We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Heatherfield House

Certificate of Excellence
Albert Road, Oban PA34 5EJ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Heatherfield House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    193
    28
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
165
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (226)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (86)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for 1 night in August en-route to Barra. We stayed in Room 6 on the first floor - clean & modern double room with lovely little touches - fresh linen on the bed, chocolates, heating already on, lovely fluffy bathrobes & a full hospitality tray for refreshments during your stay! Big en-suite with double shower & gorgeous local organic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ours was a small flat rather than a room! Everything was neat and tidy and carefully decorated. Breakfast also was excellent and with plenty of choice. Location is also very good because it is central, but far from the noise. Pity we stayed only one night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Corsicana, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights in Oban at Heatherfield house. It is on a 1 way back road so it is a little challenging to find. We walked to the pubs, bus, city center, distillery they were all close. They served a very good breakfast, no one goes away hungry. Not much of a view because the houses are all so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frankston, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

We spent 3 days in Heatherfield House. The room was possibly the best we stayed in while we were in Scotland, and our hosts made us feel very welcome. It was hard to say goodbye when it came time to leave. Breakfasts were excellent, with plenty of choice, and because we had to make an early departure on the day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

Stayed 1 night in June. Pros: warm welcome, clean, friendly, very comfy mattress, very well managed, furniture looks new, the very best porridge I had during our two week stay in Scotland. Vegetarian breakfast available. Mike is very considerate and helpful. Quiet location, slept with open window. Could hear a bit of music from guesthouse on the other road but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

My wife and I stayed here for one night during our Honeymoon in May 2015. We were warmly greeted as we parked by the owner and offered help taking our bags to our room. We had booked a King Suite which consisted or our own private entry hall off a shared landing, a private bathroom with roll top bath and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

My husband did a great amount of research in finding the right B&B for us during our travels in Scotland and he decided on the Heatherfield House. We were not disappointed. The Inn is quiet, clean and well maintained. I state this as the first positive observation because I can't quite say that about most of the hotels/inns in Europe.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mike f, Owner at Heatherfield House, responded to this review

Joan - what a lovely and detailed review you have given us. We both feel so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much and took in so many little details. Thank you for taking the time to send this very kind response. We hope you find other lovely experiences during your time in Scotland. Julie and Mike More 

Warren, VT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

We were delighted with our stay at Heatherfield House for our short visit to Oban. Our room was spacious and comfortable, the ensuite bathroom was great, and the cooked to order breakfasts were first class. Our hosts were welcoming and very helpful. The location provides a partial view over the harbour from many of the guest rooms, and it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at the Heatherfield house in Oban. The location is perfect and is walking distance to great restaurants and shops as well as McCaigs tower. We parked our car and spent the rest of our stay walking around Oban. The breakfast was also excellent. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

We stayed at Heatherfield House for a four night break at the end of March. The accommodation was first class and the hosts Mike and Julie were very welcoming. Our room was spacious and very comfortable with every facility we could hope for. The breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice. We would highly recommend this B&B. Thank you for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (75)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Manse Guest House
0.0 mi away
Greystones
Greystones
#1 of 98 in Oban
5.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glenrigh Guest House
Glenrigh Guest House
#17 of 98 in Oban
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay