We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 147 Edinburgh hotels

Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Britannia Way, Ocean Drive | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6JJ , Scotland
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
78%
Ranked #82 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed today
[Mt]Nigel, Sand... P Gold Coast, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (655)
  • Photos (103)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (90)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

655 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    314
    121
    28
    6
See reviews for
117
286
18
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

2 night stay whilst visiting Scotland with family. Very happy with overall service, staff friendly and polite. Room spacious and clean, although we did have to ask for a second bath towel in our room, as did our son and girlfriend too. Breakfast nice with plenty of choice of food. Bus stop right outside for easy access into the city.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel in Edinburgh and it is very nice. The bed is very comfortable and large enough for my 6'4" tall husband. The rooms clean. The breakfast was included and very good. Everyone was helpful and nice. I would stay there again. There is a bus stop right outside of the hotel that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Debra W, Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us. I'm so glad that you found your room to be clean, found your bed to be comfortable and enjoyed our inclusive breakfast. I'm delighted that you enjoyed our location, found our team to be helpful and nice and that you would stay with us again. We... More

Ellon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 1 night with our dog, nice quiet area, clean, good food, tea and coffee in room, staff very friendly and helpful. Plenty of buses into town centre. My partner is disabled, unfortunately all the disabled bays were full with other guest who weren't disabled and we ended up having to park on the street

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear 706willy, Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be clean and our staff to be friendly and helpful. I'm sorry that you were unable to find a free disabled parking space in our car park. We do try our utmost to ensure... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here foe two nights. It was great to find a place to stay in the city where we didnt have to worry about parking. There is a bus stop right outside which will take you into the centre. The room was clean and spacious, with a comfy bed and offered tea/coffee, a tv and hair dryer. Breakfast in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear blackrosepetals91, Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you found your room to be clean and spacious and your bed to be comfy. I'm so glad that you were able to make use of our free parking and found our staff to be friendly, welcoming and willing to help and we look forward to... More

Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not luxurious but clean quiet and comfortable with an included breakfast. Plenty of eateries in the area and just opposite the Royal Yacht Britannia and a swish shopping centre. There is a bus service right outside but a very pleasant walk to the city centre is via cycle route 75. This also takes you to the Botanical Gardens leith is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Pam T, Thank you so much for providing us with s great review of your recent stay with us. I'm so glad that you found our hotel to be clean,quiet and comfortable and that you enjoyed our location. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again. Kind regards, Andrew General Manager More

Moorpark, California
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
26 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were very pleased with this large quiet, clean, affordable hotel next to the Royal Yacht Britannia. The staff is excellent and can't do enough for you. We were on the top floor next to the elevator, which worried us at first, but we never heard a sound from it or other guests. The room was roomy with a settee;... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Linda C, Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay, found our staff to be excellent and found our hotel to be quiet, clean and affordable. I'm so glad that you enjoyed our location, close to the local amenities and tourist attractions and also the city centre by use of the... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good place to stay for trips into Edinburgh. Bus outside the gate number 20 takes you into city within 20-25 mins. Rooms quiet and a good size. Breakfast was good though I didnt like the sausages. I would stay here again if I had the fortune to visit Edinburgh again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear MacunianOz, Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay. I'm so glad that you enjoyed our location and found our rooms to be quiet and of a good size. I do hope that you will have the fortune to be able to visit Edinburgh again and I hope that we may welcome you back to the hotel then.... More

Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Attending an event in the town, this was fine and easy access to the city centre, with a bus stop right outside. Nice hotel, pleasant staff, all in all a good place to stay. Only NO BACON AT BREAKFAST!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Tink802, Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. I'm so glad that you found us to be a nice hotel with pleasant staff and that you enjoyed our location with it's easy access to the local tourist attractions and amenities and also the city centre via the very frequent public bus service which runs from just outside... More

Monifieth
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Last time we stayed here was not long after it opened, then you got room only. Things have moved on, now you get a breakfast with the choice of a limited cooked breakfast. No complaints here the cooked breakfast is scrambled eggs, beans and sausages, as much as you want. Room was small and well maintained Staff were friendly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Mr Joy, Welcome back and many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. I’m delighted that you enjoyed the hot choices that we now offer as part of our Express Start buffet breakfast. I’m so glad that you found your room to be well maintained and found our staff to be friendly and ready to help. I do... More

West Sussex
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Good hotel with clean comfortable accommodation. Wi-fi (a bit slow!) and really great breakfast included in the price Plenty of excellent restaurants for dinner nearby in attractive location. Easy parking which is a bonus in a city and good public transport links for the quick ride to city centre. Would recommend this hotel to friends and family. Excellent value for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Gaskyns, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I’m pleased to hear that you would recommend us and that your stay was excellent value for money. I’m sorry to hear that you found the free Wi-Fi connection to be a bit slow however we do have an enhanced connection that you can upgrade to... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront

Address: Britannia Way, Ocean Drive | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6JJ , Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Leith
Leith Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Scotland

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (82)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#47 Business Hotel in Edinburgh #50 Family Hotel in Edinburgh #58 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront offering free breakfast, free Wifi, air conditioning, great value rates, free parking (see Parking Information below) & a superb location for exploring this charming and fascinating city. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront is located next to Ocean Terminal, Edinburgh's newest leisure and shopping destination, the Scottish Executive, the Royal Yacht Britannia & close to all major business areas. The old port area of Edinburgh-Leith has many atmospheric bars, bistros and boutiques & is only 1.5 miles from the city centre. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront has good parking (see Parking Information below) & a frequent public bus service from the front door making it an ideal location for visiting all of Edinburgh's famous attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, the Royal Mile, Princes Street & national museums & galleries. Features of the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront include free parking (see Parking Information below), licensed bar, air conditioning and free WiFi, meeting space, excellent transport links & a warm welcome for our guests. Parking Info: 60 spaces available at the hotel on a first-come-first-served basis. Ample additional parking available at Ocean Terminal, opposite. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
145

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer