We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel du Vin & Bistro

11 Bristo Place, Edinburgh EH1 1EZ , Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Add Photo Write a Review

648 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    310
    223
    74
    35
    6
See reviews for
56
382
29
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (648)
  • Mar-May only
    (175)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (185)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (141)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (147)
All months
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed her for one night in June. Was intrigued by its history as an asylum and was looking forward to stay. Arrived before check-in time and asked if we could leave bag which was no problem, checked us in and kept bag until we returned later. When we returned we were shown to our room , our bag had already... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear madcat2000 Thank you for your constructive review following your stay at HdV Edinburgh. I am disappointed to read that the service experienced in the bistro was not of the usual high service you should expect at Hotel du Vin and can only apologise that this impacted your stay. Please trust that training is ongoing with the team to ensure... More 

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We dropped in after a long walk on a warm day. Restuarant is deceptive from the outside; there is a conservatory style seating at the back which looks out. An attentive waiter, good wine and well prepared food make for a great lunch. Good venue for family meet-ups as well!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear ashwini s Thank you for your review following your visit for lunch to Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. It's great to hear that you managed to enjoy a tasty lunch and wine to match after working up such an appetite. We hope to see you back in our bistro or trying al fresco dining in the courtyard soon. Kind Regards... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent a fantastic 3 nights at this hotel as a treat to ourselves. So glad we spent the extra and we were delighted to be given an upgrade too............This was an old Lunatic Asylum so is full of history. One of the Staff pointed out the original manacles , still attached to the old walls , that were used... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear TomLou2014 Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am delighted that you had such a fantastic time, not only staying and dining with us, but also enjoying the city of Edinburgh. I do hope we can welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards Gillian More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a standard room for 1 night. Welcome and check out service was very pleasant. The room on the other hand was disappointing as it was too small. You could not sit at the desk as the space between bed eand desk was too limited. The curtains did not block the daylight nor the street lights, Impossible to sleep. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Alfred B Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. It was disappointing to read that the design of the room was not to your taste and that you did not manage a restful night's sleep due to noise from the road. Due to the design of the hotel and it being a... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we booked a table for 6 people when we arrived we had a drink out in the courtyard and the waiter came right over and took our order and brought out the drink and told us to relax and enjoy our drink and he informed the restaurant we had arrived. When we arrived for the meal we were shown to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear DAVYC317 Thanks for your great review following a visit to Hotel du Vin & bistro Edinburgh. It's fantastic to hear you enjoyed an evening of good service, fine food and great wine whilst dining with us. We hope you remember to come and visit again on another trip to Edinburgh. Kind Regards Gillian More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I decided to visit Hotel du Vin whilst in Edinburgh as after a Google search it was the only place that I could find that had a cigar terrace. As I was going there anyway I decided to dine in the restaraunt, and I'm glad that I did. The service is excellent, absolutely 5 star. The staff are polite, friendly,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Mike_Saint_PTX Thank you for such a wonderful review. It's always good to hear that our non-residents enjoy the bistro and bar as much as guests of the hotel. As mentioned we are one of few places in the city to be lucky enough not only to have a humidor, but also a covered cigar bothy to enjoy your cigar... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good food, nice wine, lovely surroundings really great staff. Really good location if you are a visitor, just about city centre. I watched a young member of staff make an Irish coffee and he made a right pigs ear of it but it was checked and thrown away and he was shown the proper way to do it, I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Garym07 Thanks for your positive review after a recent visit to HdV Edinburgh. I am glad that you enjoyed your meal and also saw that standards are of extreme importance to us at Hotel du Vin. We do our upmost to deliver the best food, wine and Irish coffees on every occasion. I hope to welcome you back again... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I can't say enough about this hotel. Great location, beautiful room, lovely lounging areas. I booked last minute and got a great deal. Staff is amazing from front desk, to bartenders to the Bistro. Everything here is top notch. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Tanya B Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. It was fantastic to read that every part of your stay was enjoyable and all the staff hospitable. We hope to see you again soon in Edinburgh. Kind Regards Gillian More 

Sheffield
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here 1 night on business, couldn't get into the Scotsman which is my usual stay in Edinburgh. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Waverley, probably a nicer stay as a couple at the weekend. As a solo, female, business traveller it didn't have a great feel. Room was very dark and a bit depressing, no view, room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear NMSheffield Thank you for your review following your business stay at Hotel du Vin. I am disappointed that you wouldn't choose to stay with us again. Although some of our rooms have a darker ambience we do have many that have large windows allowing plenty of natural light into the room. If you simply request this on a return... More 

Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were in Edinburgh prior to a four day whisky tour around Islay. As my wife had received a £65 gift voucher from Hotel du Vin it was an obvious choice. The food was typically French. French Onion Soup,smoked salmon ,roasted cod and moules mariner. My wife found the roasted cod on puy lentils very good.We shared an enormous souffle.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Derek W Thanks for such a positive review after staying at Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, including the food and service within the bistro. I hope you enjoyed exploring Islay and discovering some of the fabulous Whiskys. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Gillian More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

524 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (125)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (29)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (388)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Dom Perignon Master Suite (82)
Viewed
La Grande Dame Suite (65)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (66)
Viewed
The Hotel (165)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Old Town

Neighborhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavored souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay