We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Four Sisters Boatel

Certificate of Excellence
Lochrin Basin | Union Canal, Fountainbridge, Edinburgh EH3 9NY, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Four Sisters Boatel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Four Sisters Boatel
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    12
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (37)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

We spent one night aboard and it was great. Lovely and warm , easy to use heating . Great wifi connection. The pictures on the sight might make you think it would be noisy but only zizzi is open, the bars are all closed so despite being on a busy walking route we had a very quiet and undisturbed night.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

Felt I needed to write this review after a 2 night stay as we were really disappointed with the stay,so much so we were out and hitting the pub 30 mins after check in.when we arrived there was a guy leaving with a dog which had obviously been on the boat as we could smell it(or so we thought at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
skippercam, Owner at The Four Sisters Boatel, responded to this review

Madam, upon booking I could tell immediately you were going to be difficult to please. And when you arrived with your lack of communication and facial expression I was conscious you already had decided you were not going to enjoy your stay. You will notice another review posted in the same day as this one saying completely the opposite to... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

Lovely barge, in a great location. Had a really nice weekend break at the 4 Sister's, its so different! So well equipped for a relaxing self catering break in the heart of Edinburgh. The owners are really accommodating and there is obviously so much to do within walking distance or a short taxi/drive. Beautiful, serene, peaceful :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Had a great night Excellent facilities Everything you need Met on arrival and the owners daughter was very helpful and friendly Would recommend this to anybody that wants a centre location Would like to revisit soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

We had a great night in January on that boat. The owner was waiting for us, as was arranged . she is a lovely girl. The place was cozy and ready for us to use. Very close to tesco and restaurants, but you will find more then you think necessarily staff on the boat. Will come back there with my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

This was an ideal location in Central Edinburgh in a quiet area. The boat was equipped with everything you could need including a powerful shower and a well stocked kitchen. It wouldn't be for anyone with mobility issues due to the steep steps into the boat but beds were comfortable and central heating was very effective. It was a nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

We just had a Sunday night stay at the Four Sisters Boatel and loved it. Even in December. There was even a christmas tree up for us and the lights on and it looked so warm and inviting when we arrived. The owner is lovely plesant girl who was very informative and set us straight on where everything was that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Unusual choice of hotel accommodation but really fantastic! Friendly, helpful owner. Luxury place to stay in heart of Edinburgh. Had a great time with three friends. Will definitely book again. Everything you need was provided, even had a Christmas tree and a poinsettias plant, very festive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newport-on-Tay, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

This is a superb location in a quiet safe area within walking distance to Princes Street. Cafes and restaurants around the corner and supermarkets too. Your every need is catered for, clean, comfortable and cosy. We stayed 2 nights and would happily stay again. This experience is a must to try, very highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We stayed as a group of four adults and two kids for rugby/shopping weekend. Excellent location within walking distance of the Old Town, Princes Street and Murrayfield. The boat is full of character plus it's equipped and serviced to a high standard. There is a Tesco Express round the corner and I can recommend Loudens Cafe for breakfast. Zizzis is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in West End

Neighborhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighborhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theaters and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay