We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel

3 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

498 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
See the most recent reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is conveniently located just off the east end of Princes Street and less than a five minute walk Waverley Station. The guy on reception was friendly and check in was quick. The room was very small and basic compared to other Travelodge hotels I have stayed in. However, it is only a bad for the night, and as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cranbourne
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location was first and formost for choosing this Hotel, it was central for the Christmas markets, which was the main reason for my visit in Novemebr 2015. The room was 2 floors in the basement, it was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The heating in the room was very controlable. The bathroom was clean, neat and tidy,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ali B
TravelodgeUK, Karen from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so pleased to learn that you were happy with the location of the Hotel and that your overall experience was a positive one. Feedback is invaluable and a copy of your comments will be forwarded to the Hotel Manager. Thank you once again and we do hope you... More 

perth
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Travelled up from London to see friends and were recommended this hotel. Upon arrival we were checked in easily by a friendly staff member. Colin I think he was. We were put in the quiet floor which was nice . The foyer had a back packer feeling to it with young people queuing up and vending machines giving the impression... More 

Helpful?
Thank gerardinwa
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A basic value hotel with some great deals. In the centre of Edinburgh, but a quiet location. Rooms are a little small but have the basic facilities you need. The building was the old Edunburgh council housing dept!

Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisBartter
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have had to rate poor. The location is great and staff very nice, well until checked out out and needed the toilet on floor one but was refused as no longer a guest, had to battle to use. No shaving mirror or place to do make-up. Nor dry hair no socket next to a mirror. No bedside table. Very... More 

Helpful?
Thank LincolnshireDjg
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with regards to your stay at our Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Travelodge. We are pleased to learn you were happy with the Hotels location, however we would like to sincerely apologise for the issues that impacted your stay. Your feedback is important to us as it allow us to improve... More 

Forfar
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

No wifi guy had to call other hotels to check us in although no blame to him he was helpful and apologetic just not what you expect from a chain this size hopefully a one off as everything else great including price and location

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Hoopyx88x
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for submitting your review. We understand that your overall experience was not exceptional and we do apologise for this. We’ll be sure to pass your valuable feedback directly to our colleagues in our hotel as this is the best way for us to improve the service we offer. Thank you again for your review. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Comfortable and good reception, is close to central, well located and with room service acceptable and the care of well educated and friendly welcome. Room and good sized bathroom. The low hosting price, I recommend it and go back to staying quietly.

Helpful?
1 Thank Felipe_Rodelingue
Oslo
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed 3 nights at the end of December. Our first impression was somewhat negative when we were told that our room was on floor "-4". The lift only went to "-3", then we had to walk down the last staircase. This wasn't a problem for us, but could be for some. The room was fairly spacious, comfortable and functional. Despite... More 

Helpful?
Thank francoscot
Mayfield, Dalkeith
Level Contributor
234 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here on a friday night. Check in was great, very friendly member of staff. explained everything we needed. A lovely room with a good view. Very quiet given we were in the heart of Edinburgh. Very clean and tidy. The bed and pillows are amazing. So comfortable. Perfect location when visiting Edinburgh town center.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jambo-TL
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is an above average Travelodge. The decor is new and it is in a good location. Parking is nearby though expensive. Surprisingly quiet. Room was a little cold but then it was baltic outside. This is my third stay.

Helpful?
1 Thank j0hnmac1314
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#25 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 3,270 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#7 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 2,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighborhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighborhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicenter Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay