We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Dundee

Hotel website
Hotel deals
41 Dock Street, Dundee DD1 3DR, Scotland
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Rate this Hotel

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    144
    77
    35
    15
See reviews for
53
100
28
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (345)
  • Mar-May only
    (92)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (87)
All months
Scotland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel based on location and car parking in the linked multi-story car park as we were attending a wedding. It proved to be a good choice on all counts, the room was clean, quiet and met our needs and staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was adequate for our needs and enough choice for us. I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GraemeShewan, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review

Dear The Jewel Thank you for reviewing your recent visit here in Dundee. I was very happy to read you had a lovely stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Karen Gorman Senior Guest Services Manager More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is centrally located in Dundee's old docklands and easy to locate by road. The city centre is only a few minutes walk away so there are lots of shops, bars, cafes and restaurants on your doorstep. There is direct access to the hotel from the multi-storey car park. Unfortunately there is no reduction in parking fee for hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GraemeShewan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review

Dear Craig M, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Express in Dundee. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the hotel very central and the staff friendly and efficient. I note you parked in the multi-storey car park attached in Gellatly Street and as you... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I read the reviews for this hotel prior to booking, and noting that it was considered "basic but nice" by many it seemed a good choice. All I can say is that some people have incredibly high standards if they consider this basic, because I thought it was really very good for what I paid. Room was very clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GraemeShewan, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review

Dear SusieW55, Thank you for your review, I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us , we aim to provide our guests with an enjoyable stay and it nice to hear you feedback. I have passed on your positive comments to our team and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. regards Alison McCann... More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location, clean & tidy room, basic breakfast selection, good wifi. When using the shower it created a pool of water on the bathroom floor. This was very annoying and you couldn't stop it due to the shower/curtain design. Your not reimbursed for using the car park.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GraemeShewan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review

Dear LRM_5587, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Express in Dundee. I am delighted you found your room clean and tidy with good Wi-Fi and the breakfast selection was to your liking. I have passed on your comments regarding the shower curtain to my Housekeeping team to complete a review... More 

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms were fine the parking was convenient, reception was friendly. Breakfast very basic and self service. Evening meal choice one of the worst I have ever seen in a reputable hotel. I took one look at it and went into town to eat. I would prefer to eat and sleep in in the same hotel after a busy day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GraemeShewan, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review

Dear Richard C, Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback, We appreciate your comments and i have passed your review on to our team. Regards Alison McCann Guest Services Manager More 

Downpatrick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had an overnight stay here. Location is excellent as a 5 minute walk from train station and right beside city centre. Room was spotless and bed very comfortable. Facilities were GREAT for the price we paid.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GraemeShewan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review

Dear Deirdre M, Many thanks for taking the time to review you recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Express in Dundee. I am delighted you found the hotel spotless and the bed comfortable, I have passed your lovely comments on to my housekeeping team who strive to ensure our guests have the best experience possible. Both myself and the... More 

Elgin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location for city centre. Staff very polite, helpful and efficient. Room was a twin and was immaculately clean. Tea and coffee facilities, hair drier and soap in room. Breakfast was stated to be continental but was a little different from conventional Continental breakfast. No cold meats but made up for it with scrambled eggs, sausage and beans. Usual toast,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GraemeShewan, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review

Dear 409Patchworker, Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We are pleased to read your positive comments regarding your bedroom and breakfast. We strive to provide our guests with the highest of standards and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed our breakfast selection, we will keep your comments in mind when reviewing breakfast in the... More 

San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

The most horrific stay ever. Manager and staff were extremely rude, tried to steal money from my bank account without my consent claiming that my children stained the bed with ":rice". locked me out of the room after 1 hour and refused to refund my stay. I paid for a family room was placed in a room with a small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GraemeShewan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review

Dear Katheee, Many thanks for taking the time to review your brief visit here at the Holiday Inn Express in Dundee. Having read your comments, I am concerned that you have chosen to write this review given your erratic and unacceptable behaviour during your visit to us. I must stress both my team and guests are not present in the... More 

Peebles, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

We stopped off here as we were working up that way for 1 night, first we struggled to find somewhere to park, van with rack wouldn't fit into multi story. So parked a few streets away. Checking in was very good and lady was welcoming and polite, found the reception area very modern and stylish. Room was average, I stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GraemeShewan, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review

Dear Sam M Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here in Dundee. We look into every customer feedback with the highest interest in making changes when moving forward as a hotel. Customer service is our main priority and I would like to thank you for taking your time to give your honest feedback.... More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015 via mobile

Room was very comfortable, when I asked about dinner I was told to try the restaurant downstairs that didn't belong to the hotel , staff were not very friendly and breakfast disappointing. I would recommend the hotel if it's room only as it's location it's great

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GraemeShewan, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review

Dear Jss06101973, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Express in Dundee. I am pleased you found the room comfortable and the location of the hotel ideal for your requirements. I was however disappointed to note that you did not find the staff friendly and helpful. This is one area of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question