We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 147 Edinburgh hotels

Apex European Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Haymarket Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5LQ, Scotland
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deal:Save up to 30
Save Saved
You added Apex European Hotel to your Saves list
Apex European Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
76%
Ranked #84 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
FlyingPaddy London, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (506)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (81)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (60)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

506 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    204
    78
    40
    16
See reviews for
38
218
40
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stay here regularly with work, good location for walking into town. The best feature of this hotel is the staff, they're always willing to help with any requests and go out of their way to help my stay be as comfortable as possible. Special mention to Slavek working the night shift...top bloke! Also the breakfast here is superb!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My Wife and I are frequent guests at this hotel and have found it to be generally excellent in the past, which is why we keep coming back. However this time we found the quality to be generally below our level of expectations. We specifically requested a quiet room however were awoken early on both mornings by the hotel staff.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hawick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay over in your hotel was very much appreciated, from the level of service given by your staff, the quality of your rooms and the delicious breakfast. A hotel we'd gladly return to. Our friends (2 couples) also share this view, but no doubt they will also write to you in a similar fashion.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex European Hotel, responded to this review

Dear William, Your many positive comments are really appreciated and I would like to thank you for taking the time to inform us about your recent visit to the Apex European Hotel. I was really pleased to read you and your friends thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of the stay, the service, the quality of the rooms and the high quality... More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was there for a couple of nights. The rooms are nice, good facilities in the room and also clean. Very good location now that a tram station is open 30 seconds away. Also got in at 3 AM one night and we were still offered room service with a smile. Friendly staff and a nice hotel. Perfect for a stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex European Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Apex European Hotel and were impressed by our team. Their passion to deliver above and beyond and to exceed guest expectations at every encounter is what we pride ourselves on. It is our service that makes an experience at our hotel really memorable. I am also... More

Waltham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the first time I have stayed here, but it will not be the last. The room was comfortable and well appointed. The bathroom is a little cramped [not enough space between the toilet and the basin to be truly comfortable] and the flush required both buttons. However, the staff at the front desk and housekeeping were all amazing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex European Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paula, thank you very much for your amazing review. It is a delight when we receive compliments for the service we are famous for and what we always thrive to deliver. I am glad you are going to return to us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back. Please feel free to contact us directly for the... More

Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've used this hotel a number of times and feel that it needs an update. The staff in the reception are very friendly, but this can't hide the fact that the rooms are worn and that there isn't any air conditioning. Not a problem in Scotland, you might think, but it was pushing 25C during my last visit and with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex European Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you very much for your comment. I am always glad to hear comments from regular visitors. I could not agree more about your feedback on the staff, we are very lucky to have a brilliant team here. There is a lot going on at the Apex European Hotel just now. We have completed the refurbishment of our... More

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is a good location for all trains trams and buses. We went into town and another day to the zoo, so was a good base. The receptionist (who always seemed to b there!) was very nice and helpful. The room was ok, but nothing special. The service in the restaurant was absolutely shocking and wouldn't recommend going there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex European Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am pleased you were happy with the reception service and that you found the room ok. However, I am concerned that your visit to our restaurant was not perfect and I would be grateful if you could give me more details, so that... More

Clemson, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Off the tourist track, nice and quiet. Still close enough to walk to city. Restaurant is way overpriced, but otherwise hotel is a good value. Small rooms, even the standard double. Decor is a mix between modern and kind of 50s retro. Bathrooms are fantastic! Wish there was some climate control though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex European Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aaron, thank you very much for your feedback. I could not agree more, our location is perfect for both business and leisure guests. We have a great team here, good quality rooms, we serve delicious food for breakfast, lunch and dinner - why stay anywhere else? Yours, Z Jakri General Manager More

Helensburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff were very friendly & personable. Hotel isn't too large but as I was on my own there was sufficient room although if more then 1 the room might of felt a bit small. The staff remembered my name/ room & what I had had to drink the night before when I returned for dinner the next night which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZsoltJakri, General Manager at Apex European Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen, thank you very much for your fantastic comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the little treat of room service breakfasts while here. On your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact a member of the team if you wish to order anything extra, we are going to be happy... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Apex European Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Been to Apex European Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex European Hotel

Address: 90 Haymarket Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apex European Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Apex European Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex European Edinburgh
Hotel Apex European
Apex European Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Small, friendly hotel situated at the west end of city center; minutes to the main shopping streets and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
66

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer