We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Dundee hotels

BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel

160 Nethergate, Dundee DD1 4DU, Scotland
Hotel amenities
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012
mshankland Glasgw
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    105
    57
    29
    20
See reviews for
44
99
24
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (291)
  • Mar-May only
    (88)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (80)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (82)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Glasgw
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This Hotel was lovely. We stayed two nights bed and breakfast. Very clean and welcoming. Bedroom had everything you could need including an iron and board (which was great as our clothes were a bit crumpled when we unpacked). Breakfast was great with plenty of choice. Only downside was housekeeping very loud and shouting down the corridors to each other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Rudest waiter I've ever experienced in travelling and staying in hotels, average 2-3 nights month, over past twenty years. The hotel itself is tired and starting to sag. Food in evening was okay and staff were also okay. Breakfast, well best left unsaid waiter was worse than useless and very rude. Absolutely zero customer care at hotel, I did complain... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Having braved a business trip to Scotland during floods and hurricanes I hoped that the Queens would be a welcome relief from the mornings powercuts. No!I walked in to a tired sad hotel. The receptionist could not have been more miserable. On entering my room I was greeted by the most awful combination of decor obviously quite recently done but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

I stay in hotels on a weekly basis for work. I must admit I only ever write a review for excellent hotels or substandard ones, and unfortunately the queens falls under the latter. The hotel generally is in need of complete re decoration and a good clean! The housekeeping department failed on a number of occasions to replenish toiletries and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
queens160, Owner at BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you were dissapointed with your stay at my hotel. We take all customer feedback seriously and will take your comments on board. It was myslef personally who served you each morning and I am sorry if you feel my service to you was inferior but I assure you that I treat all my customers with the same... More

Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed 1 night at this hotel and had 2 rooms a double and a single. The double was excellent with a recently reformed bathroom and good furnishings. The single was a little dated but clean and tidy. The main staircase and other architectural features make this hotel a gem Breakfast was good with a choice of continental or cooked.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here on a recent trip to Dundee for a wedding. In terms of location, it couldn't be faulted - it was 2 mins walk from the church! Good points - Proper car park at the back. Secure, convenient and free to those staying in the hotel. - Breakfast wasn't bad. Choice of continental or cooked. - Fair value... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Great Food, Great Rooms very clean and staff very helpfull. Will certainly go back..Hotel bang in the centre of town. Was a great venue to eat and a good selection on the menu. Did not have loud noisey customers, just some whare good to relax.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
East Anglia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We enjoyed dinner in Nosey Parkers - a good choice and well cooked. The bedroom and bathroom were clean and comfortable, although no soap was provided. Instead, there is a liquid soap dispenser up on the wall - not convenient when you are sitting in the bath! However, I have got wise to this from stays in other Best Westerns... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Wow, I'm socked by so many good reviews! I've never taken the time to review or complain about hotels before, because quite frankly I've never felt strongly enough to warn other people. That alone should make you aware of how disappointed I was with this hotel. There were 6 adults and 2 babies in our party..on arrival we were disappointed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
queens160, Owner at BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel, responded to this review

I am surprised that you have written such a lenghty and negative reply. After meeting you on both days at breakfast , and also helping you with the kids meals during the wedding, which you requested early. I apologise for the guests smoking outside your room and agree this shouldn't have happened. I think it would have been a fairer... More

Elgin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Phoned the hotel direct as all comparison sites were advertising double rooms and I was looking for a king size bed. I inquired with the female who answered the phone if the hotel had king size rooms too be told yes but they carried a higher cost at £82 B&B which was only £10 dearer than the best advertised price... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
queens160, Owner at BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Fraser I am dissapointed you were not satisfied with the service I gave you on Saturday, at no time did i say that a chambermaid would have answered the telephone. We recieve many bookings direct to the hotel and because you couldn't recall who or when you spoke to the hotel I cannot comment further, but on all... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel

Address: 160 Nethergate, Dundee DD1 4DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dundee
Dundee Best Western
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel Dundee, Scotland

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay