We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Apex City Hotel

4.0 of 5 61 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HJ, Scotland
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Apex City Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Apex City Hotel
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    578
    140
    49
    11
See reviews for
135
661
47
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1343)
  • Mar-May only
    (332)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (389)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (345)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (277)
All months
San DIego, CA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The most attractive part of this hotel is that it was in the middle of most things and easy to get around. You can walk (uphill) to Edinburgh Castle from it. However, it was a typical mid-level city hotel. The rooms were medium size with a comfortable bed and nice bath - all was well maintained. The breakfast buffet was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Muirhead, null, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just back from staying overnight at the hotel on Sunday 14th December. This hotel, and its staff, go above and beyond what you would expect. A very high level of service, extremely efficient and friendly team, and the hotel decor is beautiful. Although refurbishment works are underway at reception this did not affect our stay. The view from the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My Girlfriend and I came to Edinburgh for a long weekend away 2 weekends before Christmas. The Hotel is situated in a fantastic location, with traditional Scottish pubs just across the road (but not close enough to keep you awake at night). It is within walking distance of the Royal mile and castle, though a taxi is probably necessary to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tracy, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed 4 nights here and it was the best hotel we stayed at during our 2 1/2 week trip with the best service! The Tub was fabulous, the shower was roomy, the bed was a true King and comfy, the view of the Edinburgh Castle was spectacular, and we enjoyed the bar/restaurant. Oh...and lots of complimentary goodies; tea, coffee,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Renfrewshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have stayed at this hotel before with my husband so when my friend suggested going to Edinburgh for an overnight stay I didn't hesitate to suggest this one. From the moment we arrived early to leave our suitcases until we left after picking them up the next day the staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful . We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I have just enjoyed a one night break at the Apex, we stay at their hotels regularly and are never disappointed. The Hotel is well located with lots of bars, restaurants and shops just a short walk from the hotel. We ate at the hotel and the food was excellent, the staff are very efficient and friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lisa As a regular guest of Apex hotels your feedback and opinions are very important to me and I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am particularly glad that you found my staff to be friendly and that you enjoyed your breakfast. Please do not leave it too long before you come... More 

Calne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel was clean and tidy, staff friendly and helpful especially Magda. Not impressed with the breakfast at £10 a head but again the waiting staff friendly. Would recommend for a short stay as its walking distance for Royal mile, Princes street, Castle and much more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jo Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with us. I am glad you found your room to be clean, my staff friendly and the hotel well located. If, however, you have a spare moment please will you send me an e-mail to let me know why you were disappointed with breakfast? As you appear to... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I love the apex city hotel. I stayed here last year for a Christmas Market break and everything about the hotel was perfect. Unfortunately this time round there were a few small problems. The positives: The check in was hassle free and the rooms were lovely and comfy as usual. The bar is great, I always love getting a few... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kim I am so sorry that your stay with us this year was not as enjoyable as your visit in 2013. I can understand why having a lack of hot water would be frustrating. We did have a problem with one of the boilers cutting out which reduced the volume of hot water in a few rooms. This was... More 

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose this hotel due to it's closeness to the royal mile. It is situated in the grass market area, a five minute walk to the mile and the castle. There are a number of restaurants and pubs nearby, including one where Burke and hare lured their victims! The rooms are of a nice size though there wasn't a fridge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ian I am glad you enjoyed your recent view to ‘spooky’ Edinburgh! If guests are ever looking for something a bit different to do there are some great ghost tours and walks and the old 'Mary King's Close' is really interesting, and only a short walk from the hotel. I do hope you had a chance to visit? Thank... More 

Scotland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel on late rooms and got a very good room rate, I even put a request in for a castle view and was given my request even though the hotel was busy... I was so chuffed that they made the effort to meet my request. The reception area was being renovated but I had received an email... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Apex City hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your short break and we were able to assist with your request. I personally prefer guests to let us know their room preference as it helps to avoid disappointment - and we always... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Apex City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City Hotel

Address: 61 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Apex City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Edinburgh
Hotel Apex City
Apex City Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#31 Family Hotel in Edinburgh

341 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (309)
Viewed
View from room (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (91)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (66)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
2:13
Videos (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay