We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Princes Street Suites

Certificate of Excellence
16 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3EG, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Princes Street Suites
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

553 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    310
    158
    61
    14
    10
See reviews for
182
140
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (553)
  • Mar-May only
    (164)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (133)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (139)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (117)
All months
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

August is festival month in Edinburgh . It is so festive because it celebrates art, music, plays, comedies and eateries. This is the best month to visit despite the crowds. A good reason is also the Royal Edinburgh Military Tatoo that shows only from August 1-31. This is a once in a lifetime must see.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hoover, Alabama
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 3 nights at the Princes Street Suites. The Hotel is located just off the Royal Mile next to the train station. Easy walk to both new and old town. We had a 3 bedroom apartment which was great for our family of 5. VERY spacious. It had a great room with dining and a nice size kitchen. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review

Dear rbd4237, Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to read that you and your family were able to enjoy our spacious apartments and also found it a suitable base for your stay in Edinburgh. Our rooftop terrace is one of a kind and as you say, the perfect spot to watch... More 

northumberland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved these apartments there wow factor ! plus u right next to train station and all shops and pubs . The staff are all friendly and so helpful . I would recommend this place I would go back again onetime defo

Was this review helpful? Yes
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review

Dear Louisef, Thank you for taking the time to pass on your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you loved the apartments and our location and will certainly share your kind words with the team. Look forward to welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites in the future. Kind regards, Fiona Mackenzie General Manager More 

Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our family of 6 spread out in the 3 bedroom, 2 bath penthouse apt. It was a welcome break from the cramped UK hotel rooms. 24 hr reception staff was always helpful, building had security entrance. The washer/dryer combo unit in the apartment was nice, but it took forever to dry small loads of clothes. The kitchen had service for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review

Dear MNmom535, Thank you for such a glowing review of your time spent with us. I am delighted that you and your family were able to enjoy the apartments and our proximity to all of Edinburgh's attractions. I am sorry if you were disturbed by any external noise from next to the apartments. Unfortunately this is outwith our control and... More 

Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
213 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The apartment we were in was large and roomy. The apartment staff were very knowledgeable. I would definitely stay here again. The only negative was the dryer not working and we were counting on this to clean and dry our clothes mid-trip. This caused lots of problems and I had to keep getting up in the middle of the night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review

Dear researchtraveler2010, Thank you for passing on your comments regarding your recent stay. I am glad you found the apartment to be spacious enough for your needs and will certainly pass on your kind words to the team. I'm sorry the dryer was not working in your apartment. We were waiting for a part for it which took longer to... More 

Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just stayed for three nights at the Princes Street suites. We booked a two bedroom apartment which was huge and very comfortable with all the amenities. Fabulous location at one end of Princess street next to Waverly station very convenient for outstation guests and close to all major attractions. Staff is friendly and the front reception desk was especially friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review

Dear Shafisaira, Thank you for such a kind review of your recent stay with us! Our apartments are indeed very spacious and fully equipped so i am delighted to read that you were able to enjoy the facilities we provide as well as our excellent location! I will certainly pass on your kind words to the rest of team and... More 

Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are looking foe a bit of style and comfort then you have come to the right place. Although these apartments are quite expensive you can manage a wee bargain depending what time of year and nights you are looking for. These apartments are massive ,very modern , clean and very comfortable so much so you won't want to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review

Dear Jimmystiv, Thank you for taking the time to provide such a kind review! I am delighted that you were able to enjoy the space and comfort we provide in the apartments. Our location does mean that we are within walking distance to all the attractions Edinburgh has to offer so i hope you were able to tear yourself away... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A bit expensive but we had a one bedroom apartment which was huge. Quiet and clean, great location, walking distance to most attractions. Staff very friendly. Washer and dryer in apartment. Would definitely pay the extra to stay again. The rooftop terrace was amazing for some great city and scenic shots.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review

Dear Heidi M, Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were able to appreciate our fantastic location and spacious apartments. Our roof top terrace is one of a kind and i'm glad you were able to enjoy it. Thank you again for your kind review. I... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

These apartments are superb ! We had to use 2 as it was a very last minute booking due to our original ones being awful & had no choice but to move These guys saved our holiday ! We spent first night in the Penthouse & 2nd in 3 bedroom both were amazing everything you could want in a holiday... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review

Dear Sarah B, Thank you for taking the time to pass on your thoughts about your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time here and that you found our apartments to be everything you needed. We do have a variety of apartment sizes, so on your next visit please do let us know which works... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

We stayed at this property a few days ago. As a family of 5 adults, we booked a 3 Bedroom apartment on the top floor and it was extremely spacious and clean!! That was the first impression we all got. Positives - proximity to Waverley Station. I mean they are all but inside the station!! - proximity to North Bridge,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review

Dear snapper1982, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted that yourself and your family enjoyed your time at Princes Street Suites and were able to experience all the facilities we offer in our apartments, as well as our enviable location in the City Centre. Unfortunately due to this location, we do... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

671 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (246)
Viewed
Room/suite (86)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
1:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (84)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (419)
Viewed
Apartment (235)
Viewed
The Hotel (184)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#23 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 3,020 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#52 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#71 of 146 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 190 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighborhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighborhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicenter Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay