We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Forbes of Kingennie

#5 of 31 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Kingennie, Dundee dd53rd, Scotland
Forbes of Kingennie
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
scunner67 Newcastle, United Kingdom
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    30
    14
    11
    7
See reviews for
78
46
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (209)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited here for the first time on a gloriously sunny April afternoon. We had a nice walk all round the "policies" which were very nicely landscaped indeed, a most attractive setting. Popping in for coffee, we then stayed for high tea. Tea, toast, fresh haddock and chips and delicious peas, then a selection of cakes and scones ( which were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We aim to make every customer's experience a good one so I am happy we achieved that with you. It's a great encouragement to hear that you enjoyed your visit so much that you booked a celebration with us. We have been very lucky with the weather lately, so fingers crossed that is stays lovely... More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed for a weekend with a group of 10 guys in one of the lodges (something North) and it was fantasic. The lodge was a great size and the single beds made it ideal for a same sex group. Wifi was in place which helped to keep an eye on the Ryder cup as dos sky sports in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind words about 2 valuable members of our team- I will be sure to pass them on! We will hopefully see you and your group of friends in the near future. With thanks, Kingennie Management... More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Blessed with a lovely day on Easter Sunday, we decided to head out to Forbes of Kingennie for a high tea. The staff are extremely helpful and pleasant, food was plentiful and tasty and reasonably priced. Cakes , scones nice too. The setting is very pretty, nice for a wee walk after tea around the loch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your experience at Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort. It is lovely to hear that you chose to spend Easter Sunday with us and that you enjoyed your High Tea. It was a beautiful, sunny day at the resort so fingers crossed the weather stays nice for summer! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. With... More 

Inverness, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was booked as part of a birthday weekend away for a few of us. The lodge we stayed in was ok and could be doing with an upgrade. We booked a champagne breakfast for the Saturday morning (and received Prosecco). I had the full Scottish and it was ok and would have been better if it had been served... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review

Hi Phil, Thank you for your review. We have taken on board your comments about our lodges, our Woodland lodges are more classically decorated however they are refreshed every year. Our larger lodges are more contemporary and may be better suited to yourself and your party should you choose to stay with us again. I am deeply sorry about the... More 

Gourock
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Me and my husband stayed at the beautiful, cosy and quirky boathouse on an Itison deal on 27/28th February. Find it difficult to fault as it is just lovely. It has a huge spa bath in the bathroom which takes quite a while to fill so the addition of a walk-in shower would be a bonus for mornings. We ate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review

Dear Carol, Thank you for your review of your stay in our Leannan Boathouse. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I will keep your suggestion about a shower in mind. Hopefully it will be better weather next time you visit! With thanks, Kingennie Management Team More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

We visited the Waterside Restaurant on Sunday 15th March for a Mother's Day meal. We had called to make a table reservation around 2weeks earlier - we were informed that they were fully booked for high teas at the time we had requested, but the member of staff was very polite and accommodating, and after discussion with the chef, our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to our Waterside restaurant for Mother's Day. We love welcoming back returning customers and it's great to hear that you got married at Forbes of Kingennie and that you would recommend us. I hope you had a lovely Mother's Day and we look forward to seeing you again soon. With... More 

Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

We have just returned from a weekend at Forbes of Kingennie in the Glen Finlet lodge courtesy of an Itison deal which included canapes and prosecco on arrival. This made it a real bargain but even if we had paid the regular rate it is still very reasonable for a 3 night stay at this time of year. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review on your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the lodge and even managed to fit in some fishing! I have taken on board your comment about the hair drier and will look into the possibility of one in each lodge. We hope to welcome you back soon. With thanks,... More 

Kilmarnock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

we have all just returned home from a family weekend away and all I can is forbes of kingennie is a fantastic place to go, from our arrival the girl at reception was very helpful & pleasant. we discovered late Friday night that the pillows were duck feathers which a member of our party is allergic to. we spoke to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review

Dear Anna, Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a great time during your stay in our Glen Lyon lodge. We strive to meet all of our guests needs so it's lovely to hear that we were successful with you. I have taken on board your comment about the beds and I will look into that further.... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Just back from 3 night break at forbes and had a great time. Stayed with husband in glen isla lodge and only complaint would be lodge decor was a bit dated and living area would be cramped if 4 people wanted to chill out but for the 2 of us it was really comfortable. There are lodges nearby but we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your stay in our Glen Isla lodge. We are currently looking into areas of our older Woodland lodges that need updated and we will take your comments about Glen Isla on board. Some of our newer lodges have more modern furnishings, if you return then you may like to try out our Waterside lodges.... More 

Hamilton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

We had a lovely long weekend with grandparents and kids at forbes of kingennie. We stayed in Glen Prosen lodge and couldn't fault it at all. The weather was really cold but the lodge was always really nice and warm and i was impressed at all the extras included such as tea, coffee, washing up, hand wash etc. The lodge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review

Dear Lisa, Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you had a great time with us and enjoyed your stay in our Glen Prosen lodge with your family. We will hopefully see you back at the resort soon, fingers crossed for some warmer weather! With thanks, Kingennie Management Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

108 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question