We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 441 Edinburgh B&Bs / inns

Blossom House

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   8 Minto Street, Edinburgh EH9 1RG, Scotland (South Side)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Blossom House to your Saves list
Blossom House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
68%
Ranked #235 of 441 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Jose' d Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (58)
  • Photos (11)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (10)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    21
    7
    9
    4
See reviews for
9
17
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have just spent two days at this B&B. The welcome we received was perfunctory, not warm at all. When you enter the premises you are faced with a number of doors and then the rather steep circular stairs. of course there is no lift so if you have difficulty with stairs, this is a place to avoid. Over the two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stoney Creek, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not sure what warm welcome everyone here was talking about. We got a somewhat awkward welcome and were asked to pay for our 2 nights immediately. The credit card machine wasn’t working so we were told we could try the next day. The next day while eating our breakfast we were reminded about the payment and were asked if we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a lovely place with tastefully decorated well serviced rooms. Its run by Mohamed and Kay, who are well seasoned in the trade, who were personable but professional; always responsive and helpfull. I stayed there for a few weeks and the rooms were always clean, breakfast always good as was Mohamed's courtesy and smile. I enjoyed being there and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EdinburghBlossom, Owner at Blossom House, responded to this review

Hi Jose, It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We got used to you in room 8. We hope to see you again. More

Crete, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed in Blossom House during our first visit to Scotland last month. It is a small cosy place with a warm welcome. The hosts went out of their way to assist us. The rooms were lovely and clean. Our room had a view to Arthur's Seat, an extinct volcano. It is not a fancy hotel but a place where... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Not only did we have a great stay @ Blossom, Kay there helped me a great deal. When my son forgot his ipad & we realised it half way up to Fort William, she shipped it to us.. Very helpful people... The location is a walking distance to the castle, station & the town centre..the bus stop is just outside... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My wife, daughter and I stayed this lovely guest house, we really enjoyed our stay at this fantastic guest house. It has everything you need to spend a very comfortable and enjoyable holiday. Really spacious, clean and bright. Great made to order breakfast included. Very good and handy location with parking, very well connected by bus. I would definiteley recommend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scottish Borders
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Very comfortable, just the job for our overnight stay after the rugby International. Convenient for bus routes into town. Room was cosy and warming. Hosts very welcoming. Certainly would consider using again.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

After a night in Bruges, I went up to Edinburgh for two nights to visit friends. Blossom House was only around the corner from their place. I arrived late but because I had paid for my room beforehand, check in was straight forward and simple. When the lady answered the door she knew who I was and welcomed me with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I spent a couple of days at Edinburgh and stayed a couple of days at this guest house. Seeing the bad reviews, I was a little apprehensive, but since I liked the location and the price, I decided to go for it. And it was not a bad decision. The location couldn't be better. It is 6 stops away from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I was disappointed that on arrival I was checked into a room that had a separate toilet. I had booked an en-suite room and at no point was i advised an en-suite would not be available. If I had been aware en-suites were not available I probably would not have booked the room. During my stay I also noticed several... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EdinburghBlossom, Manager at Blossom House, responded to this review

Dear Dianne, Although your booking was for a single room we offered a larger double room with en-suite shower and private (but not en-suite) toilet. You stayed with us for four days, during which at no point did you express any dissatisfaction with your room or our service. We would have happily changed your room for you if you had... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Blossom House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Blossom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blossom House

Address: 8 Minto Street, Edinburgh EH9 1RG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blossom House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, HostelBookers, HotelsClick, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Blossom House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blossom House Edinburgh, Scotland

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Amenities

Free Parking
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
2

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer