We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Howard

#22 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
34 Great King Street, Edinburgh EH3 6QH, Scotland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Howard
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Howard
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    90
    31
    18
    9
See reviews for
57
298
33
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (511)
  • Mar-May only
    (150)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (131)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (114)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (116)
All months
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have hesitated a lot before I gave my grade. My stay had complications, but the staff was so nice that... The hotel is a huge townhouse very nicely decorated. The rooms are very nice, mine was a junior suite and bathroom included, I was pleasantly surprised. Breakfast is lovely. We had an issue with the cleanliness of the bathroom.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carmel, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Negatives: needs maintenance such as carpet cleaning and paint and better head butler attitude; generally down in the heel; week old trash and dirty rags on lower terrace. Positives: other staff superb, ideal location close to tourist areas but removed and quiet. Charlotte suite gorgeous, standard rooms tiny. Once must have been a 5 star, now slipped but good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Splendidly relaxed with staff who are very attentive. There is car parking which is a great asset and it has the additional benefit of a good location in New Town and a good restaurant serving food of great quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review

My thanks to this guest for their succinct but positive review of The Howard and our Team. I would like to add that whilst we do have a car park, it can get very busy so I would urge all guests to book our Valet Parking service with Reception at the time of booking. Leon Kiteley General Manager More 

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel in the heart of Edinburgh, amazing courtyard room, very spacious and staff very attentive. Lovely four poster bed and great jacuzzi bath. Breakfast was excellent, with great Scottish produce.

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review

Another short but sweet review of The Howard - many, many thanks! Leon Kiteley General Manager More 

New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked The Howard for myself and my mother. We had two Petit Double rooms. The staff is lovely, the rooms had everything we needed. Breakfast was plentiful and tea was lovely. The whole experience felt like staying at a friends' home. The location is perfectly suited to walking around Edinburgh and yet it is quiet and peaceful being just beyond... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review

Another perfect review for The Howard and I am immensely grateful to this guest for taking the time to share their positive experience of the hotel with TripAdvisor. I hope to welcome her, and her mother, back to The Howard in the very near future. Leon Kiteley General Manager More 

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at The Howard for two nights. We were able to leave our bag here until it was time for us to check-in. When we arrived back, Orsi showed us to our room 'The Lauriston' and told us it was her first check-in, she did so well and was lovely and welcoming. Our room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review

Another super review for the Howard - many thanks! Leon Kiteley General Manager More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Certainly not welcoming. We booked and paid for a superior twin room,none was available. We're offered an apartment across the road with separate bedrooms. We said no. The room we were shown was the Cockburn, the only good thing about it was the bathroom. The bedroom was a double bed, the headboard had more dust on it, that could have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review

A disappointing review considering the guests in question never actually stayed at The Howard, and I must take issue with the description of the rooms presented. Our housekeeping standards are extremely high as has been detailed in other reviews, and none of our rooms can be described as "ding" - I am sorry that we were unable to meet this... More 

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband surprised me for my 30th birthday by taking me to Edinburgh for two nights. He booked The Howard as he thought it was full of character and after reading a lot of reviews felt it would be special. The Howard did not disappoint. The service we received was outstanding from the moment we arrived. We were greeted with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review

A super review for The Howard and I am grateful for the kind words on our unique Butler Service. Leon Kiteley General Manager More 

Northumberland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and u are just back from a fab two night break at The Howard. We can't fault it at all. What a beautiful hotel. We were upgraded (thank you so very much) our room was gorgeous! The huge bathroom was a real treat! Decor and soft furnishings were exceptionally luxuriant! In the main, however, it's the staff who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited this hotel in my home city of Edinburgh at Easter 2015. Stayed here just after it first opened and we both absolutely loved the overall quality and presentation which was in it's day second to none in Edinburgh. Move on a few years and guess what, lack of investement, DIY repair work and just generally poor overall quality of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Howard, responded to this review

A disappointing review for The Howard although I am grateful to this guest for their honest appraisal of the hotel. Although there are no excuses for poor housekeeping standards and the room in question is being investigated as I type, the comments within the review seem a little at odds with the overall conclusion. The Terrace Suites at the Howard... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

464 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (125)
Viewed
Room/suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
1:37
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (308)
Viewed
Abercromby Junior Suite (80)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (111)
Viewed
Trinity Terrace Suite (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in New Town

Neighborhood Profile
New Town
Suits and shopping bags rule the streets of New Town, until after dark when strappy dresses come out to play. This is the city’s central business district with its smaller offices, clothes boutiques, and many of the city’s flashiest restaurants and ritziest clubs. The architecture along roads like George Street helps give it a swank and formal feel: it’s a planned Georgian development of regal townhouses, geometric squares, and self-important statues. But it’s also a very wanderable neighborhood, with a healthy bustle at almost any time of day and fine people-watching in places like St Andrew's Square which fills with picnickers around lunch. You’ll also find a series of cheerful basement bistros on Hanover Street, while dark Rose Street has something of the feel of an undiscovered back alley and is chock-full of characterful pubs and small independent shops.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay