We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

#32 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    240
    80
    31
    12
See reviews for
127
403
21
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (854)
  • Mar-May only
    (245)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (201)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (223)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (185)
All months
Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is my 7th review since I started writing ... so, I will make this short and sweet. This was a nice property. We enjoyed our room (Room 501) .. it was large, spacious, and comfortable. We LOVED your bed in this room. We thought your restaurant was charming. The food looked good (I was in recovery from food poisoning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We come here regularly for business trips; all the facilities including the spa go that extra mile in regards to service and quality - the choice range is excellent. The food is fantastic, especially the salmon! The ham and poached eggs for breakfast is also great; the staff took extra care to cater for dietary requirements throughout the stay. It's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went here for Afternoon Tea. The setting is beautiful as the hotel is a grand old house set in its own grounds with a long drive up from the main road. We were welcomed and shown to our table immediately on arrival and our specific orders taken by a very pleasant waitress. The food was as good as I've had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I really appreciate you taking the time to post a review following your recent visit. I am delighted that you found the food excellent and the service impeccable. Afternoon Tea is very popular at Norton House and it is great to read that you will come again and repeat the experience. I look forward to welcoming you back to our... More 

Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here recently for a girls spa weekend. It's a a short taxi ride from the station and we choose it because we love Hand Picked Hotels. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel was extremely busy when we stayed so the spa was very popular. The treatments were lovely however because it was so busy there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent spa weekend. I am delighted you had a lovely stay and that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I was pleased to read you enjoyed the food in the hotel but disappointed that you did not enjoy your breakfast. Our breakfast is a part... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hotel, restaurant and bar which is hard to find in the area (Novotel in Edinburgh Park is a great choice) . Extremely noisy guests and hotel did not handle professionally or satisfactorilly. Have to give it another try and assume the management on site that night were inexperienced. Very nice accommodations and very good restaurant but wish it stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor following your stay on business in February. I am pleased you rate us as a great hotel and that you like the bedrooms, restaurant and bar. I am sorry to read that you were disturbed by noisy guests during your stay and that you felt we did not react to this... More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good sized room with balcony, the bathroom was beautiful with a large powerful shower and bath with a TV. The spa facilities were excellent. We had a lovely afternoon tea in the spa area and breakfast the next morning which couldn't be faulted. Staff very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. I am looking forward to a return visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to let everyone know what you thought of your stay at Norton House Hotel & Spa. I will ensure that the team are made aware of your review; they will be very encouraged by your lovely comments. It is great that you will return in the future and I look forward to... More 

aberdeen
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had overnight stay here for business. Room was beautiful, lots of space and balcony which would be great on a Sunny evening. Lovely meal in the evening and breakfast first class. Really liked the novelty of a fluffy cat on the bed. Staff very efficient and friendly. Will be back for a further visit with family.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I do appreciate you taking the time to post feedback following your recent business trip. I am delighted you found your executive room beautiful and that you enjoyed the company of Maisie our cat. It is great to read you found all the staff to be efficient and friendly and that you enjoyed your dining experiences. It is fantastic that... More 

STIRLING
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a wonderful stay. Staff were very friendly and efficient. Food was outstanding and the spa facilities excellent. Fantastic relaxed atmosphere with lovely grounds. Room was a good size and I particularly loved the TV in the bathroom :) Will be back very soon. Thankyou.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a fantastic review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Norton House Hotel & Spa. I am pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that you found all our staff to be friendly and efficient. I am delighted that you plan to return and on behalf of all the team at the... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Travelled as part of a group of 10 for a spa break with overnight stay. Very happy with the treatments and spa facilities. Can highly recommend the facials. Hotel restaurant and rooms were nice. Friendly and efficient check in. Restaurant catered well for gluten free at both dinner and breakfast. Meal nice. Hope to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I very much appreciate you taking the time to post a review on Trip advisor following your recent group spa break. I am delighted you had a great stay and that you enjoyed the facilities in the Hotel and Spa. It is pleasing to read that you had plenty options for a gluten free diet and I thank you for... More 

Fife, Scotland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First visit to the hotel and had afternoon tea booked. Long wait to be taken to our table but the waitress was very lovely. The actual afternoon tea was great and definitely would return. Slight issue when trying to settle the bill.. Reception couldn't 'help' sent with loose directions to find the bar which was unmanned ...

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review following your visit for Afternoon Tea. I am delighted you enjoyed your food and it is great to read that the member of staff was lovely. I take on board your comments regarding the delay in being taken to the table and trying to settle your bill. I have passed on your comments to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

564 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (187)
Viewed
Room/suite (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (352)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (61)
Viewed
The Edinburgh Suite (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (150)
Viewed
The Kingdom Suite (100)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay