We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 147 Edinburgh hotels

Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland (New Town)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
MERCURE SUMMER SALE
Save Saved
You added Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
59%
Ranked #117 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
RatoSeco Porto Alegre, RS
  • Overview
  • Reviews (814)
  • Photos (215)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (223)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

814 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    335
    219
    69
    39
See reviews for
107
359
56
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel is good, the room was clean. The breakfast is normal. Great localization, you can get the bus 100 from the airport and stop in the last stop is very close to the hotel. We went with our baby and we used the cot from the hotel. For us everything was ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards James Fraser General Manager More

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Pro's: City Center Friendly staff Con's Can't drive up and unload (restricted street, only taxi's and busses allowed, drive to the next street, unload and walk up) No parking, closest parking is a mile away at the train station (20 a day) Bed's are pathetic, no padding, can feel every coil Bathroom came out of the 1920's

Was this review helpful? Yes
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. I am sorry to read about the issues you encountered. We are replacing all the beds in the near future and I hope to welcome you back once these are done. Kind Regards James Fraser General Manager More

Egham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If staying here you must pay extra for a room at the front. Bay (with 4 opening windows) gave panoramic view of Princes St skyline, with two comfy chairs and table could have spent entire stay sitting there. With windows shut surprisingly little noise, but remember hotel is on cities main thoroughfare. No aircon but large powerful fan. 5 mins... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, James Fraser General Manager More

Kippen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed overnight here recently and had a very comfortable stay. Staff were friendly and helpful and the position couldn't have been better. Great place to stay for a city break. We upgraded our room to a privilege room and I think it was well worth while. I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Mercure Edinburgh. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, James Fraser General Manager More

Wigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just returned from spending 4 days at the Hotel. We have stayed before and we were again not disappointed with the way we were treated by the staff, who were as usual very friendly, polite and helpful, The hotel is ideally situated on Princes St with well maintained and clean rooms. The breakfast is buffet style with a very large... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable. James Fraser General Manager More

glasgow
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had a lovely balcony room on the 7th floor for 2 nights. The room was very nicely decorated and comfortable and clean. The balcony was huge, and as the weather was lovely we enjoyed sitting outside watching the buzz of Edinburgh. A fan was kindly brought to our room when requested. For the room we had, we thought it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, James Fraser General Manager More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Enjoyable 3 night stay in a lovely room with great view overlooking the Castle. Our room was very spacious and well provided with usual amenities. Nothing was lacking. Staff were always polite and accommodating. They even ensured there would be Soy milk present for our breakfast when we mentioned our dietary request. Would happily stay at this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Mercure Edinburgh with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards James Fraser General Manager More

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel for 3 nights via an email offer and had a second thought about checking it out - I assumed Mercure would be a reasonable standard no matter where and didn't like what I read on trip advisor! However, we had a great stay here. You cannot fault the location. Double balcony room looking onto Princes Street.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and hope you stay with us again in the future. Kind Regards James Fraser General Manager More

Gravesend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel has a very good, central location which was great for the purpose of my stay. I booked this hotel as it was one of the few that offered wheelchair access. It also is within pushing distance (just!) from Waverly station. Upon arrival I was confronted with a step; not too much trouble for me as I was travelling... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly. Kind regards, James Fraser General Manager More

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fab hotel very central to get around we had a castle view room which was a bonus lovely choice of breakfast staff polite ,afternoon tea was good value, free wifi an enjoyable break with my best friend celebrating our birthdays! Will definitely stay here again

Was this review helpful? Yes
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable. James Fraser General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland

215 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (196)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (63)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from room (42)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
158

See which rooms travelers prefer