We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 168 Edinburgh accommodations

Merchiston Residence

4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   4 Merchiston Avenue, Edinburgh EH10 4NX, Scotland
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Merchiston Residence

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Agoda.com Travelocity
and 7 more sites!
99%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014
H0llyE88 London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
31
10
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The Merchiston Residence is perfect for a short break in Edinburgh. Set in a beautiful building with a huge winding staircase, first impressions are something. Apartment was lovely and the one bed was easily big enough for 4 girls (there is a sofabed). There is no reception but you have everything you could possibly need already provided in the room;... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting this lovely review. Its great to hear you all enjoyed your stay and all the apartment has to offer. I expect after the less than exciting rugby, it was great to have Merchiston to head back to! I hope we see you back again soon. More

New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This review is long, long overdue! My colleagues, sister and I stayed at the Merchiston Residence for three weeks last summer to participate in and attend the Edinburgh Fringe. We were a large party of people staying in the two bedroom apartments and yet we felt very well taken care of. Fiona and Julie could not have been nicer or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review

Well it may be long overdue, but it is really appreciated that you took the time to post your review. We were delighted that your accommodation was a success given that you were working so hard in the festival every day. I do hope we will see you back again and good luck with the writing and acting! More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed from Friday night to Tuesday and had a wonderful time! The apartments are in a nice area and very close to it all (without being too close). It's about a 20-30 min walk into the main town but the bus stop is around the corner so after the 1st day of A LOT of walking we thought better... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review

Hello there, thank you for taking the time to post this lovely and informative review. It sounds like you made the most of your visit and really got to explore Edinburgh, not just the town centre. It is also good to hear that you enjoyed our DVD selection and managed to have a chilled evening on the sofa, definitely one... More

North East England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had tickets to see The Lunineers at The Corn Exchange and didn't want to stay in a hotel. These apartments are wonderful; warm, comfortable and blending modern functionality with original features. We decided to walk in to the city centre, a very leisurely 45 minutes, all downhill and stopping to explore some interesting shops on the way. Taxi back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review

Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your conference. Well done for walking into town, it's lovely to see all the independent shops and of course The Meadows on the way. Thank you for your lovely review and we hope to welcome you back soon. More

staffordshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Excellent is all I can say. Spotlessly clean, lovely and warm, extremely comfortable and really convenient for the city centre. Far better than a hotel room and for the same price. Wouldn't hesitate to book an apartment again.Taxis and buses are really plentiful and cheap. So quiet and safe area. Just book it !!!!! You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate you sharing your experiences. It sounds like you had a lovely time and took full advantage of our location. I hope we will see you back again soon. More

Cork, Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We booked our stay here just a few days before leaving for Edinburgh from Cork, Ireland. The reason we chose the apartment was due to the cost being about the same compared to a Bed & Breakfast and cheaper then any hotel stay for our trip there. I am so glad we booked it too! It was well worth the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review

Thank you, so much, for taking the time to post such a lovely review, it sounds like you had a great time and made the most of your time in Edinburgh and the surrounds. Not many visitors make it to Cramond, which is very pretty! We look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon. More

Hertfordshire, England
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We have just stayed here for a couple of nights in apartment 6 for my husband's birthday and because he used to live in the 'two rooms' ( one now) as a student so we were excited to see what it was like-love the design of the room, had a lovely welcome on arrival and were left with chocolates and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Your husband must have found some difference since his time staying there, but his local knowledge would have meant you knew all the good places to go! Its also great to hear that you noticed our housekeeping standards, I will pass your comments onto the team. We hope to see you back... More

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is a great place to stay - all the benefits of a hotel suite with the privacy of your own flat. The location is perfect, close to the city centre but a couple of minutes from the main road so very quiet at night. There are groceries round the corner and lots of tempting restaurants, cafes and bars within... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found lots of things to do. There are so many lovely restaurants close by that we are spoiled for choice. I hope we get to welcome you back soon. More

Droitwich
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Not a lot more I can say that I haven't written in previous years other than the rating this accomodation gets is no surprise to me. Truly excellent and great value. stayed in the basement rooms this time, no issues with bookings, early arrival later entry tot he property. This is an ideal site from which to visit Edinburgh

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review

Hello there. Thanks for posting another lovely review, we are get to hear that we keep meeting your expectations and we look forward to seeing you back soon! Thanks again. More

Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We are into our 4th day if a 6 day stay at the apartment. We have absolutely loved it. There has been no complaints. Room service is awesome. Furnishings are beautiful and everything you need is provided. A grocery store and coffee shop is 2 mins away as is the bus stop. A 10 minute ride from tranquility to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review

Hello there Thank you for taking the time to post such lovely comments about Merchiston Residence, it's great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Thanks also for your feedback, all of which is appreciated. For your next trip, we have maps for guests by the front door, I will check when I am there later that there are... More

Been to Merchiston Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchiston Residence

Also Known As:
Merchiston Residence Hotel
Merchiston Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Merchiston Residence Edinburgh, Scotland
Address: 4 Merchiston Avenue, Edinburgh EH10 4NX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 168 Specialty lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchiston Residence 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand Victorian property of 8 luxury serviced apartments set in the cosmopolitan district of Merchiston where visitors are now offered an unrivalled home from home experience. The sumptuous interiors at Merchiston Residence are contemporary and bespoke, exuding sophisticated elegance. Merchiston Residence is a minute’s walk from the fashionable area of Bruntsfield which is home to designer boutique shopping and a myriad of independent eateries, and is a 15-20 minute walk or 5 minute bus or taxi ride into the city centre and the surrounding landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Merchiston Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merchiston Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Merchiston Residence to your Saves list