We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castle Venlaw Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh Road, Peebles EH45 8QG , Scotland
Hotel amenities
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
saltire100 Scotland
Add Photo Write a Review

282 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    162
    60
    32
    16
    12
See reviews for
22
179
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (282)
  • Mar-May only
    (79)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (92)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (79)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Loved this hotel. Room great with unexpected bonus of a four poster bed and separate shower and bathroom. Pub is atmospheric and food - both dinner and breakfast - very good. Drinks are fairly pricey. Views of the town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

The first thing that struck us was the size of our room which can only be described as massive. The bed was enormous and there was still loads of room for a large sitting area and good sized bathroom. The bath was big, as was the shower. The views were lovely, looking through the trees and over Peebles. We decided... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We stayed for one night on our way down from the Highlands but Castle Venlaw was a bit of a let down. We were in a superior double but couldn't find much superior about it. The furniture had seen better days, was mismatched in style and the room could have benefitted from redecoration. We couldn't get the DVD player to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

From looking at the website this hotel looked like the idyllic venue for my wedding. I travelled from Northampton to Scotland to visit and get a quote etc. The staff were rude and unhelpful, the rooms were small, dated and not in good condition. The food was poor and extremely over priced. I waited weeks for my quote but never... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
venlawmanager, Owner at Castle Venlaw Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Ann-Marie M. Thank for your comments on Trip Advisor. I am a little puzzled to say the least by your comments, particularly about the team being rude, as this is not reflective of other reviewers comments. The other issue I have with your comments is that you complain that you did not receive a wedding quote. This is bizarre... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015 via mobile

myself and my husband first visited Venlaw the day after we got married on our way to where we were staying on our honeymoon I picked this place as it had a beautiful turret room and looked like a lovely romantic place to stay. We weren't disappointed the staff were all lovely food was amazing and our turret room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights with a friend cycling in Glentress. The hotel is basic but functional. There is WiFi in the bar, a good range on whisky and the staff are helpful. Breakfast choices are poor, the rooms are tired and the hotel feels run down. I've stayed in the Peebles Hydro before which is a nice hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doncaster
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

A lovely place to stay. Friendly helpful staff, Comfortable, queit and clean. Pleasant meal. Shower not that great but managed after a hard days ride. Bedroom door slammed to be shut. Great location great view over Peebles. Ideal one night stay over for travellers. However not for those on a budget.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

We fancied a night away as it was such a nice day booked on line, when we arrived we got a lovely welcome we put our bags in the room and went for a 30min walk before our evening meal, The food is great the steak is some of the best I have had, very reasonably priced the staff are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stuarts Draft, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Very wonderful hotel. The staff were very attentive and the meals were delightful. I would definitely stay there again. We only stayed on night but the room was a delight with a huge 4 poster bed and wonderful views.

Was this review helpful? Yes
peebles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015 via mobile

The castle is a bit off the beaten track but it is in a Lovely scenic location with views over the town of Peebles. The staff are very friendly and the food is amazing. We went for an evening meal with friends in March 2015 and returned April 2015. Definitely worth a visit. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay