We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel du Vin & Bistro

11 Bristo Place, Edinburgh EH1 1EZ , Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
What travelers say:
Royal mile
(9)
Friendly and helpful
(3)
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    212
    72
    33
    5
See reviews for
52
363
27
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (613)
  • Mar-May only
    (157)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (168)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (141)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (147)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend and I have to say the service was outstanding. We were made to feel very special during our stay and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Booked for a meal one of the nights, which was beautiful. We had a beautiful wine which was recommended to compliment our meal. The room was lovely too.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Gazlinz Thank you for your positive review following your stay at Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. It was wonderful to hear that your stay was faultless and we will be able to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Gillian More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a fantastic hotel, hidden away and a great conversion of an old building. Stayed for one night, all the staff we encountered were so nice and helpful! We stayed in a room overlooking the courtyard, really comfy bed and and amazing shower, very clean and tidy. We ate in the restaurant for dinner - steak was cooked to perfection... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Lukey-77 Thank you for your review of Hotel du Vin Edinburgh, the hidden gem of the city! It's fantastic that you managed to enjoy a meal in the bistro and make the most of our monsoon shower to start the day. We do hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Gillian More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have been here a few times and never had any issues, not so great this time! Order taken swiftly but then waited 40 minutes for our plates to be cleared by the sommelier who then brought the dessert menus! Not sure where the waiting staff had disappeared to as the restaurant wasn't full. When we did eventually pay, we mentioned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear KirstyC26 Thank you for your constructive review following your recent visit to HdV Edinburgh. I am grateful to you for providing me with the feedback to follow up with the team and can only apologise that this experience was not as enjoyable as past visits. I do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us throughout the... More 

N Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a one night stay for work. This is a great hotel, comfortable, clean and modern. The sleep quality was good, and breakfast eggs benedict hit the spot! The real asset was the excellent service by the staff here, they do go the extra mile.......Loved the decor, unusual pieces and interesting. Good wifi. I would stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear MandyNIreland Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. It was fantastic to read that youe enjoyed your stay and the team went the extra mile to ensure you had an enjoyable visit. We hope to see you back at Hotel du Vin when next in Edinburgh. Kind Regards Gillian More 

bangladesh
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The first thing to note is that there is no parking at this hotel. You have to park on a yellow line in a busy one way street opposite a busy bus stop. The reception is well inside the hotel so you risk being towed when you go in. The reception come out to help with you bags and direct... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear RichardMiles Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay or like the conversion of the hotel from an asylum. Although our standard rooms offer showers over the bath we do have larger superior rooms or suites that would allow more space and... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for two nights as an Easter special offer. The hotel is situated in the old town, right next to the National Museum and about 5 mins walk from the Royal Mile & Castle. Our room was very large, and although the bathroom was fairly tight the shower was amazing and made up for it. To be fair, if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear jimmyur Thank you for your constructive feedback following your recent visit to Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. It was disappointing to read that the stay wasn't perfect, but I am delighted that there were certain aspects you enjoyed. I hope we may be able to welcome you back in the future to see improvements we make following the feedback we... More 

London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location, very comfortable & helpful staff. Interesting choices for a cooked breakfast. In the evening a broad choice of well presented dishes. People take care here to deliver a quality service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Tobasco44 Thank you for your positive review, it was fantastic that you enjoyed your stay so much at Hotel du Vin. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards Gillian More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a long weekend to visit beautiful Edinburgh. We booked the Hotel du Vin because I have been in a couple of them before and they always deliver. This time they did not disappointed. The staff was warm and welcoming, polite and efficient. Our room, suites were fully booked so we have a superior room, was very spacious, with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear soniaycarolina Thank you for your fantastic review of HdV Edinburgh, I was delighted to read that we lived up to expectations and you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. I am glad that you were made to feel welcome and found it to be excellent value. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind Regards... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have family in Edinburgh and so often go up and stay with them, however on this occasion I decided to make it more of a treat for my girlfriend and I so we decided to stay at the HdV. We had stayed in the Bristol one before and enjoyed it so knew we couldn't go wrong. We didn't spend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Nick F Thank you for your positive review after staying at Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. It was great to read that you enjoyed your short visit to the city and we do hope that you may get to spend longer enjoying the hotel in the future. Kind Regards Gillian More 

Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First of all, who can resist staying in a building that once housed the inmates of an 18th century asylum? Any place that combines luxury with its own unique history earns a place near the top of my list. And while Hotel du Vin in Edinburgh doesn't play up its past that much, it does provide a very comfortable place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Julie Ann M, Thank you for your wonderful review of Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. It was fantastic to read that you enjoyed your stay, making the most of the comfortable beds, monsoon showers and of course the staff made you feel welcome. I am grateful for you comments regarding improvements to make us even better and we do hope... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

524 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (125)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (29)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (388)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Dom Perignon Master Suite (82)
Viewed
La Grande Dame Suite (65)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (66)
Viewed
The Hotel (165)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Staying in Old Town

Neighborhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavored souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question