We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

#34 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Special Offer
Classic two night break
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

935 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    532
    268
    88
    34
    13
See reviews for
143
439
21
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (935)
  • Mar-May only
    (253)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (274)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (223)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (185)
All months
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A tired hotel although very handy to the airport and better than some others without character and quiet. Needs some attention to detail and the staff need to up their act. Simply put it does not flow as a hotel and lacks depth of service or look, a shame as it used to set a very high standard.

Was this review helpful? Yes
St.Andrews,Fife
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were given the opportunity to upgrade to their top suite - The Fife Absolutely superb, breakfast served in the room, lounge and bedroom absolutely huge. Nice to lye in the bath and watch tv! Could not fault

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip advisor. I am delighted that you had the opportunity to upgrade to our Kingdom Suite. The Kingdom suite is a fantastic room and it is great that you took advantage of the large space. The suite does overlook the Kingdom of Fife and possibly we misguided you with... More 

Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed there for a night in July, close to the Airport but quite far from the city. it is a pretty luxurious hotel with a slight old world charm to it. The food is sumptuous and tasty. Used the gym facility which in itself was full fledged gym unlike many where couple of equipment and treadmill constitutes the gym. also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to post a review following your stay in July. I am delighted you found our food sumptuous and tasty and that you appreciated the facilities in our health club. I personally was not aware that you could have two price options to purchase Maisie, but have discussed this with our Front of House Manager... More 

Belfast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I love the little touches at the Norton, like a toy cat on your bed and heavy drapes The food, in particular the crispy duck egg salad, is delicious Only reason for a 4 star rating is the layout of the hotel is poor... Like a maze to find your room plus you have to go outside to reach the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post a review from your business trip in June. I am delighted you found the food to be great and I do agree with you, that the crispy duck egg salad is delicious. It is fantastic that you like our little touches especially Maisie our do not disturb cat. As stated... More 

St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for one night before flying out to Orlando on business and found the hotel welcoming and high quality. I did not make use of all the facilities but they looked excellent. The food was of a high standard and the rooms and level of decor was excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, the only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking time to post feedback following your stay in October. I am delighted to read you found our rooms to be excellent and the food to be of a high quality. Thank you for recommending us to future guests and I do hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards Chris Monks More 

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Love coming to this hotel so nice having a bath with t.v to watch.also lovely staff and also pool and spa is very nice.First used this hotel as a stop over before a flight and liked it so much we have used it a lot since then.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your last stay in October. I am delighted you love coming to Norton House and that you have now become a regular visitor. I do hope we can welcome you back to out hotel very soon. Kind regards Chris Monks More 

Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a very enjoyable one night stay at this hotel. The room was very comfy and met all our needs. The staff are pleasant and helpful, especially the young waiter who served us our evening meal . We would definley stay at this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review. I am delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that you found all the team to be pleasant and helpful. It is great that you will stay with us again and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Chris Monks More 

glassboro nj
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I recently visited the Norton house for a two night stay. It was a charming spot with scenic surroundings. The room was very comfortable and clean. The staff was welcoming and accommodating. The staff in the lounge area were particularly helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I am very grateful for you for taking the time to post feedback. I am delighted your two night stay was relaxing and that your room was comfortable and clean. It is pleasing to read that you found our team to be welcoming and accommodating, especially the team in the lounge; I will thank them personally for receiving special praise... More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sadly we were only staying one night at Norton House, but it holds a special place in our family since it is the hotel we stayed at before moving to the USA. Since that time they have added a modern extension with extremely well appointed rooms. We were lucky enough to receive an upgrade from the very welcoming staff, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. I am delighted you were able to receive an upgrade on this occasion and that the room you were allocated had the wow factor. I am pleased that Norton House holds a special place for your family and it is great that you appreciated the changes... More 

Lancashire
Level Contributor
116 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed whilst on business so didn't get chance to use the spa facilities, was slightly disappointed in the room as it was a twin rather than the double I had requested. The hotel was full so they couldn't change my room. Dinner in the brasserie was very nice, lots of choice and good quality. Bed was very comfy and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to post a review following your trip on business. I am delighted you enjoyed breakfast and dinner in the Brasserie and it is great to read the service was good too. I am pleased that you had a good nights sleep but disappointed that due to allocations, we could not allocate you a double... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

589 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (208)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (352)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (61)
Viewed
The Edinburgh Suite (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (150)
Viewed
The Kingdom Suite (100)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
Marriott Edinburgh
#60 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#77 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 1,373 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#23 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 3,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#12 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,859 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#16 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay