We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Moffat hotels

BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Moffat DG10 9HL, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
81%
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Moffat
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Hazel M Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    72
    32
    15
    7
See reviews for
57
138
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We spent one night here on our way to Scotland, the staff were brilliant, especially a young dark haired lady whose name I didn't get.she was very helpful and attentive.the food was beautiful and quick to arrive. The room was very nice and very clean, the only downside was the bed which wasn't very comfortable so we didn't sleep very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Me and my partner visited the area looking at different venues to hold our wedding. We stayed at Moffat House and we where extremely disappointed. Firstly the welcome we received was poor. The food took a very long time to reach our table. It was presented poorly and was tasteless. The room wasn't great really either. The bathroom had mould... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shropshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night in this 'Narnia' affect hotel, on the street side, a beautiful large courtyard with plenty of room to park but then when you go through to the back of the hotel you are overlooking a beautiful country park, which was totally unexpected. Very comfortable large bed but a rather tired and not so clean bathroom, why of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked here for 42 guests on Friday 28th March 2014, it was a pre Wedding meal as we got married at Auchen castle the next day. I had to pre order the majority of the food, which I did via email a week or so in advance. The menu was quite disappointing to start with, but being a best... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PaulLawson, Manager at BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, responded to this review

The main reason this review staggers belief is because of the expression of sheer delight you displayed at the hotel during and after your meals. So what has happened between then and now? Well experience tells us there could be some outside influences at play and given the fact you were married at another venue you don't need a Mensa... More

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from 1 night DBB at this lovely hotel. Receptionist was very friendly and our room was spotless and comfortable. We had dinner in the bar and it did not disappoint, food was first class and huge portions. Ian ( the barman) noticed that my husbands pint looked a bit flat and he Replaced it right away, all the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 1 night on the way up to Edinburgh.This is the second time we have stayed here, it is a little bit tired in some areas but both times we have found the staff really pleasant and friendly. We liked the fact the the hotel was warm and cosy through out as we always seem to visit Scotland... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dalry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent last Friday at the Moffat House Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We had a very friendly welcome at reception. Our bedroom was spotless and comfortable. We went for dinner which was delicious and although I had the lighter option, the portion size was huge!! We had a superb breakfast next morning and again, it was great. We cannot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked on-line for a 2 person 1 night stay. Hotel nicely located in town centre with ample parking available. Warm welcome from the receptionist on duty. Room 2 at the front of the hotel, although adorned with period features, is sadly in need of a refurbishment, especially the dated bathroom. Cleanliness of the room was in question, mildew spores a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here twice on the way to and from Cornwall from the Highlands. The first time I was in room 3, on the first floor, with a four-poster bed. Comfortable and spacious, with good shower over the bath. On the return journey I was in room 6, second floor - newly refurbished, reasonably swish. However, when I tried to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel

Also Known As:
Best Western Moffat Hotel
Best Western Moffat
Moffat Best Western
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel Scotland
Address: High Street, Moffat DG10 9HL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Moffat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.