We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay Waverley Castle Hotel

Hotel website
Skirmish Hill | Waverley Road, Melrose TD6 9AA, Scotland
Special Offer
BREAKS STARTING FROM £99
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

405 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    104
    146
    88
    40
    27
See reviews for
59
188
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (405)
  • Mar-May only
    (113)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (95)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (102)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (95)
All months
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have just returned after seven nights with a party of friends from Leeds Irish Centre, Our Room was clean and comfortable and overlooked the gardens at the side, we enjoyed watching the rabbits from our window. Food was good and staff very helpful, especially our waiter on the first evening Eduardo who was always smiling and very friendly, was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James M, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 108Olivia Thank you for you lovely review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Eduardo is delighted to get a special mention and we all hope to be able to welcome you all back to the Waverley Castle in the future Kind Regards James More 

Arnside
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a four day break at Waverley Castle in a "Superior Room". We have stayed in such graded rooms in several Shearings hotels and have not been disappointed. However Room 319 was far from superior and some areas of the hotel rather shabby.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
James M, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janice G Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We are disappointed that you didn't feel your room was up to standard and we are reviewing our standards at all times to try and meet all our guests expectations. Regards James More 

Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Met with friends from Mid Wales Very impressive hotel in its own grounds. Hotel very clean food and service excellent. The evening entertainment excellent could not fault this holiday well worth a visit. It was a Shearings holiday and every thing was first class. P.S. Could just make a comment about the smoking area being at the front door and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James M, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fittonmanchster Thanks for taking the time fto review your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I have taken on board your comment regarding smokers and will try and come up with something that everyone is happy with! Kind regards James More 

Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here recently with our group of ballroom/latin/sequence dancers-and we had a BALL! Our room was quite small compared to the others, but it had everything we needed, and looked as if it had been refurbished in recent years.The entertainment Friday /Saturday was James, resident singer-who was quite happy for our wee group to quickstep, etc-but that Tango, James?was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James M, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lindahazlie Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and Eduardo your waiter is delighted to be mentioned in your review. We all hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future Kind regards James More 

Hebburn
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I first visited this hotel many years ago and to be honest I considered it to be very poor and shabby. My wife and I have just returned from a four day stay there with National Holiday's and the difference is amazing. Obviously a great deal of money has been spent renovating the hotel to a very high standard. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James M, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Malcolm H Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased you have noticed a difference as there has been a lot of refurbishment at the hotel and more planned!! We hope we can welcome you back soon to see further changes. Kind regards James More 

Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Bay Waverley Castle Hotel lies a short distance from the attractive border town of Melrose. It presents as an impressive building set in attractive grounds and is currently owned and managed by the Shearings Holiday Group. The rooms vary quite extensively in size and outlook and it is well worth considering an upgrade to premier accommodation for greater comfort... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James M, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear George B Thank you for your review of your stay and we are really pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your break with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future Regards James More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Returned yesterday from a 5 day Shearings break to this hotel. First class from start to finish. Room, food, staff, trips and our driver Stuart were excellent. Will definitely go again soon. The scenery and grounds were lovely. John and Marie. Sunderland

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
James M, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maria K Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon Kind regards James More 

Stafford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Waverley Castle is a fine old hotel set in beautiful grounds that lead down to the River Tweed.It was built in the 19th. century to capitalise on the boom in tourism to the Scott Country. Sir Walter Scott's house, Abbotsford is within walking distance and there's even a statue of the great man in the hotel grounds! Indeed there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James M, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter W Thank you for your recent lovely review of your stay with us. We are all delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Waverley Castle soon Kind regards James More 

Bolton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

Had a lovely stay in this lovely part of Scotland, had a very nice room but was rather chilly when the central heating went off this was March as the windows wasn't closing properly this was what was causing the problem did report it so should be fine now. That being the only complaint the food was lovely, the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James M, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JimboBolton Thank you for your recent review and we are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. I have passed on your comments to our Traffic department regarding the travel to andd from the hotel. Regards James More 

Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

We stayed at this hotel between 30th March-3rd April 2015 a Shearing's midweek break from London Gateway,a very long journey(but I knew that) and would do it again. Jake was our excellent coach driver. All staff were excellent,cheerful and efficient,and particularly to the bar staff Allan and Jorge,all the 3 coaches in that week had drinks vouchers included,so made it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James M, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear petercR409AW Thank you for your lovely review of your stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and Alan and Jorge are delighted to get a special mention - they have asked me to pass on their personal thanks. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Waverley Castle soon Regards James More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

144 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (138)
Viewed
Room/suite (76)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay