We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile

Hotel website
Hotel deals
6 Hunter Square | Off Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1QW, Scotland
Special Offer
IBIS ADVANCE SAVER
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    615
    225
    47
    29
See reviews for
184
581
115
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1266)
  • Mar-May only
    (287)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (307)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (329)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (343)
All months
New Delhi, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If you're looking for a hotel with a good location in the heart of historic Edinburgh, this is your pick. A 15 minute walk to Edinburgh castle, souvenir shops all around and loads of guided tours to pick from, Ibis has a brilliant castle. It walking distance from the Waverly station as well. In terms of rooms and service, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emilien F, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review

Dear richi v, thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh and in our hotel. Our location is indeed a great advantage as almost all the main attractions are within a short walking distance. As the customer service is our priority, I hope that you will give us the opportunity for... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice staff. good location but If you would like to have a good sleep, dont book this hotel.I am staying in room 501. There are drunk people talking out there whole night and the windows are not sound proof at all.I filed a complain to the reception and they ignored me for half an hour thenn when i go downstairs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emilien F, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review

Dear EN12220, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you are experiencing during your stay in our hotel. Our team tried to provide you another room the first night but unfortunately, as the hotel was fully booked, we could not move you that night. The room which has been provided from the second night is usually one of the... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked for a weekend away and was surprised by the hotel. it's situated in a great location on the royal mile and is just up from Waverley station so didn't have to walk far with our bags. check in was straight forward and the hotel reception/bar area was nice and modern. the room was on the third floor which only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emilien F, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review

Dear Beccamargaret, thank you very much for this detailed review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you had the time to enjoy Edinburgh. Tattoo is indeed a great moment to come to Edinburgh as you have the Fringe as well. Do not hesitate to ask if you need any help for... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A short walk from so many things makes this a great base for an Edinburgh stay. Our room wasn't anything fancy but if you're spending time in your room you're missing Edinburgh. Metres from the Royal Mile. Just down the road from the Castle. Just up the hill from the main base stop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emilien F, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review

Dear Richard N, thank you very much for your review. We are indeed very well situated as all the attractions in the old city are only within a walking distance of 10/15 minutes. Looking forward to welcoming you for your next stay. Best regards Vincent Amsoms / Reception Supervisor More 

Rotterdam
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose this hotel for it's location: city centre, close to the Old College (for work) and at a central square (for pleasure). And we were not disappointed. We were given a quiet room at the back, which was really quiet. Because something was wrong with the shower we were offered to switch rooms. Because we wanted to know we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emilien F, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review

Dear JeroenMuris, I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. As you mentioned, do not hesitate at the time of the booking or at the check in if you have any preferences. I apologize for the issue with the shower and I hope it did not disturbed too much your stay. However, I am happy... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is clean, simple, and the rooms are quite small. The location is about as good as it could be for a tourist in Edinburgh, it's on the Royal Mile, so walking distance to just about everywhere in Central Edinburgh, and very nice area in it's own right. There are dozens of restaurants within 10 minutes walk, the train... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emilien F, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review

Dear mugent, thank you very much for this review. As you perfectly mentioned and detailed, we are ideally situated in the old city of Edinburgh. There is indeed another Ibis on South Bridge which is our latest addition to our Ibis network, but, as the first Ibis Hotel created in Edinburgh, I like to think that our hotel provides the... More 

Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
20 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a fab hotel for the small amount of money we paid from booking so far in advance. It's location is ideal half way along the royal mile. The lobby is very trendy, the room was comfortable with a decent shower and the breakfast was plentiful and varied. The stand out thing for me was the fantastic attitude of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emilien F, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review

Dear Fionaandcez, thank you so much for this review. I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and the staff is delighted to know that they improved your stay and that they made you feel so good. Our priority is indeed the customer service. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the lobby and the bar... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location and value. Staff were very helpful although they have French owners so all staff were French but they spoke fluent English. Staff were very good in making sure you were OK. Rooms were small but practical.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emilien F, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review

Dear Matt G, than you so much for your comments. In Ibis Edinburgh Royal Mile, our priority is the customer service and we try every day to meet our guest's expectations. As you mentioned, our staff combine citizens of different countries. Thus we can accommodate our customers in several languages in order to ​​make their stay more pleasant. Looking forward... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

180 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (168)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (52)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question