We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile

Hotel website
Hotel deals
6 Hunter Square | Off Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1QW, Scotland
Special Offer
UK SUMMER SALE
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with ACCORHOTELS.COM to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Add Photo Write a Review

1,386 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    395
    671
    240
    49
    31
See reviews for
208
634
124
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1386)
  • Mar-May only
    (339)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (376)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (328)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (343)
All months
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The staff were very friendly & helpful especially the night bar staff. The rooms were clean and comfortable. My only small gripe was the raised step into the shower which was a little risky when getting out in the wet.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel, very friendly staff and so clean. All staff especially bar staff fantastic, bed so comfy and toilet spanking clean. Really enjoyed stay, would recommend for a day shopping eating in the city, great location for everything, and some amazing restaurants all around. 10 mins from the castle for sight seeing as well

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emilien F, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review

Good Morning Deegee Tee7369 Thank you for your delightful review we are very glad that you found our hotel accommodating and that you liked your room especially the comfy bed. Thank you also for your comments about the bar, we pride ourselves on customer service :D. Kind regards Daniel B More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is really all about location, and for the most part, we found it adequate. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, and the location is amazing, but there are little things that continued to add up during our stay. First, try to avoid getting a room on the 3rd floor. Only one elevator goes to the third... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 1 night and it was important to be right in the center - the hotel was brilliant for that! Out the door and right within everything that was going on. Staff was friendly and helpful as well and seemed to have fun while working :) The room was okay too, beds comfortable and room as well as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emilien F, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review

Good morning Lena M Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. We do have lots of fun while working and guest like you are part of the fun. Anyway, have a nice day and we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming back in future :-) Dean S More 

Stirling
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a little gem! We were only looking for a comfortable bed for the night so that we did not have to drive and we found it - with so much more. Dean and the team on duty were superb - polite, welcoming, efficient and friendly. Don't miss this hotel if you are looking for a really good overnight stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Emilien F, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review

Dear Crustybrown, thank you so much for this fantastic review. Dean and the rest of the team will be more than happy to know that their service met your expectations. The customer service is indeed our priority in Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Best regards Vincent Amsoms/Reception Supervisor More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 3 nights and found the hotel to be perfectly adequate in terms of comfort and cleanliness. The location is great for exploring Edinburgh's city centre. I did think the hotel was very expensive at £470 for 3 nights, which did not include breakfast or room service. If you wanted to eat or drink in your room, you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emilien F, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review

Dear philippam2006, thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am sorry to read that some things did not meet your expectations and I hope it did not disturb too much your stay. Do not hesitate to call the reception if you need anything more in the room though as we are here all the time to ensure everything... More 

Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We greatly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Ibis. We only spent one night but it turned out to be the best stay of our trip. We would have liked to not have a handicapped equipped room but hey it didn't take much away from the room. The water pressure was not good either, but the bed was comfortable and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emilien F, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review

Dear Dan G, thank you very much for this review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I hope you had the time to enjoy Edinburgh as much as you wanted. I am sorry that you had an issue with the room type and water and I hope it did not disturb too much... More 

dubai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Simple and efficient in location and quality - i agree with other reviews, that Ibis is a moderately hotel so it is good for a short stay - it was my second time to stay, and will be one in my choice list again if i visit Edinburgh as it has average cost.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emilien F, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review

Dear mstf_ammar, thank you very much for your review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Best regards Vincent Amsoms / Reception Supervisor More 

Chicago, Illinois
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location couldn't be better....just off the royal mile. I really loved that. We didn't get the breakfast, but there was a Starbucks a couple of doors down. The room was a nice. The staff was nice and helpful. Overall, it was a great value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emilien F, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review

Dear Maureen Y, thank you very much for this review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and the city of Edinburgh. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Best regards Vincent Amsoms / Reception Supervisor More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Royal mile(28)
  • Great location(7)
  • Very good(7)
  • Hunter Square(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

204 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (182)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (57)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#27 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Princes Street and Gardens
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighborhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavored souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay