We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 147 Edinburgh hotels

Apex City Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HJ, Scotland
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deal:Save up to 30%
Save Saved
You added Apex City Hotel to your Saves list
Apex City Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
87%
Ranked #43 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
yorkyRoma roma
  • Overview
  • Reviews (1,273)
  • Photos (314)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (236)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

1,273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    538
    548
    127
    49
    10
See reviews for
120
598
45
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
roma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just a 10 minute walk from the city centre, but in a quiet area this hotel is small and looks a little like a budget hotel when first entering, however the rooms were great, spotless, comfortable with good bed linen and comfy pillows and duvets. The staff is very friendly too. The restaurant was also very tasty and not expensive.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at this hotel recently and were delighted on arrival to be offered an upgrade (free of charge) to a junior suite in recognition of our customer loyalty! The suite was absolutely beautiful and was accompanied with a great view of the grassmarket and the castle! The only downside was that the heat in the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Breakfast was exceptionally nice, we also ate in the restaurant one evening which was of a high standard. Cannot argue with the location as it is prime for visiting all the good 'refreshment' outlets. Only gripe was the temperature of the room! Had two bad sleeps and it really dropped the whole experience. Customer service were happy to help out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ryan Thank you for your kind review of our breakfast and dinner offering at the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your meals and also found the hotel's location perfect for exploring Edinburgh. My apologies that you found your room to be too hot - I believe we are about to go through a cooler spell which will hopefully... More

Cavallino
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is perfectly located: you are in Grassmarket, just below the Castle and at 5 minutes from the Royal Mile, if you want to go "classic". I stayed only for one night but I have to say that there was a guy at the reception desk when I arrived with a "flat" expression on his face, maybe a smile... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I appreciate you taking the time to leave valuable feedback and was sorry to read that you were a little disappointed with your stay. Customer service is a very big part of what we do at the City and I was sadly surprised that the person that checked you in was not as... More

Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Warm weather outside means HOT halls and rooms- for days. The windows do not open much, so even with the supplied room fan running 24 hours the whole stay- it was too hot in the room. Wifi- was a pain to get hooked into. Especially when the tech support wanted to re-configure our computer and said 'don't know about windows... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Justine I am sorry you had issues with our Wi-Fi during your stay. Not long ago we invested a lot of money to ensure we offered one of the best Wi-Fi systems available. Generally we find it offers exceptional speed and quality of service. On this occasion I think we may have been let down by the supplier's technical... More

Melbourne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 3 nights and found location great, breakfast was well laid out with the option of the buffet or a cooked meal. Staff were friendly. Rooms were nice and modern and well kept, the wifi network was great. The bathroom tiles may need to be replaced as they were quite sharp under foot with 4 missing. However... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I do hope you will accept my sincere apologies that you had no hot water for two mornings during your stay. Unfortunately the hotel boilers had a fault, which has now been rectified, and we were unaware of the issue until guests started to call down to say that the hot water had... More

Krakow, Poland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is 4* hotel in theory. But how it is possible to built a hotel where you cannot open a window and there is not any ventilation? The temperature in the room is almost 30, no air at all, stuffy. It is hard to take a breath and how you can sleep in the night? However the hotel has perfect... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for posting a review. I am sorry you found your room too warm. Unfortunately when the hotel was built air-conditioning was not felt necessary as Edinburgh never used to experience the sticky weather we occasionally encounter today. It is certainly something however we are considering installing in the future. I was pleased to read however that... More

Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Apex City and would like to say how much we enjoyed ourselves. The staff were friendly and helpful and the continental breakfast a definate winner! Brilliant location for sight seeing.The only slight criticism was that the rooms were warm at night and air conditioning would be a bonus. Would still recommend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay at the hotel. I was pleased to read that my staff looked after you well and you enjoyed your visit. I also appreciate you taking the time to recommend the hotel and do hope you will return again soon. Kind regards Lindsay Sturrock General Manager More

Cumnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here in March for my sister's hen weekend. Hotel is in a great location for pubs and clubs, hotel has views of the castle. Staff were friendly even when we phoned for room service at 4am. Rooms were nice and clean and the beds were comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LisaCameronDGM, Manager at Apex City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review on the Apex City and I was pleased to hear that we looked after your party and I do hope you made the most out of your short stay, and not too many headaches the following day. It is always a delight to hear when guests have such... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Apex City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Apex City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City Hotel

Address: 61 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Apex City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Edinburgh
Hotel Apex City
Apex City Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

314 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (282)
Viewed
2:13
Videos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (80)
Viewed
View from room (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (58)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (37)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#25 Business Hotel in Edinburgh #26 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh #29 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh #30 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of Edinburgh’s Old Town, this contemporary hotel has 119 stylish rooms. Designed for comfort, rooms include HD widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Facilities include Agua Bar and Restaurant, event space for up to 80 delegates, use of leisure facilities a few doors away at Apex International including pool, tropicarium and gym. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
119

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer