We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gretna Hall

Gretna Green | Dumfriesshire, Gretna Green DG16 5DY, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Gretna Hall
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

663 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    169
    202
    123
    71
    98
See reviews for
125
335
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (663)
  • Mar-May only
    (154)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (208)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (156)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (145)
All months
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here for one night as part of a weekend away with friends and we were all very happy with the rooms and the service. The bedroom were very nice, plenty of tea and coffee etc. Beds were comfortable and bathroom small but adequate. Evening dinner was lovely, plenty of choice and served by pleasant, efficient staff. Breakfast couldn't be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were on a coach trip, the hotel was efficient and clean. I was in a recently refurbished room on the ground floor, the bed was comfortable and had all the necessary equipment. the bathroom was in need of a bit of extra TLC but was ok. The full English breakfast and evening meals were very nice and well recommended.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for a wedding for two nights. Rooms are quite basic and remind me of a Travel lodge. Overall an enjoyable stay and the wedding breakfast you couldn't fault. I'm Coeliac and they had no problem catering for me. Could do with installing air conditioning as it was unbearable in the function room, even with doors open. Breakfasts were amazing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed overnight at Gretna hall as part of coach party although the room was clean and tidy didn't get a good nights sleep as we had what sounded like a herd of elephants in the rooms above us charging about as it was late at night didn't want to complain and have to move as we were only there for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boscastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

had a coach trip to Scotland and this was our base food great staff very good and helpful hotel very well used but a great base for us hotel needs a revamp it was good to look at all the weddings they do a good job at these

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nigel H, General Manager at Gretna Hall, responded to this review

Dear Butch4caravan, Thank you for your kind comments, I am really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comments onto the team. We hope to welcome you back in the future. More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here with family for a wedding. The wedding part went very well, however the hotel itself is so dated and very much in need of a makeover. The food was mediocre. The staff were very friendly and very busy. We were the 5th wedding of the day, so they can't be short of income. I would not stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel H, General Manager at Gretna Hall, responded to this review

Dear Julia, I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay here with us at Gretna Hall Hotel. We are now under new management and are undergoing a refurbishment programme. Thank you for your comments, I will relay them to the team. More 

Travelers are raving about these Gretna Green hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here overnight as a resting place for our trip to into the highlands of Scotland. The room was very tired and dated, bathroom very small and needed lots of TLC. Breakfast was good and the staff friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel H, General Manager at Gretna Hall, responded to this review

Dear hannahdown, Thank you for your review, we are currently going through a refurbishment programme updating the rooms and bathrooms. I hope you have an enjoyable trip in the Highlands. More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just got married at the blacksmiths shop at the hotel we were a party of 12 and not one of us had a complaint rooms were all fine food was excellent and was given plenty staff were so friendly and would do anything for us wedding ran perfectly all day with the help of the hotel excellent 2 night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nigel H, General Manager at Gretna Hall, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you so much for your wonderful comments, I will pass them on to the whole team. I am glad that we able to make your day just that little bit extra special. More 

York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Upon arrival we we're checked straight into our room even though we arrived half an hour early which is great, there's plenty of teabags, coffee etc in the room. The room's are slightly dated and could do with abit more colour a nice canvas would do the trick instead of just white walls, the bathrooms need a proper clean the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nigel H, General Manager at Gretna Hall, responded to this review

Dear Katie S, Thank you for your comments regarding the the hotel in general. I will speak with the housekeeper and ensure that we address the issue you have raised regrading the bathrooms. I am sorry to hear that you had a disturbed night due to the fire alarm being activated and by the way it was handled, I will... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

204 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (152)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (49)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.1 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gretna Green
4.0 of 5 stars 947 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
0.8 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#5 of 5 in Gretna
3.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay