We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 144 Edinburgh hotels

Channings Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12-16 S Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland (Stockbridge)
Hotel amenities
Channings Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Channings Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #53 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Billg715 Scotland
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    199
    83
    23
    14
See reviews for
59
363
40
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (698)
  • Mar-May only
    (163)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (180)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (203)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (152)
All months
Scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Arrived just before the street parking restrictions were lifted at 1730, bit of a pain finding a place to park. Reception was friendly, swift and only took a couple of minutes. The hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren, narrow corridors but eventually found my "petite double room". It wasn't that petite! Bags of room, smallish individual wardrobe, excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Excellent base for a two night Christmas shopping trip. We were upgraded to a club room with a jacuzzi bath. Beautiful large room, excellent breakfast, lovely evening meal, although the menu is no longer similar to the one on the website, it's a Brasserie menu now. We plan to return next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for reviewing your stay at Channings. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us – Shackleton’s Brasserie menu is brand new and features seasonal winter warmers which are proving very popular with guests and locals alike. We have now updated our website with all of our new menus so guests can see exactly... More 

Sorrento, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having stayed here twiced before I was looking forward to my third visit for a pre 60th Birthday with my 5 girlfriends. We booked our rooms back in July so I thought we would be on the same floor . We arrived early left our bags and went out to explore Edinburgh we came back in pairs early evening My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Got a deal on Booking.com was really impressed with what I got for the price paid. Paid £55 per night for B & B in a "small double room". When I arrived the room was certainly not small: - double bed, two bedside cabinets, two armchairs, coffee table and dressing table and TV. Also had large walk in wardrobe area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EdinburghCollection, Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this review

Another excellent review for Channings! Thank you for highlighting the great value for money we offer, although I would mention that guests can always get out best rates and unique room enhancements by booking direct with Channings. Kindest regards, Leon Kiteley More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very happy to stay here,enjoying the out of town peace, the interesting and quirky nature of the building and contents. We love the welcoming fires and the staff are helpful...only one issue to comment was the coolness and lack of warmth in the bedroom ( ours was facing front) rads not very efficient. Nice bar and many food choices available.

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joe, Dear guest, thank you for your review, I am pleased you were able to enjoy a visit to the new Shackleton’s Bar & Brasserie at Channings. We look forward to welcoming you back to Channings on your next visit to Edinburgh! Kindest regards, Leon Kiteley More 

Montrose, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night, at just over £70 for the room with breakfast included ,this seemed good value although the decor of the hotel is a little tired and we also had some niggles about the tap in the bathroom.However, the public areas with their open fires are warm and welcoming; the street is quiet although it is an easy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this review

It is always gratifying to be referred to a value for money so my thanks to this guest for their positive comments and rest assured we are always looking at ways to improve our product - we would draw attention to the recent transformation to our new Shackleton's Bar and Brasserie, with the focus now being on our bedrooms. Leon... More 

Woodbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed at the Channings Hotel several times and have never been disappointed with the rooms or service. Eager to please staff will make sure you are satisfied. Great little restaurant and bar downstairs. The lobby is like an old club. Wing back chairs large fireplace. Parking can be tight but I've always been able to find a spot. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cork
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice staff ,the lovely housekeeping ladies helped us to bring our large baggage down to reception when we were running late . We enjoyed the large buffet breakfast. We had a suite and the room and bathroom were lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this review

We do have a wonderful, quiet location, and although we cannot offer a car park - on street parking charges are the most reasonable in Edinburgh at just £1 per hour. Leon Kiteley General Manager More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights last weekend and in general enjoyed our stay pleasant, straightforward check-in and our room was on the top floor #66 - clean and tidy with lovely views over Edinburgh and a huge bathroom with separate shower and roll top bath. Sadly the shower had one heat only (2nd degree burns) and on returning from a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for a mainly positive review and my apologies for any niggles that occurred although I am pleased to confirm that these have been addressed; all maintenance issues have been fixed and fresh pastries abound at breakfast time! Leon Kiteley General Manager More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed for a weekend at the Channing's Hotel whilst visiting the Edinburgh Christmas Market. Hotel is well presented, staff friendly and willing to help. Our room was situated in the reception area which my wife and I could hear other guests conversations in the lounge area so we were a little concerned over privacy. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this review

A super review and my thanks to this guest for highlighting so many reasons for choosing Channings! Leon Kiteley General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Address: 12-16 S Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh

142 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (128)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay