We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

#34 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB, Scotland (Formerly Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel)
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    414
    164
    71
    24
See reviews for
315
781
44
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1641)
  • Mar-May only
    (434)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (329)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (415)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (463)
All months
There are newer reviews for Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
See the most recent reviews
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Fantastic hotel from start to finish. Stayed here for our wedding anniversary/birthday weekend. Chose a king junior suite which was very spacious and beautifully furnished. Lovely fluffy bathrobes, well stocked mini bar, and super comfortable bed. Would recommend the valet service which took the stress out of trying to get parked in the city centre. Chose to eat at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-WAEdinburgh, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh – The Caledonian. We are delighted that you chose our hotel for your special occasion and it is a pleasure to read that you had an overall enjoyable stay. We hope to welcome you back for your next birthday/anniversary. Best wishes, Dale MacPhee General Manager More 

casablanca, Morocco
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

we have choosen this hotel mainly for the location, very central, and easy to go arround for sightseeing or shopping. The staff was very helpful, even talking fransoesisch, our 2 babys were welcome every where in the hotel. The rooms are extremely clean and quiet, the view to the castle is amazing especially in the evening. The only negative thing... More 

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-WAEdinburgh, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review following you recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh – The Caledonian. It is a pleasure to read that you family had such an enjoyable stay with us and that our colleagues made a positive contribution to your experience. I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with... More 

carnoustie
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Stayed here for my mums 70 th Birthday. Hotel room was lovely a delux twin. The staff are what make this hotel so good. The breakfast was great plenty of choice. Would recommend. Cocktails listening to the piano was a lovely end to the day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-WAEdinburgh, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted that you chose Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh – The Caledonian for such a special stay and that you and your family had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for sharing your valuable comments and we hope to welcome you all back in the not too distant future. Best wishes, Dale MacPhee General Manager More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014 via mobile

First time in Scotland , June, luckily sunny days ( the rain at Anstruther - fisherman village was beautiful...) The pisition of the hotel in very center - you don't need a taxi, everthing is walking distance... I liked the bar lounge with live music, the breakfast was very reach, nothing was missing... Events arround Caledonian every evening... Next year... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-WAEdinburgh, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of your stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh – The Caledonian in June. Edinburgh is such a beautiful city and has no rival when the sun is shining. It is a pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we already look forward to your return in... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the years as it's a classic in Edinburgh folklore. The hotel was in need of a refresh and the Hilton/Waldorf Astoria chain has delivered on that, even if the whole process is not complete yet. The (standard) renovated room I stayed in on the fifth floor was excellent, with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-WAEdinburgh, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following you recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh – The Caledonian. We are delighted to have had the opportunity of welcoming you back once again and there can be no better feedback than to hear you continue to enjoy your time at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh. Thank you again... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

family stayed at this hotel on the 9th November the pool was out of order the sauna we could not use because of the hygiene they also charge for using the car park even though you are a resident received a voucher for dinner to the value of 25 pounds but we wanted steak which cost 29 pounds I really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM-WAEdinburgh, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your observations following your recent stay with us. We are sorry to learn that you left the hotel less than satisfied with your stay and that you would not consider Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh – The Caledonian on you return visit to Edinburgh. Regretfully, the swimming pool had to be temporarily closed during your stay... More 

UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights with our 13 year old daughter. Its a beautiful hotel in a great location for shopping, eating and sightseeing. We chose not to eat in the hotel due to the great choice of food available within easy walking distance and the quality assurance that tripadvisor brings when trying new restaurants. We were not disappointed with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-WAEdinburgh, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh – The Caledonian. It is a pleasure to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and I regret that you did not have the opportunity to dine with us on this occasion. I am sorry to learn... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

The food here is lovely and is good value for money. would return again and again. Have a light lunch at the seafood counter,is really lovely.Service is second to none. Great selection wine and they really do help you select the right wine with your meal

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-WAEdinburgh, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review following you recent visit to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh – The Caledonian. We are very proud of the offering of both our restaurants, Galvin Brasserie De Luxe and The Pompadour by Galvin and it is a pleasure to read that your experience matched the positive comments that we are... More 

york, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Arrived in a cold Edinburgh by train and strolled approx 15 mins to hotel. Very warm welcome. Ate in bistro twice. Excellent food at very competitive rate. Great location for all sights. Would strongly recommend and will return.

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-WAEdinburgh, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your observations about your recent visit to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh – The Caledonian. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Yours sincerely, Dale MacPhee General Manager More 

Camberley
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
73 hotel reviews
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

I have already contacted the Manager and received a reply from his PA which apologised for the issue with the rooms, explained that there should have been a card offering choice of clean linen each day (which was not in our room) and stated that the behaviour of the children in the pool did not merit intervention. here is what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

467 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (410)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (69)
Viewed
View from room (47)
Viewed
Room/suite (129)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
1:10
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
 

Staying in West End

Neighborhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighborhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theaters and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question