We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brighouse Bay Holiday Park

Borgue, Kirkcudbright DG6 4TS, Scotland
Brighouse Bay Holiday Park
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    20
    11
    13
    4
See reviews for
47
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (84)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Spent the summer in this campsite and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The site is well set out and the static caravan pitches are clean. Though some of the toilets are a bit dirty apart from that an overall brilliant stay!! Great for all the Family!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sunderland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

I don't write this posting lightly. Over the last 25years we have visited this park many, many times, but after our last visit in Auguest 2014 we will never return. In defence of their customer service department, when we have complained about anything, they have been quick to try and resolve issues. On the last occasions we didn't notice the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BrighouseManagement, Front Office Manager at Brighouse Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello Penpats, We're sorry you felt our response was non-descript. Your highlighted concerns were addressed during your stay and the points highlighted on your departure via email were also addressed. We ask all our customers to highlight if there is anything that are not quite right so that we can solve them when you are on holiday with us. We... More 

Keighley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Stayed a friend's lodge for a 5 nights and really enjoyed the whole experience. The site is huge so you don't feel at all crammed in. Good views and easily accessible walks nearby. The swimming pool was an added bonus and it was well run and managed, the changing rooms were clean and great value for money. The games room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Stayed here for a few nights in october, we have stayed here on a number of occassions and really enjoy it, its in a lovely setting with walks all around, the shop is good and general condition of the park and facilities is also very good, the amusement room needs a little more maintenance, the swimming pool is great, its... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Visited by touring caravan in September after schools had gone back. Almost had the place to ourselves. Great little shop. Walks along the coast directly from the site. Played golf on the adjacent course and had that to ourselves - a treat. The swimming pool and club bar and restaurant still open although very very quiet. And, for us, superb... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Spent 2 nights camping at Brighouse Bay which was absolutely brilliant, 😃nice friendly staff to greet you, a nice clear map of where you can pitch up & what's around you, big area's for tents, lovely clean bathrooms all the time, a laundrette, children's park, pony trekking, golf, clubhouse, lovely ponds around, also a 5minute walk to the beach &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Myself and my partner stayed in our own tourer in May, the wifi didn't work, staff members in the shop and club house were ignorant, food was awful, terrible shop hours. I wrote to Brighouse Bay to let them know about my terrible experience, still waiting on a reply!! I have been going to brighouse bay for many years and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BrighouseManagement, Front Office Manager at Brighouse Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello Violet81094, We are disappointed for you in not having had a nice time at Brighouse Bay. We are at a loss with your strong comments and do not recognise our holiday park. Due to our rural coastal location we don’t have full coverage from the mobile phone providers. However, there is mobile phone reception in certain parts of the... More 

Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from brighouse bay. A stunning location. The park is on whole clean and well maintained, the toilet and shower block in particular is very clean. We has a touring pitch which was all sited, with plenty of space. Once we had picked up the previous occupants dog mess and rubbish we were happy with the site. The 9... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
BrighouseManagement, Front Office Manager at Brighouse Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you Hotelvisitation for your complimentary comments regarding the Park’s grounds, shower blocks and location. However, we are surprised and disappointed to read your comments regarding the food served at our Leisure Club. Surprised, as all food provided to your group was eaten, you indicated to our staff everything was fine after being asked several times and additional portions of... More 

Keith, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Hi just spent the weekend camping here and it was really great, when we arrived to book in the staff were very helpful and showed us on a map the two areas where we could pitch are tents and instead of very specific pitches it was just pick some where in the general area as there were two tents in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Newcastle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed at this site which has some wonderful views. There is a boating lake, golf course, park, driving range, indoor swimming pool, on site shop, laundrette, amusement arcade, pool table and club house. The weather was perfect so we spent time sunbathing and walking around the site.There is a small beach close by with some wonderful views.The shower cubicles... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question