We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Dundee hotels

The Hotel Broughty Ferry

16 West Queen Street | Broughty Ferry, Dundee DD5 1AR, Scotland
Hotel amenities
The Hotel Broughty Ferry
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Hotel Broughty Ferry to your Saves list
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
David G Freuchie, United Kingdom
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    47
    20
    13
    4
See reviews for
34
74
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (180)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Freuchie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I ate here three weeks ago and had heard lots of good things from friends about the mix of Indian and British food, so I was looking forward to some great food. The surroundings are pleasant and relaxed and the service was pretty good. I ordered the mussels which came with a white wine and garlic sauce which was good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this review

Dear David G, Many thanks for your positive comments. can I just take this opportunity to address your negative observations ? Firstly the veg and chips, no busy catering establishment would dream of using frozen chips, the reason, the temperature of the fryer drops damatically when frozen chips are put in the baskets, as you can imagine, this then causes... More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

just returned from an after-funeral reception at Hotel Broughty Ferry and must thank Geri, Jeff and staff for excellent service.The food was excellent and every detail of the service was done in a very dignified , compassionate and professional manner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I expected good service and a good meal but instead it was like faulty towers the service was unbelievably slow although not the fault of the waiting staff but the management when I complained I got a motionless expression

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this review

Dear Eddie O, I can't really reply as you haven't given me sufficient information. You should have just asked for free meals in the first place. Kind regards, Mr Stewart. More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I didn't stay in the hotel - I'm reviewing the restaurant. ((If it won't allow me to leave my rating of the rooms blank I will just choose four out of five.)) Work night out, 28th Novemver. We all ended up choosing a curry. I had chicken tikka janter manter with tiger prawns too - with fried rice. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed last weekend again , as always Love it. Dinner Great as always best curry in area. Breakfast was best I have had ,new breakfast chef maybe?? One small comment not complaint bar and restaurant carpets bit shabby!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pitmedden, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed overnight at the hotel while visiting friends in Broughty Ferry. We requested a room with no stairs if possible and were given a nice room on the ground floor. Our friends joined us for High Tea and it was very nice to have a relaxing meal with friends in a lovely dining room. Had haddock and it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Arrived at this Hotel with my Partner for a break away for 3 nights. We were shown our room witch was nicely decorated and spacious. We found all facilities to be good and were comfortable. The bar down the stairs was fine. Dinner was tasty and plenty but as previously stated in other reviews quite high in price... All of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this review

Dear Stephen F, Many thanks for your review. I can understand you being upset about the rug, however, I can't understand why the rug didn't smell on the first or second day of your three day stay, you were so happy with your room, you even extended your stay for a fourth night ! Did you mention the rug to... More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

eve ning meal in the bar lounge was well cooked served and presented by attentive staff. we have eaten in here for quite a number of years and do pay a little more . the staff in the bar on thursday were a pleasure to talk to and nothing was too much trouble.than you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Launceston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Without wishing to incur the wrath of the owner I feel I must be honest and say this hotel is really nothing special and perhaps the ratings are falsely inflated by bullying and aggressive responses to negative reviews. I notice there are no thanks for good reviews. Our room was well appointed with a fair sized bathroom in which there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
robyn16, Owner at The Hotel Broughty Ferry, responded to this review

Dear Bathwick, Well well, another top Contributor with a review. I can assure you, I'm not a bullying type, nor does any reviewer incur my wrath, the tax man or the VAT man maybe, but not a reviewer. if you are entitled to your opinion, surely I'm entitled to mine. When reviewers post a bad or average review, whether they... More 

dundee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

After many years of dining at Hotel Broughty ferry we recently had our Ruby anniversary there. It was absolutely amazing. The standard of food was exceptional in every department. A massive range covering every continent and can say you will not leave that restaurant hungry and all at a very high standard, Jeff and Jerry run the best eatery and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Hotel Broughty Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Broughty Ferry

Address: 16 West Queen Street | Broughty Ferry, Dundee DD5 1AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Hotel Broughty Ferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Broughty Ferry Dundee, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Dundee
#11 Family Hotel in Dundee
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dundee

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay