We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 147 Edinburgh hotels

The Old Waverley Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland (New Town)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Old Waverley Hotel to your Saves list
The Old Waverley Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
64%
Ranked #112 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Neil C
  • Overview
  • Reviews (1,052)
  • Photos (175)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (228)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

1,052 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    425
    224
    87
    95
See reviews for
180
454
97
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed at The Old Waverley Hotel during the Edinburgh Festival. I presume that it must be a listed building as the construction and interior looked quite ancient including single glazed wooden sash windows which let in the Princes Street noise. The room and fittings were 'old world' and didn't reflect the price of £206.10 a night for a twin. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexandria, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed for one night on a room only basis. Check in and check out quick and efficient. Twin room on second floor a good size and clean. Beds fine. Had a bar meal in lounge bar. On entry noticed several tables were waiting to be cleaned which was not a good sign. Reason soon became obvious. The single(very pleasant) barman... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Petrie, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this hotel online and didn't know Edinburgh at all so relied on the reviews. The hotel is in a great location - right near the train station and a short walk from the Royal Mile. Our room was lovely, had all we needed and a very comfortable bed. Scottish Breakfast was included and was huge. We were overlooking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris, Thank you for your great review of our hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you have chosen our accommodation especially when it was your first time in Edinburgh! I am also extremely happy to hear that you were fond of our location, rooms and breakfast. It is pointed out on the website that our hotel is... More

Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had tidy rooms, decent interior, location is great for tourists. High priced rooms and wifi usage, but the city isn't cheap too so it was ok. Close to the shopping centre, hop on hop off bus and across the street is a beautiful park. All in all, great!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Many thanks for your recent review and high rating of our property. We look forward to welcoming you on your future visits to Edinburgh. Kind regards, Leon Kiteley General Manager More

Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location on Princess Street. Lovely views, across from park, bus tours, shopping, restaurants. Staff friendly and helpfull. We do recommend and we would stay there again. Rooms not big nor small - good size and clean. Be ready to walk up some stairs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate the fact that you found our location and staff up to your standards. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Leon Kiteley General Manager More

lancashire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is tired and in need of renovation and some TLC although I understand that it is a listed building, the room we stayed in was 'quirky', sloping floors, bathroom was modern but the sink was so high we had to stand on our tip toes!, however the location of the hotel was great - central to all things... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
north east england
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night. Its on an excellent location , opposite the train station, with good views of Princes Street and Princes Street Gardens. Lovely large room and good bathroom. Just a few things that let it down. Only disposable plastic cups in the room , no glasses. Not nice to drink out of if you want a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location is the only asset of this hotel. It really is quite tragic that a building of this standard has been partly neglected and partly tarted up on the cheap. We had room 414, good size with wonderful views but it was not clean. The doors were black near the handles, they hadn't been cleaned in a long time. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goulais River, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for several days in May 2014. The location of the hotel is excellent, the staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel definitely has a historic charm to it. This is not a modern hotel, so if you are wanting huge rooms this is not the hotel for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your recent feedback. It is a pleasure to read that you were fond of our location and our friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards, Leon Kiteley General Manager More

Wales
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Such hard working staff go the extra mile in this hotel and make it such a pleasure to be there. Had a great little stay for The Fringe Festival. Great views of Scott monument, castle and fireworks from the bedroom. A large bedroom - nice furniture, including a easy chair & table. The whole place runs like clockwork and is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time and writing a favourable review of our hotel. We are extremely happy that you had a great stay with us and we could contribute to your holidays. Thank you once again for your positive comments about our staff and rooms and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits!... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Old Waverley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Old Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

175 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (160)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from room (28)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
1:45
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Edinburgh with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modernized hotel in building dating from 1848; overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott Monument; with views of Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
85

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of The Old Waverley Hotel and other travelers.
1 question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Waverley Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer