We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

894 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    525
    175
    111
    54
    29
See reviews for
193
417
10
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (894)
  • Mar-May only
    (243)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (246)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (226)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (179)
All months
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed over only one night for wedding ceremony. Good location (over road from original blacksmiths for ceremonies) Bar prices can be a little expensive but are same across area. Food is very good quality, but "bar food" is cheaper served in bar - if you are served in restaurant it seems about 15% uplift in pricing. Bar food selection is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Beautiful place. We had our wedding reception here booked one family room and four other rooms. Great place,lovely inside and out,amazing food,friendly staff. I do think the rooms are a little over priced but I would defo go back. I do keep hinting to my husband but nothing think I need to try a little harder xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

we recently went for afternoon tea for a birthday celebration (13 June 2015), having been there a few weeks earlier and enjoyed the experience. However on this occasion there were several small things combined that did not meet the previous standard. We requested no fish on sandwiches for two people with the result that the other two guests also did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nothing can prepare you for the amazing service from all of these wonderful people who will go above & beyond to make your day amazing. We stayed for 3 nights & from the moment we arrived we were blown away, everyone starting from the minute we arrived, checking with the reception team, the bar & restaurant staff & Heidi our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived at the hotel room early and luckily our room was ready for us to go and get ready for our best friends wedding. After our fantastic day Witnessing a beautiful wedding we went on to have our meal in the private booth in the hotel. We all chose different options and it was very tasty. The only problem... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We are regular visitors to Smiths hotel but on this occasion visited only for Dinner. Having booked we arrived on time and approached the hostess who was less than welcoming and she showed us to our seats without a smile or comment. We ordered tap water and the waiter arrived without a word or smile dispensed plain water in my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here recently as we had chosen to have our wedding meal etc at the hotel. We were married at the Anvil Hall which is near by. When we arrived, we were staying in the Ash Suite, which was lovely. Huge balcony, huge living area, bathroom and sleeping area. We were welcomed with a bottle of champagne and chocolates... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We did the stay and marry package at Smiths hotel in Gretna Green on Thursday 18th till Saturday 20th June. We had up-graded to the Thistle suite and were totally amazed when we entered the room. We had looked at this suite on the web site and it looked OK, but when we walked in we were shocked at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We got married at the end of May and booked our 2 night stay at Smiths because of the close proximity to our wedding venue. The room was a little disappointing as it was very dark and obviously designed for disabled use, so didn't really have much atmosphere for a wedding stay! However, it was very spacious and the bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you arataP, im of course very pleased that your day did in fact go well and that the memories are positive, as you'd expect on such a special day. I will share the negatives however and use them to ensure improvements and continual guest satisfaction. Best regards Darren More 

Bridgnorth
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everybody knows that Gretna is a wedding destination, and Smiths at Gretna Green appears to primarily cater for this audience. But as a business traveler, what was it like? Smiths has many attributes. It is clean, spacious and comfortable - certainly the bed was one of the most comfortable I've enjoyed in a hotel. WiFi was free and easy to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thomsr, thank you for this feedback, its fantastic stuff and its fair to say that I enjoyed reading and subsequently musing over your comments. You are so correct with the points, these small things need attention, they're inexcusable niggles that combined can easily dominate the entire experience. I will act on them immediately. All the best to you, Darren More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

244 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (222)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (64)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay