We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 168 Edinburgh accommodations

St Giles Apartments

3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   375 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PW, Scotland (Cowgate)
Hotel amenities
St Giles Apartments

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com Agoda.com
and 3 more sites!
78%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    39
    11
    6
    9
See reviews for
45
22
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Where do I start ? Well, stepping off the train, ringing for directions, and from Edinburgh Waverley the Polish woman could not direct us. We found it eventually, it's a ten minute walk ???? IF your'e an olympic uphill sprinter. the offices are located in the old town, up a steep bank, so be prepared, its tough going. I'm agile... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
StGilesaptsedinburgh, Manager at St Giles Apartments, responded to this review

We appreciate feedback when it is honest but are astounded by the inaccuracies and contrived nature of this "review". While we accept the accommodation was not to the guest’s satisfaction and refunded them in full in order that they leave our property we hope the alternative accommodation was more to their standard. It is unfortunate when expectations are not met... More

Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Booked 4 apartments for my daughter's hen weekend. Perfect in location and facilities My only negative comment would be that the wifi is not great in all parts of the accommodation. Highly recommended in the heart of the city, a stone's throw from the major tourist attractions.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StGilesaptsedinburgh, Manager at St Giles Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Edinburgh soon. More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Please beware, this isn't a review about the facilities, it is simply about the stunningly unhelpful manager. An error in booking with an agents website resulted in the wrong dates being booked, I contacted the company within 5 minutes of receiving the confirmation to try and re-schedule and they would not re-schedule unless I increased the duration of my stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
StGilesaptsedinburgh, Manager at St Giles Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately when booking a NON REFUNDABLE rate through a third party booking site we are unable to accept any changes. As it states clearly at every stage of the booking process that this rate is fully pre-paid with no cancellations or changes, and therefore substantially discounted, we do advise careful consideration made prior to placing... More

UK
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Found and booked this apartment for 2 nights @ £125 a night through Booking.com, so not cheap but needs must as everyone including these cowboys increased their pricing for a Rugby game at Murrayfield ! Although if booking direct with St Giles it was nearer £300 for both nights/ Anyway booked and paid in full as St Giles Terms unlike... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
StGilesaptsedinburgh, Manager at St Giles Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately you booked through a third party booking site and we were constrained by the terms and conditions you agreed to when making the booking. Our offices are closed overnight and we work through emails from first to last received which is the reason we were unable to respond until 11am. However, we do have... More

Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We rented 2 apartments for a girls weekend away, was moved to the Old Fishmarket apartments which wasn't far away and apartments were perfect. There was no wifi as promised but the apartments did have everything else, bar salt and pepper! Be warned the apartment is on a steep hill but we all survived it in our heels on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

3 couples stayed here and it was absolutely fantastic. The location was great, right in the centre of the royal mile. The place was really clean and well decorated. The kitchen had everything - loads of plates and cutlery, soap. The showers were lovely and had free soaps. The staff were all so friendly and we wouldn't stay anywhere else... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

4 of us stayed for two nights @ 20/1 Old Tolbooth Wynd apartment, which was clean, comfortable and cosy. They left basics like tea coffee and juice, which was very welcome. Just 2 mins to nearest Hop on, Hop off bus stop on Royal Mile and convenient to most of the Edinburgh sights. We would stay there again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

6 of us visited Edinburgh this weekend and stayed at in Apartment 3 - what can I say but wow!! It was fabulous, we normally always stay in a hotel, but came across these apartments on Splendia and for the price we thought we would give it a try. It was excellent value for money and the space was great,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here with my wife, step - daughter and her friend, went to Edinburgh for my step - daughters 17th birthday. Apartment was ready before 3p.m., got a text to let us know it was ready. St Giles offices were easy to find and staff were very helpful. Once at the apartment, Holyrood Penthouse at the old tollbooth wynd, was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here with my husband, daughter and her friend, went to Edinburgh for my daughters 17th birthday. Apartment was ready before 3p.m., got a text to let us know it was ready. St Giles offices were easy to find and staff were very helpful. Once at the apartment, Holyrood Penthouse at the old tollbooth wynd, was very impressed. Bedrooms were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to St Giles Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles Apartments

Also Known As:
St Giles Apartments Hotel
St Giles Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
St Giles Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland
Address: 375 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Cowgate , Old Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 168 Specialty lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St Giles Apartments 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Giles Apartments offers self catering accommodation in the heart of Edinburgh at great value for money. Our self catering apartments are furnished to excellent standards, designer finished, fully equipped with all crockery and linens. Situated conveniently for all of Edinburgh’s attractions our apartments make for an exceptional base while visiting our historic city.By staying with us you will find great value when comparing to a city centre hotel but with the added benefit of your own living room, dining area, fully equipped kitchen and most importantly privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your St Giles Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Giles Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added St Giles Apartments to your Saves list