We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AU, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,785 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    755
    633
    251
    94
    52
See reviews for
187
878
75
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1785)
  • Mar-May only
    (492)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (463)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (405)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (425)
All months
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Stayed here for a 2 nights as we wanted to visit the Tattoo and the Fringe. Booked direct with the hotel. We arrived early and had anticpated that our room would not be ready as was the case, However we received a warm and friendly welcome from reception staff who arranged for our luggage to be held until our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tweed, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Fantastic place to stay. We would give this hotel a rating of 4.5 stars! Room was spacious as well as luxurious. Bed was the most comfortable we had in all of the UK. Walking distance to Edinburgh Castle and all the shopping you could want. Staff were excellent and the food was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here during the fringe festival, hotel location is ideal as its only a few mins walk to the heart of the old town. Staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Room was spacious and clean. Only complaint is that the "Double Bed" was actually 2 singles pushed together and air con wasn't all that great, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

1st stay at a Macdonald hotel great experience, We arrived well before check in but reception phoned to see if our rooms were ready , we got a free up greade which is always a bonus, room was lovely and coffee machine was a big bonus , We ate dinner in the hotel because Edinburgh was busy with fringe .The... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jmacInverness, Thank you ever so much for the five stars and the lovely review. It was great to hear that you have had such a relaxing time with us here at the Holyrood and have enjoyed the facilities. I was pleased to read you have enjoyed the upgrade and bedroom amenities. Thank you also for highlighting the Acanthus restaurant... More 

London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I booked during the Fringe and so hotel availability was scarce. The city was heaving and everyone was busy fitting in lots of shows - apart from me and a few other people who seemed (stupidly) to be in Edinburgh on business! Check-in didn't get us off to a great start. A single person staffing the desk with a long... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear liberaceLondon, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us her at the Holyrood Hotel. Apologies for any delay with your check in but very happy to hear that you have been warmly welcomed and looked after from the front of house team. I take on board your feedback... More 

Teesside
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I prefer the 'old town' so this hotel was a perfect location for our stay. If your intention is to spend time near to Princes' Street this hotel would be a little too far for walking distance. Hotel was spotless and staff professional but friendly Didn't get time to use the leisure facilities but the gym and pool looked adequate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ShamblesTeeside, Thank you very much for the five star review and the wonderful comments following your recent stay with us here at the Holyrood Hotel. Thank you also for your feedback regarding the team and they shall be grateful for your kind words. I hope in time we can welcome you back to the Holyrood Hotel. Kind Regards, Stuart... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Nice hotel with great location. Stayed two nights during the festival. Location is excellent just a block off the lower end of the Royal Mile. One block from new parliament and Holyrood palace. About a 15 minute walk from Waverly station. Was pleased with how quiet this part of town is to be so close to the attractions. I also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rob C, Thank you ever so much for the great feedback following your recent visit to the Holyrood Hotel. The location as you have highlighted is great and very much in the center of Edinburghs top attractions and city center with Princess St only a short walk away. Apologies for any frustration with the WiFi but generally is a... More 

Ripponden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Modern,quality hotel in a good location. Ab out 5-10 min walk to Royal Mile. NIce rooms, lovely spa and gym. Would recommend as hotel for fringe and tattoo as close enough but far enough away to be quiet

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CatherineRipponden, Many thanks for taking the time to post your review and your very positive feedback, it certainly looks as though you have had a very enjoyable time with us and have enjoyed everything the Hotel and the city has to offer especially at this time of year with the Fridge Festival in full flow, Perhaps the same time... More 

England
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Room, pool and gym were great- one of the better hotel gyms I've used. Location is good, only a short walk to the Royal Mile. Only complaint was that the room was a little warm overnight. Would definitely stay again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Louise W, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay with us, location is fantastic and thank you for highlighting this as well as several of the great hotel facilities on offer, We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and apologies if you were a little uncomfortable due... More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This busy city centre hotel tries hard to offer quality service, with high spec rooms. Food in the restaurant is good, hotel location excellent. Very comfortable beds and lots of comforts in the room; though air con in our room was ineffective (we were offered a move, staff tried hard to please).

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ross J, Thank you for your positive feedback and your kind comments, they team always try ever so hard to deliver to the highest standards possible with regards to offering and service delivery and it was pleasing to read that this has been recognised. Apologies for the issues surrounding the air con in your room and hope this has... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Royal mile(33)
  • Very good(16)
  • Dynamic Earth(8)
  • Great location(7)
  • Friendly and helpful(6)
  • Scottish Parliament(5)
  • Steam room(5)
  • Princes street(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

664 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (170)
Viewed
Room/suite (69)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (38)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (467)
Viewed
Amenities (97)
Viewed
Executive Room (70)
Viewed
Feature Suite (86)
Viewed
Pool (32)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (96)
Viewed
The Hotel (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#73 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 665 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#23 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 3,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Apex International Hotel
Apex International Hotel
#70 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighborhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavored souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay