We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments

44 Clerk Street, Edinburgh EH8 9HX, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    24
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
6
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (52)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here 20th March 2015 for a hen weekend there were 20 of us and we had 3 standard 4 person apartments and 1 8 person apartment. The accommodation is a little out of town but can be easily reached by taxi. There is a tesco express right by the aprtments to do a little shop and about 5-10 mins... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly W, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your feedback on our apartments. I am sorry to hear that we did not reach your expectations. Did you call the Emergency number that is given on your confirmation as this is available from 5pm till midnight Monday to Friday and 10am -10pm Saturday and Sunday. If you wish to discuss further please don't hesitate to... More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

First of all it is incredibly hard to get 5 stars from me, they very nearly managed it! Bad points - it was tricky to find the keysafe with the apartment keys - I did manage it after about half an hour and with help from maps on my phone. It was also tricky finding the actual apartment and where... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly W, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback on Playhouse apartments, we have just gone through an upgrade and its refreshing to see that our clients like it and is equipped to your needs. I hope to welcome you all back in the near future and feel free to contact me direct if you would like to book again. kimberly@easyletedinburghapartments.com Kind Regards... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015 via mobile

The apartments are a 10 minute walk into the city but worth the walk as they come with free parking. We were there for Hogmanay with a 15 year old so our choice of accommodation was limited but I was pleasantly surprised by how spacious and have everything you need :-) would recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly W, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a lovely review on your apartment. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay with ourselves and hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Warm Regards Kimberly More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Enjoyed our brief say here. Was our first time back in Edinburgh since we moved abroad so was excited to be back and see what Edinburgh had new to offer. I guess our hotel was not top of our list and normally look for a hotel that has a good Location. Well this was good for us. Was nice and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly W, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a wonderful review on your apartment and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with ourselves. I hope we can welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards Kimberly More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Two of us stayed in these apartments for two nights. The location couldn't have been better. Very near a corner shop and a small Tesco and just along from some fabulous restaurants, the main shopping area and the playhouse, which is what we were there for. The apartment was very spacious, had brilliant wifi, the parking permit was ready and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kimberly W, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such wonderful feedback on our apartment I am sorry that such minor occurrences let you down and I will pass your feedback over to my housekeeping team. As for painting I am pleased to let you know that we are currently undergoing a refurbishment and hope to be finished early next year, so we here at... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Before booking this stay, I was a bit apprehensive looking at the negative reviews but I am very glad I booked it anyway. There were 2 of us and stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. It was very clean, modern and had all the necessities. Spacious, comfortable rooms and wifi worked perfectly. Parking was convenient, and the parking permit in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kimberly W, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a wonderful comment on our apartment, could I ask when you stayed in the apartment as the emergency on call should always be answered between 10am until 10pm Saturday and Sunday and Monday to Friday 5pm until 10pm if you would like to discuss your stay further please don't hesitate to contact me direct on Kimberly@easyletproperty.com... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We were a group of 12 girls on a hen weekend which was booked at least 10 months in advance. I had booked 3 apartments to accommodate all the girls, 2 of the apartments were in block 10 whilst the other was in block 80! I requested when making the booking that all 3 apartments were to be together which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly W, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your feedback on our apartment. We take customers feedback very seriously and whilst I agree that there should of been towels and toilet paper in your apartment, which I will personally speak to my housekeeping as to why this was not done I must disagree with what you say regarding the on call, it was myself... More 

Portage la Prairie, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Getting in was complicated - the access code could only be obtained by phoning (email or text was not an option) and the lockbox with the key was on another building a block away. The dishwasher was broken and had not finished the last cycle, both toilets had issues and there were burnt out lights. The apartment was large and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly W, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that you didn't have an enjoyable experience with ourselves. We email and text you your key box code prior to arrival, as we are self service apartments, unfortunately some apartments the key box may not be at your apartment but a short walk away. We do have an on call phone for such maintenance issues,... More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Very basic - clean but lots of repairs/replacements needed. We had 4 different apartments between our group and none of them had sufficient chairs for all the guests to sit down at once - they have just crammed too many beds in for the size of room. Most stressful was only being provided with 3 keys for 4 rooms (one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly W, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Sandy I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the apartment, we provide one key per apartment, you never said what apartment you stayed, if you would like to contact me direct and we can resolve the matter more directly. We are currently going through an upgrade in our apartments... More 

Omagh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

There were a group of 14 girls who travelled for a hen party weekend in Edinburgh. The apartment was fully kitted with all that we needed. Most of the bedrooms had en suites and there was a main bathroom with a bath. The apartment had a spacious living room and kitchen. It was also excellent value for money. Would highly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimberly W, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review Missy86_11 I am so pleased to see our apartment catered for you and your friends and hope that you all enjoyed Edinburgh. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future Kind Regards Kim More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in Southside & Holyrood

Neighborhood Profile
Southside & Holyrood
Many of Edinburgh’s student hangouts gather around university buildings in Southside, the sort of neighborhood that supports a long string of second-hand shops and eateries serving ethnic food for just a few pounds. In August the student population is replaced by vast numbers of boisterous visitors here for the Fringe, Edinburgh’s world-class comedy and arts festival which headquarters itself here. Flanking Southside are two great parks. The Meadows is a vast flat and sporty space where football, rugby, tennis, cricket, croquet, and golf often all take place side by side. Kids in its big playgrounds add to the joyful noise. Far bigger and much wilder, Holyrood Park extends to the east and provides a real hike up Arthur’s Seat, but the district is best known as the site of Scotland’s Parliament and its premier Royal Palace—and their steady stream of sightseers.

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question