in such a way to continually improve our service levels in the knowledge that you will return in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

505 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (203)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (46)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
1:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (93)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (298)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Club Room (60)
Viewed
Club Room with Castle View (58)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (53)
Viewed
The Hotel (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#25 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 3,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 2,830 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 stars 1,508 reviews
New Town
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#90 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 2,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in New Town

Neighborhood Profile
New Town
Suits and shopping bags rule the streets of New Town, until after dark when strappy dresses come out to play. This is the city’s central business district with its smaller offices, clothes boutiques, and many of the city’s flashiest restaurants and ritziest clubs. The architecture along roads like George Street helps give it a swank and formal feel: it’s a planned Georgian development of regal townhouses, geometric squares, and self-important statues. But it’s also a very wanderable neighborhood, with a healthy bustle at almost any time of day and fine people-watching in places like St Andrew's Square which fills with picnickers around lunch. You’ll also find a series of cheerful basement bistros on Hanover Street, while dark Rose Street has something of the feel of an undiscovered back alley and is chock-full of characterful pubs and small independent shops.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay