We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel du Vin & Bistro

11 Bristo Place, Edinburgh EH1 1EZ , Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

742 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My fiancée arranged my surprise Birthday celebrations here - WOW! We had private use of the Whiskey Snug before dining in the private room Bedlam. Bedlam has a very sumptuous and intimate feel and both the food and service was just brilliant. One of our guests commented the salmon was the best he had tasted and the chicken was just... More 

Helpful?
Thank tseli0t
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is situated on the upper part of the city ok if you want to walk into the City but beware it's a lot of uphill back, the rooms are good but need some TLC especially the bathrooms,the staff are very helpfull in all aspects,even down to be able to leave you luggage if you arrive early the same... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dissapointed300
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you Dissapointed300 for your review of HdV Edinburgh. I am glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay, we do have a regular maintenance programme in place so I was disppointed to read that you found the room to be in need of some work. I am happy to hear that we could assist with your luggage allowing... More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here with my fiance for one night. The car park is not far from the hotel, but for me wasn`t easy to find it. The hotel rooms has no room numbers, but every each of them has a name insted. That was a bit odd, but we liked it. The hotel classic-elegant and spotless. The location is great,... More 

Helpful?
Thank belendek
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you belendek for your great review of Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. It's fantastic to read that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel and your stay from the room names to the service received. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back on your next visit to Edinburgh. Kind Regards Gillian More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

£209 per night for a standard room as a treat for my fiancées birthday so you expect great things. Start with the positives. The reception staff and bar staff have been excellent and the communial areas are great but as soon as we got to the room it went downhill. Rooms are quite cramped especially the bathrooms. I could swear... More 

Helpful?
Thank DanielMcD
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear DanielMcD Thank you for your review of HdV Edinburgh. I am sorry to hear that this stay was not as enjoyable as expected. Our rooms all vary in shape and size depending on where they are located within the hotel, due to being a converted building. Whilst our standard rooms are smaller we do find them to be of... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Here for a 4 day city break. The reception team were very welcoming. The bistro team let them down, a dinner reservation was made on our arrival but getting to our table proved difficult. On arrival at our table the problem became apparent...the smallest table in the restaurant was tucked right in the back behind bigger tables. The inevitable happened...... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deb c
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you Deb C for your review of Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. Whilst it was lovely to hear that the reception team gave you a warm welcome to the hotel, it was disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your bistro experience. The bistro is filled with different sized tables and chairs, recreating the atmosphere of a typically French... More 

South Cave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is in a great location, clean, modern and full of potential but unfortunately the longer we stayed at the hotel the more disappointed we became. After we moved rooms due to a constant noise, we found that they became extremely hot on the first night and Windows to be locked. The staff were accommodating to our requests but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank katiedunn78
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear katiedunn78 Thank you for your review of your stay at Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. I am disaapointed that this stay was not the relaxing, enjoyable break that you were looking forward too and can only apologise that you were left disturbed throughout the evening. Our main bar, on the first floor, is never closed to our residents, however, you... More 

Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We took advantage of the Hotel du vin January offer of £99 per night including breakfast and dinner. We upgraded to a superior room which was nice with a big bathroom. The room had everything you could need with a good bed, TV with sky sports, tea and coffee facilities and a espresso machine. There were even robes and slippers.... More 

Helpful?
Thank mark h
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear mark h Many thanks for your positive review of HdV Edinburgh. It was fantastic to read that you managed to enjoy one of our promotional offers and that every aspect of your stay was enjoyable. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Gillian More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I took my mother for a treat after New Year and we had a lovely evening. The food was lovely, the chef made a dish especially for us, after seeing it on the online menu I asked if it would be available, and they were happy to prepare and serve it. I was glad to have asked as it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cacheena
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you Cacheena for your wonderful review of Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. It was great to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your evening and the team were able to assist with your special request. I am glad that you managed to enjoy the wine too! Hope to see you back again soon Kind Regards Gillian More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A couple of things went wrong with our meal last Sunday. For starters I ordered the mussels and my friends the terrine. The mussels were quite frankly average at best but the terrine was a different story... So during the starter my friend realizes she hasn't even got terrine. What is on her plate are cuts of meat on lettuce.... More 

Helpful?
Thank AmyBGla
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you AmyBGla for your review of Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. It was disappointing to read that your dining experience did not reflect the ordinarily high standards of food and service we are proud to offer within the bistro. Please trust that I have followed up with the Head Chef and Bistro Manager regarding your experience to ensure we do... More 

Belton, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As I was touring Scotland and Ireland I stayed at this lovely Hotel. Beds were so comfortable and the rooms were just the right size. The food I had there was delicious and the service was impeccable. Should I find myself back in Dublin, I'll definitely choose the Hotel du Vin

Helpful?
1 Thank Unclemitchy
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you Unclemitchy for your review of Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. It's great to hear that you managed to stay with us during your trip of Ireland and Scotland, but even more so that you will stay with Hotel du Vin on every UK visit now. We look forward to seeing you again at one of our properties. Kind Regards... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

552 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (153)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (48)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (51)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (388)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Dom Perignon Master Suite (82)
Viewed
La Grande Dame Suite (65)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (66)
Viewed
The Hotel (165)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 stars 1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 2,830 reviews
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#64 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,073 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighborhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavored souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay