We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 145 Edinburgh hotels

Apex Haymarket Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Haymarket Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5LQ, Scotland (Formerly Apex European Hotel)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deal:Save up to 30%
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Apex Haymarket Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #65 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Nigel_HAltrincham Altrincham
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    225
    81
    40
    16
See reviews for
43
235
42
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (548)
  • Mar-May only
    (153)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (134)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (161)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (100)
All months
Altrincham
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Very friendly staff, really helpful, providing excellent service. Had breakfast and dinner, both very good. The chunkiest chips I have ever seen! Room was clean, all amenities, big free view Tv. Close to main shopping areas. Lovely hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
wsussex
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a room which said 'small' when booking which meant small but this went with the price you paid £153 for 3 nights is cheap in Edinburgh, if your tall or a bit larger perhaps you should book a bigger room, but it was clean and tidy and lovely bathroom, double bed. Breakfast was ok but could find cheaper elsewhere.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you very much for your fantastic comments, you calling us a 'lovely hotel' has really made my day. I was also pleased to read that you valued our staff very highly, they really make all the difference, I am lucky to have such a great team here. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the... More

Copthorne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed at this hotel and were impressed by the courtesy and friendliness of the staff.10 out of 10 for making us feel welcome. We knew we would be staying in a standard room but we were disappointed with what we got.Yes, the bathroom was great, fresh, clean and modern but the rest of the room was so small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you very much for your feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. You booked a small double room with us. These rooms are slightly smaller than our standard rooms and therefore we offer them on a reduced rate. As you described, these rooms still offer all the amenities and comfort of the larger rooms,... More

Oregon, USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed two nights while on a tour and enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast each morning was excellent. We did not eat our dinners on-site. We walked up the road a short distance and found several possible choices. We'd happily stay again if traveling on our own as the location is so good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you very much for your feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Apex Haymarket Hotel while touring Scotland. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to this fantastic city - please check our website for the best rates and promotions. Yours sincerely, Z Jakri General Manager More

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in a beautifully decorated room, very comfortable. The lady who checked us in could not have been friendlier. The hotel is in an ideal location and is walking distance to the city centre attractions.The only issue I had was being served mouldy toast at breakfast! Very shocked as the food really was delicious. The £2 supplement that we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you very much for your feedback, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Apologies for the issue with the bread, I understand we rectified the problem immediately. I am pleased you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay. Yours sincerely, Z Jakri General Manager More

BÁC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a good hotel with more affordable prices than the city centre hotels. It is an easy 15 walk to Princes Street or Grass market behind the castle. There is also a tram line that runs outside the hotel and goes straight into Princes Street and also to the airport. The hotel is on a busy road but we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sheepie_11, thank you very much for your review, I am pleased you labelled us as a good hotel. I could not agree with you more, our location is ideal for exploring this wonderful city. I would urge you to try our brasserie next time you are here as we have a great bar menu and a fantastic seasonal dinner... More

Brighton , East Sussex
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed three nights, very clean hotel, nice room, lovely bathroom. Had breakfast and really nice , cooked to order and tasty. The staff are really helpful cant do enough for you and make a real difference. We got the Tram from the Airport to Haymarket about 35 minutes and hotel is only a few minutes walk from the stop, cost... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you very much for your very positive review. I am delighted you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. Please visit our website for the best rates and special offers prior to your next visit. We are looking forward to welcoming you back. Yours sincerely, Z Jakri General Manager More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked the hotel again after a very positive previous experience and they delivered again. Room at the back on the third floor was spotless and very well maintained. The reception staff very good. Breakfast still very nice and they have a new, simplified dinner menu that is very clever and good quality. Overall, pleasant again and good value for money.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ben P, thank you very much for another great review. I am delighted that you, as a regular guest, enjoyed your stay again. It was great to read and share the feedback with the team about your comments on our new brasserie menu, it brings the best local seasonal flavours together and has been very popular with our guests.... More

Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The best thing about this hotel is its location. It is about a 20-minute walk to Princes Street and all that fun stuff, but it's right next to the Haymarket station. I love not having to worry about how we'll get to the hotel from the train station. The day we checked out we left our bags at the front... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that you are going to return to us in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for the best offers! Thank you for raising the maintenance issue in your room, we have now fixed the... More

Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Nice hotel in a convenient location ( 15-20 min. walk to Princess Street ), near restaurants, cafés convenience stores and bus/tram stops. My room was smallish but very well equipped : very comfy queen bed, safe, nice TV, coffee/tea maker, free wi-fi, even a few books on Edinburgh... Small but very functional bathroom. The staff was friendly and helpful. So,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you very much for your very positive review. I am pleased to read you enjoyed the location, the room amenities and the service. As for your tip: I could not agree more, the walk along the Leith is beautiful, would recommend to everyone. Yours sincerely, Z Jakri General Manager More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Apex Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Haymarket Hotel

Address: 90 Haymarket Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5LQ, Scotland (Formerly Apex European Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apex Haymarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Apex Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex European Edinburgh
Hotel Apex European
Apex Haymarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

113 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (78)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay