We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 146 Edinburgh hotels

Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh to your Saves list
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
85%
Ranked #28 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012
ScotsCanuck Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    196
    69
    29
    9
See reviews for
111
349
18
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This was our second stay at Norton House. It is a converted country house with a newer annexe. On both stays, our rooms were in the annexe. If driving, be careful not to miss the entrance, on the A8 near Edinburgh Airport, as it's a long drive to ge back to it! Once off the A8, a narrow drive leads... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your second visit to Norton House Hotel and Spa. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your room and the food and service at our hotel. We do have two entrances onto the grounds. One is from the A8 and the other is via Harvest Road in... More

Scotland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We usually stay here when we visit Edinburgh for our annual visit to the Festival. The room was spacious, the bed very comfortable, the shower good and strong, the towels very white, large and fluffy, breakfast tasty and the staff very friendly. We will be back. One tip - we always take buses whilst staying there, parking isn't easy in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us at Norton House Hotel and Spa for your recent trip to the Festival. I do hope you had a good time and we look forwrad to welcoming you back for the Festival again next year. Kind regards R MacKay More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

First time staying in a hand-picked hotels property - having seen the glitzy website and the not cheap room rate, was looking forward to something quite special. We were going to a wedding so were only in the room for a few hours, but there were quite a few things which I wouldn't have expected. Don't get me wrong, it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us at Norton House Hotel and Spa. I trust that you enjoyed the wedding that you were attending but I am disappointed that your room didn't quite live up to expectation. We do have a variety of different room types available and we have... More

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Poor customer service I was assured on two different telephone calls made to reservations that it was a 5-10 min drive from the centre of Edinburgh this was actually a 30 min journey costing £20-25 per trip, the treatment area when left waiting for 20 minutes was grim to look out on to, the maid service as we were staying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us further to your e-mail which we received. Receiving guest feedback whether positive or negative is crucial in assessing our service and standards delivery and allows us the opportunity to enact changes, or ensure we continue to carry on with what we do well, in... More

Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Had a fantastic spa day at the Norton house hotel with 2 treatments. We also had lunch there 2 courses for a very reasonable £15.50 and plenty of very well -cooked food. The facilities were excellent and the staff very friendly and attentive.Would definately return and recommend to go and experience what turned out to be a very good day!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your Spa day with us at Norton House Hotel and Spa. I was very happy to read how much you enjoyed your visit and I hope we will see you back at our Spa in the future. Kind regards R MacKay More

Fife
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Norton House Hotel on Saturday 4th August, for one night, for our first wedding anniversary. From start to finish it was a wonderful experience. Upon arrival we had been given an upgrade to The Edinburgh Suite, which was an amazing room with a huge L shaped balcony. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Congratulations on your wedding anniversary and thank you for spending it with us at Norton House Hotel and Spa. I was delighted to read what a good time you had during your stay and I am grateful to you for allowing us to share in your celebrations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, for a birthday... More

Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Had a spa weekend here with a friend. We were pleased to get a last minute booking despite the Festival being on. The hotel is easy to find, being just off the M9 and is in very pretty grounds. Our room was ready for us to check into early - it was large, warmly decorated and comes with every necessary... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting a review of Norton House Hotel and Spa following your Spa Break with us. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your break and that you appreciated the quality of service across several departments in our hotel. I will ensure that the team are aware of your review and I am sure... More

Cheshire
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We recently visited for a 'For You with Love' spa day. The rate included a 25 minute treatment (we upgraded for an additional £12 each to 55 minutes), use of the spa and leisure facilities and afternoon tea with a glass of champagne. This has been the best spa day I have experienced. Every member of staff from the reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a lovely review of your Spa day with us at Norton House Hotel and Spa. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed yourself and I will ensure that the team in the Spa are made aware of your comments, especially Rose. The staff in the Spa do go... More

Wellingborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed at the Norton house for a wedding, we booked for 3 nights - The hotel staff is what makes this place great. Attentive, warm and welcoming. helpful at all stages. The grounds are well kept, the beds in the room was MASSIVE, huge tv and clean bathroom. I did count at least 6 weddings happened from the Friday... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ronnie_MacKay, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of Norton House Hotel and Spa after you recent stay with us. I trust that you enjoyed the wedding that you attended. We are very popular for weddings but we do ensure that each one is looked after individually. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed... More

Glasgow
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We were attending a wedding at Norton House so decided to stay the night. Unfortunately we did not get to spend much time in our room which was a pity as it was spacious and bright (despite being on the basement level.) The big and tv were huge and the bathroom clean and modern. There was also a dvd player... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I really appreciate the time you have taken to feedback your comments with regard to your recent stay whilst attending a wedding at the hotel. I am delighted that the wedding you attended ran flawlessly and that you found the service impeccable, I will pass your comments onto the team who will take great encouragement from your kind words. I... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Address: Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, Otel, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Spa Edinburgh
Norton Hotel Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh Scotland

149 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (145)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Edinburgh with
any amenities