We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James

107 Leith Street, Edinburgh EH1 3SW, Scotland
Hotel website
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    394
    250
    75
    37
See reviews for
107
443
52
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (986)
  • Mar-May only
    (242)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (206)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (261)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (277)
All months
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

There are pros and cons with this hotel. The pros are the location close to Waverley station, rainforest style shower head, good in-room amenities (iron, safe etc), very good reception service at check in and check out and a comfortable bed. The cons were overnight noise from the street (even on the 5th floor), no plug sockets near the bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

1st visit to king james hotel.My friends and i stayed 2nights to celebrate my birthday.hotel was in very good location.staff were very helpful.rooms were spotless.maid came in and changed towels etc.which we did not expect having booked to stay only 2nights.we didnt visit bar or dining room but i will on my next visit.definetly give hotel 10/10

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was quite excited about this deal when I saw it, £75 for b/b a deluxe room and a bottle of wine in our room. Disappointment loomed when we got to our room there was no bottle of wine and it did not look de luxe to us. There was no water, no body lotion and no dressing gowns, although... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Lovely room Staff very helpful Room very clean but corridors look a little tired Very central for shopping and train station literally 3-5 mins walk. Staff knowledgeable about the new tram system Good that our cases could be kept until departure time

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
uk
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I recently stayed here on a business trip and found the hotel to be in a great location. The room was nice, clean and comfortable but the corridors were looking a little tired. I was excited to see a container on the breakfast buffet labelled warm pancakes but each day was disappointed not to find any pancakes in it...maybe I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surrey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Perfectly located , room ok bed horrid - 2 singles zipped together and not very comfy (quite hard) - lovely staff - bathroom very small and quite tired - communal hallways could also do with a bit of TLC but on the whole good value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Craig D, Manager at Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us at the King James. There are some rooms where we have Zip and Link beds which enable us to alter the room according to guests needs. These beds however are supported by mattress protectors and padding to ensure this is never noticed by our guests, however I... More 

Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Couldn't have asked for a better location. We where attending a show at the Edinburgh playhoise and it was right on the doorstep. Staff are amazing, rooms are lovely, clean and spacious. Food was fantastic. The only thing I'd say is that the bar on the 3rd floor is in need of an upgrade, it's very tired looking and is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craig D, Manager at Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for the excellent 5 star review. I am delighted you enjoyed our stay and have taken the time to praise the staff at the King James. They work tirelessly to ensure our guests enjoy their stay with us and they will be delighted that you have singled them out for recognition. We like to joke with... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed in this hotel a few times now, I have also stayed in a few other hotel in Edinburgh but always end up coming back here. The staff are friendly and the rooms are always comfortable. The food (breakfast) in the restaurant is also very good

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craig D, Manager at Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write a review after staying with us on a number of occasions. Its great to receive positive feedback, especially when you are a regular traveller and stayed in a number of our competitor hotels. We pride ourselves on the service we provide our guests, with room comfort, our excellent breakfast offering... More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in December for two nights. Great location for the city & staff at reception helpful. Our room was very clean, albeit a little small. We ate in the restaurant on first night as part of our overall package, great choice and food was very good quality. We were sat near to the window and it was freezing, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craig D, Manager at Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us at the king James hotel. Overall it is great that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location and food offering met all your needs. I am disappointed that you found our service to be slow however, we do pride ourselves on the service we... More 

Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly service, clean room, comfy bed, close to - Princes Street and Waverley Station a very short walk away. As a vegan food is often a let down but the breakfast was FAB :) Will be back very soon!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Craig D, Manager at Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for the excellent 5 star review! I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Our breakfast is Fab if I don't say so myself, we work very hard to ensure that it offers everything you could possible want and its great when this is rewarded by great feedback from guests. We look forward to welcoming... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James

Address: 107 Leith Street, Edinburgh EH1 3SW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King James, Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
King James By Thistle Edinburgh
Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James Scotland

181 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (137)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay