We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Gretna Green B&Bs / inns

Hazeldene Hotel

3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Main Street, Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT- BEST RATES
Hazeldene Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hazeldene Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 10 Gretna Green B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Lesley W Ballachulish, United Kingdom
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    23
    13
    12
    15
See reviews for
31
39
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (120)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Ballachulish, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Arrived in Gretna on Monday by train not sure what direction to travel. Walked into the village and came across a lovely hotel. Although we had not booked a room here, we wished we had. The staff were friendly, especially Stephen who was extremely helpful. Getting us a taxi to our hotel were we had been booked into. By the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Hazeldene Hotel for 3 nts from 13 November 2014 to attend a Wedding. We were greeted by a very friendly and helpful young man who showed us to our room. The facilities were quite adequate, comfortable and we had everything we needed. On the evening before the Wedding we had a meal here with a number... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Immediately on arriving the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the atmosphere was very relaxed,room was spotless and the beds were very comfortable, breakfast staff were first class, the locals were friendly and joined the residents in conversation as well as the music. Food was amazing, would highly recommend anyone to stay at Hazeldene, we will be staying again without... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and i plus our children stayed for one night as we were attending a wedding nearby and instantly on arrival the staff were great really friendly and child friendly.the rooms were great and the little chocs kids loved.extra little things that made us relax and we will definatley stay again.breakfast was a relaxed sunday morning and lovely hot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hi When I arrived here I thought It looked good for the money right in the heart of Gretna green, I was greeted by a friendly receptionist who was very helpful. We have lunch which was an amazing price and was nice. However when I went to bed I notice half the bed was broken with the slats hanging off.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paula B, Manager at Hazeldene Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I'm sorry that you felt your stay with us was not good. If you had have notified us that the bed was broken upon arrival, we could have dealt with it as oppose to you having an uncomfortable night. The member of staff who checked your check out time was in fact the owner. She has told me... More

Gtr. Manchester
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just returned from a lovely weekend at the Hazldene, the whole family stayed at the hotel as my daughter and her husband were renewing their vows at the Forge for their Silver Wedding Anniversary. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the food was really good, freshly cooked and plenty of variety. The staff were friendly and helpful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came along here due to a recommendation from a taxi driver as this was supposed to be one of the better bars in the area, I was with a wedding party staying nearby, the bartender still managed to forget half the order even though we where drinking the same beer all night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had the worst meal ever. Staff busy talking with each other, ordered 'homemade' bean burger without bun fries salad sweet chilli sauce. Had to wait a long time - customers who ordered after me were being served much sooner than I was. Food came - with bun and no sweet chili sauce - returned to kitchen to have bun removed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paula B, Manager at Hazeldene Hotel, responded to this review

Your review - There was obviously elements of your experience which were not good enough. For that I apologise. If there was a communication problem between the waiting and kitchen staff resulting in you not getting what you asked for, again I apologise. The food - We serve a number of these burgers every week. They are absolutely Home Made... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I would stay again, however, just a couple of things... Clean up all the dog poo outside in the yard, Its not a good first impression when that's the first thing you see when you step out of your car! .. The place needs sign posting better.. Good price on food, decent portions, not the best food but it's decent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lanark, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

stopped for a quick bite with the wife and daughter. Had to wait ages for the main course but the food was good. Reasonable price as well. The only issue was that there was no bottle water at all and the pie could do with some gravy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paula B, Manager at Hazeldene Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm sorry you had to wait for your main course. I have taken on board the comment about bottled water and that is now in stock. I only wish you had have asked about gravy and we could certainly have provided some. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hazeldene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazeldene Hotel

Address: Main Street, Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hazeldene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hazeldene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazeldene Hotel Gretna Green, Scotland

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Hazeldene Hotel

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Top-rated Attractions Nearby