We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 146 Edinburgh hotels

The Old Waverley Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland (New Town)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Old Waverley Hotel to your Saves list
The Old Waverley Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
64%
Ranked #113 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
LeisaMelb Melb
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    434
    232
    90
    96
See reviews for
184
466
100
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melb
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We booked a Princess St suite. Well worth it. Big rooms. Great rooms. Really well located. Staff really helpful. Breakfast good. Free wifi. Def recommend. Bed comfy. Close to restaurants on George st and Rose St

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your positive review and high rating of our property. It is always great to hear that our guests found our hotel recommendation worthy. We hope you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits. Kind regards, Leon Kiteley General Manager More

UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We picked this hotel for its excellent location. It is a lovely old hotel, probably in need of a little tlc here and there, but we loved it. Would recommend booking the rooms at the front of the hotel as the views are amazing. Yes, it will be noisy at night but feel this is part of the experience of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, I would like to express many thanks for your review, in which you point out our excellent and friendly staff. It is also great to hear that you loved our historic building and enjoyed amazing views from your room. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards, Leon Kiteley General Manager More

hong kong
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Good location but we had a room that was next to the side street and was quite noisy. Many steps an stairs and the lift was not working so walking up and down 2 flights was a problem . I would not recommend to anyone with walking difficulties. The room was fine and the breakfast was as expected.

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Many thanks for your recent review and for highlighting our central location. We do inform our guests about the 27 steps from the ground floor to the reception area on our website and notify that we are not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties. We do apologise for the inconvenience however the building has listed status. We do... More

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Good location yes. However when I booked for 7 nights plus another 2 later on I failed to notice that there were so many stairs to climb up and down on a daily basis. The staff assisted with luggage but I felt it was done begrudgingly. Most staff were polite but formal, not friendly.The rooms I found stuffy and if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Traditional Scottish hotel right on Princes Street and opposite to Waverley Station and the Airport Bus. My wife loved it for its location next to Jenners, our favourite department store in Edinburgh. Good bedroom and bathroom. Excellent breakfasts. Fabulous duty manager in Emily Wilkinson. Our only issue is the narrow doorway and flight of steps leading to the reception.

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, I would like to express many thanks for your favourable review. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that our location was very convenient to you. I am also pleased to hear that you find our staff professional; please be sure I will pass this on to our duty manager. In regards... More

Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 4 nights in July and loved being at this charming hotel. The staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful. Charming can be code for "old and run down" but we did not find this to be the case. Our bathroom, furniture, carpets and bedding were new and in excellent condition. We had a room with a view of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Many thanks for your high rating and positive feedback. It is a pleasure to hear such good comments about our hotel. I hope you had an enjoyable stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you back on your future visits. Kind regards, Leon Kiteley General Manager More

Pelotas, RS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is almost like home to me, everytime i go there i think its even more perfect. Very kind people, gentle talk; anything ya need they provide at the same time. The building is VERY well located, i would say perfectly located . Inside of it its very beautiful and the rooms are extremely confortable. I would recomended it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your outstanding rating of our hotel. I am very grateful for all your kind comments and positive feedback. We do hope to see you soon! Kind regards, Leon Kiteley General Manager More

Rocklin, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 5 nights here this past week. The hotel is in a wonderful location and has an elegant charm! Our bedroom looked out onto Princes Street and we loved watching the comings and goings as well as the fireworks at the close of the August festival. Dining room was charming with windows facing the park. The food was fine,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Many thanks for your marvellous review of the Old Waverley Hotel. We pride ourselves in excellent service and we are glad to see that you think of it the same way! I am more than pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay and that our central location allowed you to watch the fireworks without leaving the... More

Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location best in town, unquestionable. Top floor really has an atmosphere, and OLD is not a negative part of the name. If and when we come back to Edinburgh, we will do everything to stay at this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your fantastic review of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back! Kind regards, Leon Kiteley General Manager More

Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Old Waverly is almost directly across the Princess Street Station. You can get outstanding views of the castle and hop on and off public transportation with ease. You may get a cheaper hotel further into the city but it really isn't worth it because you just end up paying for taxis. The reduction in stress is really worth the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time and writing a great review of our hotel. It is great to see that you share our admiration of the hotel's location with such great views. It seems that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards, Leon Kiteley General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Old Waverley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Old Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

182 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (167)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from room (28)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
1:45
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Edinburgh with
any amenities