We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Princes Street Suites at 16 Waterloo Place

Certificate of Excellence
16 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3EG, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Princes Street Suites at 16 Waterloo Place
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #21 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
JimCatriona clydebank
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    143
    59
    12
    10
See reviews for
160
135
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (516)
  • Mar-May only
    (150)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (110)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (139)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (117)
All months
clydebank
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We rented a two bedroom apartment from Wednesday the 15th to Friday the 17th of April and could not fault the accommodation or the location or the value for money. The staff were friendly and efficient and we were checked in early. The apartment was clean and comfortable. (sofa was needing replaced or cleaned) .Tea & coffee provided but no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was honestly the best accommodation I have ever had on any trip world wide. We rented a 3 bedroom apartment for our family of 5, girls aged 5, 6, and 9 from Louisiana. We will return to Edinburgh again one day and will absolutely stay here again. Stunning Views and a beautifully decorated apartment. Everything about it was perfect!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here as part of a group on 4 April, in total we had 4 x 2 bed apartments. Everyone thought the standard of accommodation was great, the apartments were all extremely spacious and Nicely furnished. The location is great, walking distance to most attractions and very near to nightlife but in a quiet location. Liked the teabags etc in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in Apt 24 with our daughter for one night. Sure, there were a few minor marks here and there, the sofa was showing its age etc. but these would be gripes. At the price, I couldn't find fault. Arrived early (around midday) but staff were able to check us in quickly and pleasantly. The apartment was surprisingly spacious and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lake District
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here with extended family (ages 14-64yrs) in 2x3 bed appts which cost 500 pounds each for 2 nights. Good points: Location is great, a short walk from Waverly station. Staff friendly and helpful. Good views from our apartment and spacious. Bad points: Very tired and shabby furnishings, broken blind, broken window, stains on sofa and rug, bed very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 2 nights in April, and had the whole of Edinburgh's accommodation not been full due to the Easter weekend, we would have left straight away. The carpets and sofa were dirty, the bed skirt was filthy with scuff marks and dirt, the curtains in my bedroom did not fully cover the window; there was evidence of other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The two bedroom apartment we stayed in over the Easter break was very over priced. Two nights set us back over 500 pounds! The lounge was cramped and all the furniture had seen better days. The lights over the dining table were not working. The rug was dirty and stained. There was only one bathroom which was clean and serviceable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites at 16 Waterloo Place, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us . I am delighted to read that you were happy with the service provided and the team's attitude . I will certainly pass on your lovely comments to them. I was equally sad to read that you were disappointed with the overall standard of the apartment and thought I... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So disappointed! Dirty, vomit stained carpets, chipped everything and giant hair balls...stayed three years ago and loved it ;( very sad. Hubby, kids (age 1.5 yrs and 4) and my elderly Dad all returned home. Poor young receptionist was left to deal with everything. She was lovely and polite and seemed embarrassed by the photos I showed her of how... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites at 16 Waterloo Place, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting a review on your recent stay with us . I am obviously disappointed to hear that you have not enjoyed the experience . I understand that you only stayed minutes in the apartment and made a very quick judgment regarding the overall standard - which is a shame . I am fully aware that... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed at the princes Street suites for one night in a 1 bedroom apartment. The hotel itself is in a good location within walking distance of all amenities and the apartments are incredibly spacious. However there were a number of areas we just were not happy with. On arrival there was a lady in front of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites at 16 Waterloo Place, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience with fellow TA readers . I am sorry to hear that the standard of the property and service did not match with your expectations . I was even more disappointed to read that you felt that you were treated differently because of your booking being made through... More 

jackiexbx
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

These apartments are amazing, we could not believe how big they were.We stayed in a three bedroom apartment and it was really spacious one of he bedrooms even had an en suite. They are located right in the heart of Edinburgh near princes street and close to St James shopping centre, they station is literally two mins away as well.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites at 16 Waterloo Place, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments . I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed the space and the location of the apartments and hope that we will soon have the pleasure to welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites . In the meantime, may I take this opportunity to wish you a happy Easter . Sandrine More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

238 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (232)
Viewed
Room/suite (81)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
1:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighborhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighborhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicenter Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question