We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel

2.5 of 5 3 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    103
    27
    15
    9
See reviews for
29
92
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (215)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (64)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
Leeds England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had good stay again in Waterloo hotel. This is basic hotell what We know before! But it is clean and ideal place in city centre. Wawearly railway St only gross the road. Hotel staff was very helpful too. We was there for Welsh Rugby. We was surprised how quiet it was too. We like to use hotel again, no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Workington, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed in this hotel as I have had pleasant stays with Travelodge in the past. Upon entering the room, it was unbearable hot, so much so that I had to open the window and leave for an hour, (after you have managed to open the sliding door to the window - a challenge in itself). The room was very... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a lads weekend & found the hotel hard to fault. We had a family room on the second floor & it was enormous. Room was comfortable, clean & quiet. Very impressed. Would certainly recommend this hotel & it's only a short walk to the tram stop & the clubs & bars.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We got a train to Edinburgh for a 2 night stay just after new year. The hotel is less than a five minute walk from the station. We checked in, staff were friendly and as we were early the receptionist agreed to mind our bags so we could go and get something to eat until we could check into our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abergele, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 1 night as we were watching Wales v Scotland at Murrayfield . We used the q park car pair as travelodge guests receive a discount . It was around a 5 minute brisk walk to the hotel from the car park. The hotel was a bargain at £22 a night. We paid an extra £10 to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Clean, recently refurbished rooms with great beds, inner glazing to reduce external noise to a minimum, free baggage storage prior to check-in and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. The only thing lacking was a drawer to put socks and pants, but at the pre-booked price, very tough to beat. Ridiculously convenient for Waverley Station and the rest of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mbro
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 1 night. So handy for everything 2 minute walk from Waverley train station. But beware DONT follow the walking instructions in Travelodge website, I took us down a dead end alley way with the hotel on the next level up above us so after 30 minutes of trying to find it we gave up walked back to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 15-17th Feb and was impressed by the level of service from the staff, really went out of their way to helpful. No facilities (bar, restaurant etc) as such but great location (couple of minutes walk from Waverley) station and great price. Will stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really disappointed with the level of care from the Waterloo place hotel. I booked the hotel in June, I arrived on February 14th and they said that there had been a problem with our room and that many people had been double booked, No other explanation than that. I asked why and was simply told that I had to go... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Amy from the Social Media team at Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review. We are sorry to learn you had to be relocated and we understand the inconvenience that this may have caused you. We would like to investigate this further. Please visit our website and use the contact us form to provide your contact and booking details. More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First impression hotel looked clean and ideally located in Edinburgh with award winning Italian restaurant in walking distance and friendly Waterloo bar stone throw away beds comfy with fluffy pillows although room not throughly cleaned. Ideal for stay for Rugby union. We travelled as a group and had last rooms available booked well in advance. Rooms basic but clean dusty... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Amy from the Social Media team at Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. While it is great to hear you found the hotel in an ideal location, we are truly sorry to learn of the problems you had with your room and with our staff. We pride ourselves on delivering rooms up to great standards and that our staff providing a fantastic service. We would like to be... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 3 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Calton Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel Scotland

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay