We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

5.0 of 5 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Click for phone number
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,196
    370
    126
    30
    24
See reviews for
162
959
69
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1746)
  • Mar-May only
    (443)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (453)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (467)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (383)
All months
new york
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights while visiting Edinburgh. We found this to be a terrific hotel! It is 1/2 block off the Royal mile. The staff is friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and clean, as was the bathroom. No problem getting internet. Lovely coffee machine with tea, coffee, and cookies replaced every day. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We just had a 5-night stay with G&V in Oct 14. The room was spacious, even with a playpen, we had adequate room for luggage and space to walk around. The bathroom had a rain shower and shower head. Toiletries were locally produced and nice to use. The colour schemes used by the hotel were bold and distinctive, a welcome... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Athens
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Excellent, central location, impeccable aesthetics and fantastic service - down to the electricity adaptor already provided in the room for overseas visitors, and also the Nespresso coffee-maker in the room, for that moment when you can really use an espresso. One would have to search really hard to find a fault for this hotel, and it would still be impossible.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
95 hotel reviews
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I thought this was a nice, well-located boutique hotel (it wasn't booked by me and I arrived at night) until I was informed otherwise. Personally, I wouldn't classify it as a five star hotel. The amenities, service, etc. would need to be at a higher level in order for it to be a true five star hotel. The room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Constantlyontheroad, Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us at G&V Hotel and leaving your comments on Tripadvisor. We value all the feedback and I appreciate you taking the time to do this. I am really sorry to hear that the stay didn't meet your expectations and that the stay left you with the bitter taste... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It combines an old town surrounding area and a contemporary hotel .... fabulous staff, I do recommend it to every one , the Edinburgh Castle next door.lovely old town GYM 24 hours, but it is tiny though.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear MrAlSalem, We really appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience. Guest feedback is so important to the success of our business so that we can continue to provide the very best service to everyone who walks through our doors. I am so pleased to read that you were so well looked after by our team and... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great experience Good service Confortable room the top is the warm floor in the toilet great shover missing the ligth therapy sistem in it Al rest very very good All the ladys at the reception very good

Was this review helpful? Yes
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Marco, Thank you for your stunning 5 star review following your stay and many congratulations again on your anniversary. I am so pleased you chose to stay with us for your special trip to Edinburgh. We hope to welcome you back to the G&V Royal Mile Hotel sometime soon, Kind regards, James Archer Guest Services Manager More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is styled with lots of bright colours and acrylic looking furniture. Due to this and lack of furnishings any noise seems to be amplified. The gym is not worth visiting and unless you want to swim I wouldn't recommend making the trip to the radisson. (As the gym there is also not very good). I went to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Michael C, Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your feedback after your stay in Edinburgh. I am sorry to hear that you were, overall, not 100% impressed with your experience. We strive to provide professional, friendly and unique 5 star services, however it is disappointing to learn that you felt we fell short of your... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was travelling on business to Edinburgh and was booked into the Indigo. On arriving at the Indigo the lift was broken to enter the hotel. As a wheelchair user I was stranded. The Indigo manager rang round and booked us into the G&V. The hotel is in a great location. The vibe is very modern, very Malmaison. It has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Hovitez1979, Thank you for taking the time to inform us, and other Tripadvisor users, of your experience in Edinburgh. We were delighted to welcome you to G&V after learning that Hotel Indigo were unable to accommodate your reservation. I have made a personal note of your feedback regarding your allocated room and will make sure that your comments are... More

spring tx
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was pleasantly surprised at this hotel. I've read the reviews and this was a last minute booking. Edinburgh is marvelous, once you step out of the train station. Take a taxi to the hotel, it’s less than 5 GBP.. the steps and hills will kill you if you have luggage( great tip from another traveler). The hotel is situated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear mtaylor4, Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your last minute booking and for your kind words about the location and design of the hotel. I am however sorry to read that you had a disappointing experience at Cucina. Needless to say, I have made personal sure that you feedback has been shared with the team. If... More

Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Professional and friendly staff who are very responsive to guest's needs (for example an iron/ ironing board and extra pillows were delivered within 5 minutes of the request being made). Breakfast choice and quality were excellent even if we did have to put spectacles on to examine the jam/ marmalade carefully to understand the flavours as all the information was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James A, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Alan L, Thank you very much for your review. I am so pleased you had such a great time with us in Edinburgh. Please do not hesitate to get in touch with me if you are planning a return trip. We would all be delighted to welcome you back and thank you personally for your kind words online, Kind... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Otel, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

556 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (528)
Viewed
Room/suite (196)
Viewed
View from room (36)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (69)
Viewed
4:18
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (144)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay