We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal British Hotel

20 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2AN, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Royal British Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ranked #127 of 145 Hotels in Edinburgh
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Carolanne S Oxford, United Kingdom
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    202
    174
    114
    97
See reviews for
91
223
114
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating | Travelers Like You
?
×
beta
Travelers Like You
Want to see reviews by travelers similar to you? Tell us your travel style.
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (676)
  • Mar-May only
    (182)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (171)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (181)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (142)
All months
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Directly across the street from Waverly rail station, this hotel location is prime. Surrounded by shops and with a view of the castle, it's a great base. However, the hotel is undergoing refurbishment and I imagine when it's done the prices will sky rocket. You have to specify an executive double to get a view of Princes Street and Edinburgh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Royal British Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, great to hear that you loved our location. Hope to see you again. Many thanks, General Manager More 

Wark, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Picked this hotel as I did not know Edinburgh so it was easy to find just across the road from the airport bus point drop off driver pointed it out and close to everything I wanted to do.Room was large bed comfortable, large windows overlooking Prince's street , bathroom was fab great shower.The only downside was after booking with booking.com... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Royal British Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, great to hear you found us so central and the staff so friendly. Many thanks, General Manager More 

Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Nice and central, reasonable rates and wonderful happy staff. They have works going on at the moment, but it is kept to the minimum of bother to guests. Will be fantastic when finished. Staff were very helpful and smilie, which in my book counts for a lot. The tram for the airport is just a couple of minutes walk away... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Royal British Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and great comments about our staff! Hope to see you again, especially upon the completion of our refurbishment. Many thanks, General Manager. More 

1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Great location. Disappointed to be refused food and drink at the bar during 6 Nations weekend for wearing a rugby shirt!!! No sign in the room, on the hotel website or at check in of any such policy and no response to an e-mail to the Manager to discuss the matter further. Perhaps a place for rugby fans to avoid???

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Stayed here last summer. The location of the hotel is excellent and the staff was very helpful. Close to all tourist places and the tram stop is right in front of the hotel. Would love to come back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Royal British Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review!! Delighted that you found our location so central and our staff so helpful! Hope to welcome you again! Many thanks, General Manager. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

It was our first trip together so we were painfully excited about the whole thing. Luckily the staff were just as excited to see us though. In fact right from the moment we arrived Nicola Melrose said she was making sure we were going to have the most tremendous time. She was true to her word. Our room was one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
General M, General Manager at Royal British Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a FANTASTIC review!! Delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful & romantic time and your stay left such a lasting impression!! Congratulations on the engagement!! Many thanks, General Manager. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015 via mobile

A lovely stay in a modern hotel, the hotel was clean, the room was clean & the en suite clean. Shower was fantastic. Only fault, and just being picky here, if we wanted the big light on we could only have a green light. Not good for applying makeup. Other than that was brilliant. Definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Royal British Hotel, responded to this review

Thank for your great review, fantastic to hear that you loved the room!! Hope to welcome you again! Many thanks, General Manager More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

My husband and I stayed in an older room in the hotel in October last year on a trip to Edinburgh and could not fault the hotel or the service our only slight issue was with the small shower (we are both tall and my husband is a big guy) but that aside we throughly enjoyed our stay. My cousin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
General M, General Manager at Royal British Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review and lovely comments about our staff!! Delighted that you found them to be so helpful, especially Fiona who loved your comments!! Hope to see you again! Many thanks, General Manager More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Nicola Melrose and the team pulled out all the stops for this fantastic weekend birthday treat for my girlfriend and I. On arrival we were met by happy, friendly staff who were very welcoming. The room was immaculate and a beautiful happy birthday message awaited our arrival. We had outstanding service and we eagerly look forward to the relaunch of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Royal British Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your wonderful review!! Delighted to hear that we made your weekend so special and that you found the staff so welcoming and friendly!! Hope to welcome you again! Many thanks, General Manager More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Apart from the location, I would not recommend this place. We booked via booking.com and it was not made clear that the payment was due on arrival. I won this stay via a competition through work and it was very awkward to try and resolve this. The receptionist seemed to have no issue with our concerns at all and it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Royal British Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, if you would like to discuss your stay in greater detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly via manager@royalbritishhotel.com. Many thanks, General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

193 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (173)
Viewed
Room/suite (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question