We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 31 Dundee hotels

Holiday Inn Express Dundee

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Dock Street, Dundee DD1 3DR, Scotland
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Dundee to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
64%
Ranked #21 of 31 hotels in Dundee
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Riddocjl01 Leeds
  • Overview
  • Reviews (294)
  • Photos (63)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (62)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    121
    66
    33
    13
See reviews for
47
89
26
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Good hotel for the price you pay, cost wise similar to a travelodge but I'd much rather stay in this chain any day of the week. The rooms are clean and relatively fresh looking. Free wifi, it's slow but realistically it's only ever gonna be used for Facebook and emails so it's useable. Location is right next to the city... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
436 reviews 436 reviews
304 hotel reviews
371 helpful votes 371 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Location- Central place to visit Scone Castel and St Andrews. Did not really visit the city itself. Asked for a quiet room with river view but did not get it. You can come in directly to the rooms on the elevator without going through the reception. You need a key to enter the hallway to your room, but anyone can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GraemeShewan, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review

Dear Starviagera Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive review of your recent stay here in Dundee. We appreciate all the comments we receive as they help us improve the service we provide to all our guests. Many thanks Karen Gorman Senior Guest Services Manager More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed at Holiday Inn Express in other places and have enjoyed the experience but this one has been the worst. I couldn't wait to get home to have a sleep, the bed had to be the most uncomfortable I've ever tried to sleep in! It was like lying on a water bed! Had I noticed before my slightly drunk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GraemeShewan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review

Dear Amanda S, Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback, We aim to provide all of our guests with the highest standards and to hear you had an unpleasant stay is disappointing for us. We are investigating the room you stayed in and we hope you will return to our hotel and enjoy a pleasant... More

Manchester, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

At £61 bed and breakfast, not really sure what people expect. The rooms are basic, but they're clean and functional and the beds are comfortable. The guy on reception didn't look like he'd been fitted out on Saville Row, but he was polite, friendly and I was early, and he got me checked in as soon as he could, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GraemeShewan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review

Dear Eastlands, Thank you for giving us your honest review, I am Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your positive comments regarding our team are greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards Alison Guest Services Manager More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Entrance area and stair well badly designed gives poor first impression looks and feels more suited to multi storey car park. Reception area/bar/breakfast room feels like school reception area. Decor and carpets past there best. Currently there is a building site opposite adding to the overall dilapidated feel. Secure entry key card difficult to get the hang of and only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GraemeShewan, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review

Dear Dublindream Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent Stay with us here in Dundee. We appreciate all comments, Guest security is of the utmost importance to both myself and the team. Thank you for highlighting your concerns. I am disappointed to read you had an unpleasant stay here at our hotel. All of your comments... More

Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The pluses were the location, central for everything. Room/bathroom were clean and staff were pleasant enough. They were very helpful about the left luggage facility. There was no great welcome, no charm, no pleasantries. Their uniform was very workman like,in fact I thought the receptionist was the cleaner. Nothing about it was crisp and smart and welcoming looking it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GraemeShewan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review

Dear Sandra M, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent experience here at the Holiday Inn Express in Dundee, and offering some very valuable constructive feedback to assist me with improving the business. I would the like to take this opportunity to apologise for the disappointing experience you had with us and would like to address your... More

stonehaven
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

i stayed with my mother for a birthday treat and was pleasantly surprised. It was an easy disatance to the city centre and all the staff were really helpful and gave us advice about dining out. The breakfast was very good and lots of choice for everyone. the rooms were clean with shampoo shower gel and hand wash also plenty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GraemeShewan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen G, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our property here in Dundee. I am pleased to note you enjoyed a comfortable stay and the team were friendly and helpful especially around your choice of dining. My apologies for the noise you experienced on the second night of your stay... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I am often away with work and stay in a variety of hotels and am happy with basic however this hotel is beyond belief . As a woman travelling alone I prefer to eat in the hotel / no food- ok I'll deal with that (given some take away menus) - told I was allocated a twin disabled room -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GraemeShewan, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review

Dear Sue187069, Many thanks for taking the time to review your experience here at the Holiday Inn Express in Dundee. I have completed an investigation into your comments since guest security is of the utmost importance to both myself and the team. Rather than discuss your comments here perhaps you would good enough to call me at your earliest convenience... More

Irvine Ayrshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I booked this hotel in July 2013 for April 2014. The morning of my stay I received an email stating that my accommodation had been changed to a Premier Inn almost 5miles out of the city centre. I though it was a hoax.!!!! When you book so far in advance and have the receipt for the booking you expect no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GraemeShewan, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review

Dear varf Thank you for taking the time to comment here. Following our emails to and from each other i was under the same impression as yourself.. Please contact me on the email address you have. Kind regards Karen Gorman Senior Suest Services Manager More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed here for a night for my birthday. The hotel is located in the city center so very handy for the shops. Although we was told the hotel was fully booked we found it quiet. The rooms are spaceous and very clean. There is a free breakfast in the morning as well which was very nice. We will be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GraemeShewan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review

Dear Jacqueline O, Thank you for your lovely review, I am glad you enjoyed your birthday in Dundee and your stay at our hotel, We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Regards, Alison, Guest Services Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Dundee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dundee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dundee

Address: 41 Dock Street, Dundee DD1 3DR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Dundee 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dundee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dundee Hotel Dundee
Dundee Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Dundee Scotland

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Express Dundee is a stylish hotel offering an inclusive Express Start breakfast with hot options. Within the hotel there is free wireless internet access throughout. All 95 bedrooms offer freeview television, complimentary tea & coffee facilities, hairdryer and power shower. Holiday Inn Express Dundee is perfectly located in the heart of Dundee City Centre just a 5 minute walk from both Discovery Point & RRS Discovery and HM Frigate Unicorn. For sports fans Holiday Inn Express Dundee is within easy reach of the Dundee International Sports Centre as well as Dundee United Football Club and Dundee Football Club. The hotel is perfectly situated for the Train Station and Bus Station and only a 5 minute taxi journey to Dundee Airport. For the keen golfers the Holiday Inn Express Dundee is well situated for Open Championship golf courses such as St Andrews and Carnoustie. The hotel has 2 great value meeting rooms which are modern, informal and ideal for presentations, interviews and training. Everything you need is included from audio visual and projection equipment to stationery. Buffet lunch and snacks can be arranged at an additional cost. Parking is available in the nearby Gellatly Street Council Car Park with an access bridge direct to reception from level 3 of the car park. Parking is free between 6 pm and 8 am with charges applicable outwith these times. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
95

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Holiday Inn Express Dundee and other travelers.
1 question

See all questions (1)

See which rooms travelers prefer