We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Peebles hotels

Peebles Hydro

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Innerleithen Road, Peebles EH45 8LX, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Peebles Hydro
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Peebles Hydro to your Saves list
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
marlinPaisley paisley
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    251
    137
    101
    73
See reviews for
250
264
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (782)
  • Mar-May only
    (152)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (198)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (228)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (204)
All months
paisley
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars NEW

Arrived at hotel and were given room 122 which was at the front and a great sized room with a great view. Big bathroom - couldn't fault anything in the room. We explored the gym and pool almost immediately and tried them both out. Gym everything you need same goes for pool. We then visited the cocktail bar and although... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
edinburgh
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

needs a lot of money spent to bring it up to modern standards. very tired menu . too few staff . reasonable pool . it is a great position , but new owners need to spend big. threadbare carpets going to " executive" room in 70s annex . only bar in poor condition in basement( ok at one time it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time out to leave your feedback bbwtoo. The hotel is being improved on an on going basis. As I am sure you can understand this is a huge task, but positive changes are being made all the time. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I went to this hotel just as a day guest for lunch and a few treatments using a vouchers from a daily deals site. I was impressed with what I received for the price I paid. We had a massage and a quick manicure. The massage was just the right pressure and did what a massage should do. As with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Many thanks Clairmelville for taking the time to leave your feedback. It's great to hear that you had an enjoyable visit and felt pampered. We look forward to seeing you in the better weather to enjoy some sunshine and cake. More 

Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for two nights in two different rooms. The first room was fab except very noisy because it was near the lift. We heard the lift open and close each time. It had a comfy bed, large flat screen tv and great front view. Shower/bath was old but acceptable. We asked to be moved to a room away from lift... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Di144. The team work extremely hard under a lot of pressure and usually always deliver the best in service, you have clearly not seen them at their best this time round, sorry for this. More 

Paisley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from two day winter break and to say we were disappointed is the least we could say. The place is very run down. The carpets are threadbare the furniture must be over fifty years old and looks it and not in a good way, the dining room is a shambles waiting thirty minutes to get in for breakfast,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Many thanks for leaving your feedback Doby9. So sorry your stay was not all you had hoped for. The refreshment of the hotel is in hand but can't happen overnight due to the size and scale of the task, but we hope all our guests will see some significant changes within the next few months. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Got a last minute deal for one night dinner bed n breakfast. On arrival the place looks grand although inside the decor was very dated it suited it's image and this wasn't an issue for us. After a swim sauna n steam room we had been fully relaxed. However when attended for dinner we wher both extremely disappointed. The waiting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Thanks for your review NICnBRI. It's not clear from your review if you brought all of these issues to our attention at the time, as I'm sure we could have resolved some of these. We do aim to please everyone with our selection of food and I'm sorry if this wasn't the case for you. More 

Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Peebles Hydro Have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Peebles Hydro with my wife, two daughters (11 and 8) and my mother (80). We all had a delightful time, (in fact it was my most enjoyable holiday for several years). The good points are: 1) It is a very grand, spacious building with beautiful views over the hills... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your great feedback TableTennisTrier. It's fantastic to hear you all had such an enjoyable visit. We really are very lucky to be in such a great location with all the activities and scenery on our doorstep. We look forward to seeing you and yours again very soon! More 

Edinburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Parking was horrendous. Room dismal. 'Spa facilities' was like something you would find in your local council pool. Kids messing about with blow up toys and splashing, definitely not relaxing! The whole place needs done up and we specifically asked for a twin room and got given a small room. Over all we were definitely dissappointed and if you're looking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

As it was mid-term,and we are a family hotel, there were lots of families enjoying their break. This would mean a busy car park and children enjoying their time in our pool, as they should. Perhaps a visit at a more appropriate time would have suited you better 123nm. More 

Peebles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter has just had her wedding at Peebles Hydro and it was absolutely amazing. Every member of staff were so attentive and caring making it a most memorable occasion for all the family and friends. Many of us were staying and the rooms were just perfect. We could never thank everyone but Rebecca, Leanne, Caroline and Corrine were stars.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

How wonderful that we could play such a huge part in your special occasion Annetteel. We are all so pleased yourself and your family and friends had such a memorable day. We all wish the Happy Couple all the very best. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just back from a fabulous weekend. Such great value for money. A huge thanks once again to Rebecca in reception who supported us with our booking a managed to allocate the room we requested. When we arrived we were met by a girl in reception ( so sorry didn't get her name) who was so friendly and extremely helpful, she... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Thanks for your great feedback lindylou40. It's always fantastic to learn that you have had an enjoyable stay. It's a very exciting time for The Hydro as we move into the future but the old Hydro charm will always remain. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Peebles Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peebles Hydro

Address: Innerleithen Road, Peebles EH45 8LX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Peebles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peebles Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Peebles Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydro Peebles
Hydro Hotel Peebles
Peebles Hydro Hotel
Peebles Hydro Scotland

158 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (155)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay