We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Peebles Hydro

4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Innerleithen Road, Peebles EH45 8LX, Scotland
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Peebles Hydro
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

980 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    269
    315
    180
    125
    91
See reviews for
315
340
28
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (980)
  • Mar-May only
    (232)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (309)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (235)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (204)
All months
spygrl9993
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Having been taken over by Crieff Hydro I had expected Peebles Hydro to mirror Crieff, but it wasn't. You go in through a revolving door and upstairs to reception, which is lovely. Checked in early and reception staff were friendly. Our room was ok, it had a really big bed which was comfy, but the decor is rather tired and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Have just returned from overnight stay at Peebles Hydro. Now firstly can | say we are not the type just to moan, we are always honest about anything we review. Our comments we also addressed with the hotel before we left, which fell on deaf ears. We didn't know the hotel was being refurbished, well over due by the looks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Peebles hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We recently stayed at the Hydro when we were doing the Tour of the Borders Cycle, it was an expensive weekend but unfortunately so many hotels were fully booked. Having visited Crieff Hydro we were expecting something along the same lines but were greatly disappointed. As all the reviews have stated it is very tired looking and in need of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
norwich
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Large family room with childrens area slightly separated by an dressing/wardrobe area, view over the back of the hotel which was quiet. Staff extremely helpful, greetings exchanged whenever you meet them within the hotel. Family/Childrens activities during the day. Fantastic swimming pool, much larger than average, looks very new and included in the room cost. Breakfasts were excellent but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review listerD. It was great to learn that you had enjoyed both your time with us and your stay in Peebles overall. We are in a great position close to the town, and a short journey away from both lovely country side or the city. We hope you can visit again sometime soon. More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Recently stayed here with 3 generations of our family. As a family we have come to the Hydro for many years and have always had a wonderful time. We came last year and could see that things had deteriorated, but we gave it a try this year to see what changes had been made. Unfortunately the only visible changes were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Carole W. We are sorry to hear that some of the changes we have made are not to your particular taste. We are looking to give the Hydro a more modern and laid back feel although we know this may not appeal to all, we feel it is the necessary refreshment the Hotel needs. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Up and coming (maybe) ,would love to try this hotel in the future ,have being going for the past several years,last year very disappointing-this year 2015 ,still many issues when it has finished up dating would consider in the near future ,not up to standard at the moment,cheaper prices does not reflect standard of rooms ,good points Angus in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave us your review Karen T. It was great to hear that you liked some of the changes we have made. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future, so you can see some more of the improvements we are making. More 

Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was apprehensive after booking a two night stay for me and my husband after reading reviews on tripadvisor. I was expecting to be disappointed with the room but we must have been lucky as ours was on the first floor with fantastic views, a comfy bed and beatifully decorated which was in keeping with the old style of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback LindsayFife_Scotland, we were all very pleased to read that you had enjoyed your time with us. We are very lucky to have such a great team in our spa who look after everyone so well, I will pass your compliments on. We all hope we can welcome you back again soon. More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We visited the hotel this weekend with my mother who had stayed several times many years ago. She was really looking forward to revisiting the hotel but we were all disappointed with our stay. The hotel is in a fantastic location with stunning views but that is the best bit about it. As several other reviews have commented the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Many thanks for leaving us your feedback Alison M. We were sorry to hear that our work to give the Hydro a more modern and laid back feel was not to your particular taste. Our work will be continuing for some time to come, due to the scale of the job, but we do hope you can return sometime soon,... More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Called in for a coffee and a milk shake, after my wife had drunk her coffee and a 40 min wait, we pointed out to the waiter that the milk shake had not come and it finally arrived 5 mins later with a mumbled apology. Not what I would call service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Sorry to hear about this Deryck H. At very busy times many of the team have to cover large areas of the hotel, so I'm sorry if the milk shake you ordered was initially overlooked. More 

Cornwall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We visited Peebles Hydro many years ago and felt it would be special to revisit last week. We had spent a week travelling around Scotland and hoped we'd saved the best until last and were hugely disappointed. The room was tired in the extreme, not very clean, extremely basic and more like a 2 star. We were moved, but didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback Sue C. I'm sorry that you were not informed of the ongoing changes when you booked, this would depend on which channel you booked through. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

201 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (193)
Viewed
View from room (24)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (34)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
0.5 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
4.5 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
3.0 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#3 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 stars 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#7 of 8 in Peebles
4.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Castle Venlaw Hotel
#5 of 8 in Peebles
4.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
14.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Philipburn Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay