We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 147 Edinburgh hotels

Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland (Calton Hill)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel to your Saves list
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
75%
Ranked #107 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Lizzie590
  • Reviews (57)
  • Photos (9)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (13)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    27
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
19
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked this hotel not really knowing where the main attractions were in Edinburgh but were very pleased to find it was right in the centre right near all the shops and attractions. Although it is right in the centre it is at the top of princes road so not too noisy. We parked in the omni centre which is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

reception lady - awful attitude and looked at me like I was nuts when I asked if there was another room we could have as the one we had been given stunk with a wet shower curtain un fresh smell. There were mucky hand prints up the walls so god knows what had been going on there to get them... More

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Kate G. We do not expect our staff to be rude but to be friendly, welcoming and offer assistance at all times so it is regrettable to learn that you did not receive a high level of customer service during your stay. Furthermore, we require all our rooms to be cleaned to a high standard... More

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at Waterloo Place in Edinburgh and found the Travelodge a very pleasant experience. The room was comfy and well decorated. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and location was great.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Travelodge offers excellent value for money. We booked our room late for a quick overnight stay in Edinburgh city centre. We paid just over 50 pounds for the room which is fantastic for the location. We couldn't have been more central for all amenities. The room was basic but very comfortable and extremely clean. Would definitely use this hotel again.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here last summer with my then boyfriend and was pleasantly surprised as this was my first stay in a Travelodge hotel! The staff were absolutely lovely and nothing was too much trouble for them. I will warn that the walls can be thin as we stayed opposite a group of boys who were having some form of band... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family stayed here 3 nights while in Edinburgh. Clean comfortable rooms. We were pleasantly suprised and would stay here again.(Keep in mind you get what you pay for.) No A/C so the rooms were a tad warm and stuffy at times. NO bedbugs!!! Great value for the price we paid. Very convient location. I would recommend the Snax Cafe... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lubbock, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My mother and I stayed in 3 rooms in this hotel over a period of 2 weeks (between short trips out of city). The guys at the front desk were always nice. This hotel was close to just about everything - one could walk to castle, palace, restaurants, royal mile, whatever. It felt safe. We had one window that looked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Small room but very comfortable. Excellent Location for central Edinburgh. Good Italian for cooked breakfast next door. Police cars howling past were a bit noisy in the night as the window was open - but hey ho, what the heck

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived past midnight following a wedding down in Edinburgh outskirts. We were informed of lack of parking facility in this Travelodge outlet prior to our arrival but we decided the location was ideal for our short weekend itenary. The closest parking facility is the St James Shopping Centre parking spaces, which is open 24 hours. However, on the website,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Brilliant location right at the end of Princes St, close to Waverley Station and all the attractions like the castle and Arthur's Seat. The room was a good size, the big bed very comfortable, and the bathroom small but clean and functional. But Travelodge's are a bit soulless and this one was no different. Nothing in the way of decor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel

Address: 3 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3BG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Calton Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel Scotland

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
34

See which rooms travelers prefer