We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 31 Dundee hotels

West Park

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   319 Perth Road, Dundee DD2 1NN, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added West Park to your Saves list
West Park
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
44%
Ranked #25 of 31 hotels in Dundee
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014
poppycatNewcastle Newcastle
  • Overview
  • Reviews (69)
  • Photos (6)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (13)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    24
    18
    14
    7
See reviews for
6
25
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night to visit friends, we arranged visit at short notice and so booked West Park. As previous reviewers have said this is student accommodation and as such is smaller than a budget hotel and the walls are also a lot thinner. The room was clean but had an overpowering smell of cheap air freshener which was rather off... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the facilities. I am sorry to hear you had a problem with the signal on your television and will look into this. With regards to wifi in the bedrooms, we can currently only offer free wifi... More

Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Attended a Buffet Christmas Party Night on 20th December 2013 and was very impressed. Lovely decoration - party poppers and "vodka jellies" on table. Staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. DJ was brilliant. Buffet was best I've ever had. Only downside was that the bar was pretty expensive but if Party Nights are your thing, you should... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your Christmas Buffet party. We put a lot of effort into our menus and it is so nice to hear that it is appreciated. The vodka jellies are just a wee something extra to get the party started! We had... More

Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

What an excellent place for a Christmas night out. We held a private function for our department. The room we chose was great for the size of our party and the decoration and layout was fantastic. Unfortunately the attitude of the staff has let the place down so much we will not be back. Firstly our band were warned not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am glad you enjoyed the excellent facilities at West Park for your Christmas Party. We informed you of the unexpected increase in numbers booked for your event and you agreed that more guests had in fact turned up than were originally booked. We are renowned for... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed as part of a group attending a business meeting at the university, as recommended by our host. The rooms are student accommodation but we were made aware of this at the time of booking and knew what to expect, i.e. single rooms have single beds. It is a short distance by taxi or bus (or walk, it's not far!)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you recommend us. We are currently looking to install wifi in the accommodation areas and hope to have this in place for your next visit! We look forward to you visiting again.... More

Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was working with a group of people for a day in one of the rooms in the main building. The room was spacious and well organised. The service was attentive and discrete throughout the day. The food at lunchtime was very good and the cookies and cakes for the morning and afternoon breaks were delicious. Easy to get to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I am glad you enjoyed the facilities here at West Park. Our year round business is Conferencing and Events and we are very highly regarded in this field. West Park is also known for its great food! Everything is handmade by our team... More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Friendly staff on check in, clean modern room with views of the Tay, excellent value. Good base for the night within waling distance of city centre and bars and restaurants. If you want luxury pay for an expensive hotel!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Your comments sum our accommodation offer up perfectly! We offer excellent value for money. We do not profess to be a luxury hotel and as you mention our prices are very reflective of that. We look forward to... More

Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Although reasonable in price; this hotel is not for the fainthearted...the rooms are university halls residences; you pay for the joy of tiny beds. no hairdryer's; unless you proffer a £10 deposit...and then the neighbours....forget it! If you're 20 or attending a conference when sharing a room seems to be the norm, I would give this more than a wide... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. The accommodation we offer is campus accommodation and is advertised as so. The bedrooms are slightly smaller than an average budget hotel and our price fairly reflects this. We have over 200 rooms available and have a strong following in repeat business, particularly for conferences as our... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I didn't notice that this hotel is in fact a student accommodation before I booked : my bad, but I think it worth being remembered here. We finally didn't sleep here, because the room was not really clean (dust, hairs on the chair, ...). The woman at the reception did his best to help us, suggesting to change for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We are very careful to ensure we advertise our Campus accommodation correctly. Although it was not what you were looking for I am glad we are able to assist you in finding alternative accommodation. Kind regards Christine M More

Scotland.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Booked about a week in advance, I traveled down to Dundee with my girlfriend and our two friends, for a birthday night out. The outside of the hotel looked extremely pleasant, and gave me great hopes for the rooms we had booked. Whilst checking in, one of the women at the reception desk looked at my girlfriend and I very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christine M, Manager at West Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at West Park. We would like to discuss this further with you and would ask you to contact Gail Riley, Deputy Manager on 01382 647171. Thanks Christine Milne More

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Booked this at very short notice when I had to travel at the last minute. It is student accommodation and it is a bit basic. The room was nice though and clean. The ensuite wet room was more than adequate for my purposes. A small flat screen tv also served it's purpose. My own complaints was that the room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christine M, General Manager at West Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We do appreicate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay. Christine Milne General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage West Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to West Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Park

Address: 319 Perth Road, Dundee DD2 1NN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — West Park 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your West Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Park Hotel Dundee
West Park Dundee, Scotland

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
204

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer