We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 439 Edinburgh B&Bs / inns

Blossom House

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   8 Minto Street, Edinburgh EH9 1RG, Scotland (South Side)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Blossom House to your Saves list
Blossom House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com Travelocity
and 9 more sites!
70%
Ranked #210 of 439 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014
Alistair F Scottish Borders
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    19
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
8
13
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottish Borders
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Very comfortable, just the job for our overnight stay after the rugby International. Convenient for bus routes into town. Room was cosy and warming. Hosts very welcoming. Certainly would consider using again.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

After a night in Bruges, I went up to Edinburgh for two nights to visit friends. Blossom House was only around the corner from their place. I arrived late but because I had paid for my room beforehand, check in was straight forward and simple. When the lady answered the door she knew who I was and welcomed me with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I spent a couple of days at Edinburgh and stayed a couple of days at this guest house. Seeing the bad reviews, I was a little apprehensive, but since I liked the location and the price, I decided to go for it. And it was not a bad decision. The location couldn't be better. It is 6 stops away from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I was disappointed that on arrival I was checked into a room that had a separate toilet. I had booked an en-suite room and at no point was i advised an en-suite would not be available. If I had been aware en-suites were not available I probably would not have booked the room. During my stay I also noticed several... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghBlossom, Manager at Blossom House, responded to this review

Dear Dianne, Although your booking was for a single room we offered a larger double room with en-suite shower and private (but not en-suite) toilet. You stayed with us for four days, during which at no point did you express any dissatisfaction with your room or our service. We would have happily changed your room for you if you had... More

Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I have sent friends to stay at the Blossom House and I can report here that they enjoyed every minute of their stay. They said the staff were friendly and made them felt at home, the rooms were comfortable and well decorated. They really enjoyed the atomsphere and they will recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghBlossom, Manager at Blossom House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased your friends enjoyed their stay and look forward to seeing them again. Kind Regards, Kay More

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I work in edinburgh two days a week and booked into this guest house at the beginning of October for the first time. The service is friendly, the rooms are clean and the cooked breakfast is very good, all round nice place to stay. I have booked in here every week since and don't intend moving would thoroughly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghBlossom, Guest Relations Manager at Blossom House, responded to this review

Hello David, It is a pleasure accommodating you two days of the week while you are on business in Edinburgh. We certainly look forward to welcoming your family too, when they join you on your next stay over the rugby weekend. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable. Kind Regards,... More

Cork, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed here on 14th October for two nights then stayed again for one night the following week. I was greeted by a charming young lady and her 3 years old daughter. The reception smelt of shake n vac. I was given my key and shown to my room. Now, you want to be fairly fit if your room is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghBlossom, Manager at Blossom House, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate it and will look to improving our service for our guests. We look forward to seeing you on your next business trip. Kind Regards, Kay More

London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Absolutely enjoyed my stay in Edinburgh. Lovely city and lovely people. This was further amplified by having a brilliant time at the Blossom GH. Accommodation was very swish and the staff bent backwards to make me feel more comfortable. Thanks guys! Nathan ;)

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghBlossom, Guest Relations Manager at Blossom House, responded to this review

Dear Nathan, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh. It is a beautiful city with so much to offer visitors. Thank you for your comments and hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Khadija More

Saltburn-by-the-sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Booked the stay online for 3 nights and was very clearly informed that no payment would be taken off the card, and that payment could be made at either check-in or check-out. (sTILL HAVE THE PRINTED CONTRACT) The girlfriend booked the stay on this basis, using her card to 'hold the room' only as we were paying by cash when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghBlossom, Manager at Blossom House, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our aim is to ensure our guests feel at home not only in our guest house but also in our beautiful city. However your review is not very accurate. Your card was indeed charged on the day of arrival to confirm it was valid. This was to... More

Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, nice friendly people, very obliging, room comfortable and clean,good bus service into town, a quiet house, only downfall was breakfast, the full English was poor no bacon only horrible sausage what there was were very small portion

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to Blossom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blossom House

Also Known As:
Blossom House Edinburgh, Scotland
Address: 8 Minto Street, Edinburgh EH9 1RG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Side
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 439 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blossom House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Blossom House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blossom House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.