We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 147 Edinburgh hotels

Edinburgh Capital Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   187 Clermiston Rd | Corstorphine, Edinburgh EH12 6UG, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Edinburgh Capital Hotel to your Saves list
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
79%
Ranked #92 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
gardeninggal70 Lake Ozark, MO
  • Reviews (620)
  • Photos (162)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (119)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

620 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    272
    87
    28
    20
See reviews for
138
248
30
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We booked this hotel in a hurry as we'd had no internet access at all where we had been staying with a relative in Edinburgh, and so decided to check into a hotel for the night to catch up on some work. First impressions - the building is a soviet era 60's style concrete monstrosity with the exterior having undergone... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lake Ozark, MO
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My two daughters and I were on a tour of London and Scotland and this was the one and only hotel where we had 3 twin beds instead of 1 double bed and a pull out couch or 1 double bed and a cot. It was a lovely hotel, clean rooms and the largest the three of us shared on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Absolutely delighted to have received you favourable feedback, always good to hear that our bedroom facilities and dinning options have been so well received. The team work very hard to look after our guests and detailed feedback such as yours is always great to share with them all. Thanks again and hope to see you on your next... More

Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

At first, just the level of customer service from that staff took me by surprise! during the 3-day stay, any questions I had were answered straight away and every need was cared for promptly. The room was quite possibly the biggest room I've ever had at a hotel and it was mostly quiet (just slightly dampened by the bustle of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thanks for the feedback, very pleasing to hear that our team delivered great customer service, and that you found the large room both clean and well decorated. The £10.00 for breakfast allows our guests to have as you say a choice from our full buffet, this includes 10 hot items including local haggis and black pudding and the... More

ponchatoula, la usa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We were on the ground floor and you could hear the wood creak as we walked However, the number 26 bus takes you downtown for 1 1/2 pounds. We had a large room but the safe was on the bottom of the cabinet and not convenient

Was this review helpful? Yes
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thanks for the detailed feedback, I am glad that your overall stay was well received, in regards to the floor boards it pleases me to say that we have in place a programme of works to deal with the creaky areas of the hotel, and I have asked my Housekeeper to review the placement of safes as I... More

Georgetown, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is way past its prime and in need. The carpet was stained and tired looking. The hall/room layout was horrible. We were in room 132 on a half floor. Multiple stairs were involved, around corners, even though we took the lift. Could not figure out how to get any air circulation. We were with a tour group and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Sorry to read that the layout of the hotel was not to your liking and that you found the route to your room confusing, you mention that the room layout was also a detractor, honestly I cant say I have received this comment before. Thanks again for your feedback, Regards Simon More

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Capital Hotel for a night in between flights in August, I was sceptical about it as per the earlier reviews but all I can say is that some people just find everything to moan at! (I am sure that guests would receive help with bags if they asked! (Previous review ;) ) On check in it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for you balanced feedback in regards to your recent stay with us, its great to read that the team come across as warm, and that personality has been highlighted by yourself. Hope to welcome you again in the not to distant future. Regards Simon and Team More

Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we checked in. had to carry our luggage ourselves (they don't help ypu) with a lift first and then down stairs (as the lift does not go where our room was). the corridors and the room floors are covered with carpet which was VERY dirty and smelled dump and bad. We asked them to change the room and they refused,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We really do take all feedback on board and whilst I appreciate all as constructive on this occasion I do feel the need to challenge your account of your experience. On arrival at the hotel you were greeted by our Receptionist and Duty Manager, both assisted you with your luggage into the lift and along the corridor albeit... More

London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the Capital Hotel for two nights for my wedding (not actually taking place at the hotel). The wedding party had booked 14 rooms at the hotel. It was overall a good experience and I was very happy with the actual rooms as they were spacious and many had nice views too. There were some issues with speed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thanks for your feedback, looking into the delay on check in I can see that the complication appears to come through the naming of which guests in each room as this information was not received prior to the booking, that said I sorry if this caused your father any distress. Having investigated the missing Prosecco, I cant see... More

Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Landed in Edinburgh early in the morning and enquired about leaving our bags at the hotel until check in but they gave us our room for the three day stay. It was about a twenty minute bus ride to the city centre and the facilities were brilliant. The food was really good and i could not recommend this hotel highly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Very pleasing to read your review and glad that we were your chosen hotel for your first time in Edinburgh. The Reception team will always try to accommodate guests with early arrival times when it comes to luggage and on this occasion having your room available before the check in time, so pleased that we could do this... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed as a family 30th July - 1st August for a wedding. The family room we were allocated (135) was huge even with a bed, sofa bed and bunk beds in and we were very pleased with it. We ate in the hotel restaurant for both lunch and dinner and loved the menu, breakfast was good too! Hotel is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CapitalManager, General Manager at Edinburgh Capital Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thanks for the feedback, delighted that you have had a positive experience with the family room configuration, food quality, staff friendliness standing out. In regards to your mentioning the reception teams indifference on previous reviews, I would like to assure you this area has been targeted for additional training and so far the comments have certainly been promising.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Edinburgh Capital Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Edinburgh Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Capital Hotel

Address: 187 Clermiston Rd | Corstorphine, Edinburgh EH12 6UG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Capital Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Edinburgh Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Edinburgh Capital Hotel Scotland

162 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (83)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
2:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (80)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (53)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Edinburgh with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#40 Family Hotel in Edinburgh #43 Business Hotel in Edinburgh #56 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Edinburgh Capital Hotel has great views across the west of the city and enjoys close proximity and easy access to Edinburgh Airport, Murrayfield Stadium and Edinburgh Zoo. You are never too far away to explore the sights and sounds of the historic City of Edinburgh.Stylish and comfortable guestrooms with free WiFi, extensive leisure club and substantial free car parking.Westview Restaurant and Bar offers good food at great prices. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Number 26 bus operated by Lothian Buses runs a regular service into the City Centre. Whether your stay is business or pleasure, Edinburgh Capital is the perfect choice for a memorable visit to the City. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
111

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Edinburgh Capital Hotel and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Edinburgh Capital Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer