We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 147 Edinburgh hotels

Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Britannia Way, Ocean Drive | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6JJ , Scotland
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
78%
Ranked #81 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Mike K
  • Overview
  • Reviews (657)
  • Photos (103)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (90)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

657 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    316
    120
    28
    6
See reviews for
119
288
18
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We enjoyed our stay here. Nice, clean rooms, good temperature control, great breakfast, and convenient bus stop right outside the door. Close walking distance to Britannia, and some great restaurants nearby in the canal area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Mike K, Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. I'm so glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Andrew General Manager More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
27 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a no frills hotel. However with a big free car park, bus routes and a shopping and dining areas across the road it is a good alternative to city Center accommodation. One of the bonus points was the royal yacht Britannia only 3 mins walk away!! The check in/ out is smooth. The breakfast is adequate, but not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Vicky J, Thank you so much for reviewing your stay. I'm delighted that you found your check in to be smooth, that your room had been made up as a family room prior to your arrival and that our team were able to provide you with assistance and a sewing kit. I'm delighted that you enjoyed our location and... More

Scottish Borders
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
55 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I haven't stayed often at the Holiday Inn chain, but decided on this one due to getting a reasonable midweek deal. This Holiday Inn is situated near the Ocean Terminal area,which boasts a large number of shops and the Royal Yacht Britannia. We arrived early, but it was nice to get early access to our room which was ready and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear BordersRover, Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us and for providing us with valuable feedback on your stay. I’m so sorry that the valance on your bed was stained and that your wife found the hot tap difficult to operate. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness that we offer in our guest rooms and I’m sorry that... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

My family and I stayed a week in Holiday Inn Express. It was very cosy and clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is very good. There are number of buses going to the city centre so transportation is easy and cheap. All in all,we enjoyed our trip in Edinburgh and we loved our hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Aruzubal, Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us. I'm delighted that you found our hotel to be cosy and clean, found our staff to be friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed our location. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your trip to Edinburgh and that you loved our hotel. I hope that we may have... More

Sandbach, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is situated quite a way from the city centre, which makes things easier if you are driving. However, there are plenty of shops and restaurants in the nearby Ocean Terminal complex. It has the comfortable, airy and well-equipped rooms you expect from a relatively modern hotel. Breakfast is included and it helps to have sharp elbows when using... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear John H, Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay. I'm delighted that you found our rooms to be comfortable, airy well equipped. I'm so glad that you enjoyed our location and we do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Andrew General Manager More

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

2 night stay whilst visiting Scotland with family. Very happy with overall service, staff friendly and polite. Room spacious and clean, although we did have to ask for a second bath towel in our room, as did our son and girlfriend too. Breakfast nice with plenty of choice of food. Bus stop right outside for easy access into the city.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear [Mt]Nigel, Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you were happy with the overall service that we provide and that you found our staff to be friendly and polite. I'm so happy that you found your room to be spacious and clean. I apologise that you had to request extra towels though... More

Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel in Edinburgh and it is very nice. The bed is very comfortable and large enough for my 6'4" tall husband. The rooms clean. The breakfast was included and very good. Everyone was helpful and nice. I would stay there again. There is a bus stop right outside of the hotel that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Debra W, Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us. I'm so glad that you found your room to be clean, found your bed to be comfortable and enjoyed our inclusive breakfast. I'm delighted that you enjoyed our location, found our team to be helpful and nice and that you would stay with us again. We... More

Ellon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 1 night with our dog, nice quiet area, clean, good food, tea and coffee in room, staff very friendly and helpful. Plenty of buses into town centre. My partner is disabled, unfortunately all the disabled bays were full with other guest who weren't disabled and we ended up having to park on the street

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear 706willy, Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be clean and our staff to be friendly and helpful. I'm sorry that you were unable to find a free disabled parking space in our car park. We do try our utmost to ensure... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here foe two nights. It was great to find a place to stay in the city where we didnt have to worry about parking. There is a bus stop right outside which will take you into the centre. The room was clean and spacious, with a comfy bed and offered tea/coffee, a tv and hair dryer. Breakfast in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear blackrosepetals91, Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you found your room to be clean and spacious and your bed to be comfy. I'm so glad that you were able to make use of our free parking and found our staff to be friendly, welcoming and willing to help and we look forward to... More

Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not luxurious but clean quiet and comfortable with an included breakfast. Plenty of eateries in the area and just opposite the Royal Yacht Britannia and a swish shopping centre. There is a bus service right outside but a very pleasant walk to the city centre is via cycle route 75. This also takes you to the Botanical Gardens leith is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Pam T, Thank you so much for providing us with s great review of your recent stay with us. I'm so glad that you found our hotel to be clean,quiet and comfortable and that you enjoyed our location. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again. Kind regards, Andrew General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront

Address: Britannia Way, Ocean Drive | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6JJ , Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Leith
Leith Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Scotland

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (82)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#47 Business Hotel in Edinburgh #50 Family Hotel in Edinburgh #58 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront offering free breakfast, free Wifi, air conditioning, great value rates, free parking (see Parking Information below) & a superb location for exploring this charming and fascinating city. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront is located next to Ocean Terminal, Edinburgh's newest leisure and shopping destination, the Scottish Executive, the Royal Yacht Britannia & close to all major business areas. The old port area of Edinburgh-Leith has many atmospheric bars, bistros and boutiques & is only 1.5 miles from the city centre. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront has good parking (see Parking Information below) & a frequent public bus service from the front door making it an ideal location for visiting all of Edinburgh's famous attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, the Royal Mile, Princes Street & national museums & galleries. Features of the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront include free parking (see Parking Information below), licensed bar, air conditioning and free WiFi, meeting space, excellent transport links & a warm welcome for our guests. Parking Info: 60 spaces available at the hotel on a first-come-first-served basis. Ample additional parking available at Ocean Terminal, opposite. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
145

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer