We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 99 Oban B&Bs / inns

Glenroy Guest House

Rockfield Rd, Oban PA34 5DQ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
  • Reviews (71)
  • Photos (7)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (10)
  • Location
  • More
Glenroy Guest House
Ranked #33 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    24
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
42
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had only one night at the Glenroy, but we found it everything we needed. Our room was small but incredibly comfortable (definitely needed after a long drive from Glasgow!) and Wendy and Hugh were very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast the next morning was fantastic and set us up perfectly for a day's exploring! We would definitely recommend staying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a great place to stay before catching an early morning ferry from Oban. Many B&Bs in Oban fail to offer much breakfast before 7:30am - I speak from long experience! But Glenroy was the first ever B&B to offer a hot bacon sandwich for our departure, plus some other breakfast stuff (yoghurt, banana, muffin etc) in a breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pickering, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband and I were very pleased with the newly renovated room and the delicious breakfast provided. We were just staying one night on a trip around Scotland. Wendy was cheery and a joy to talk to. Hugh's breakfast was the perfect start to the day with generous portions. My husband is a vegetarian and it was not an issue.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lyon, France
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Our family stayed here for one evening -- our first night on a three-week jaunt through Scotland and Iceland -- and we definitely enjoyed our stay. We took two rooms, both of them at the top of the first flight of stairs, but only one of them had an ensuite shower. (This was communicated to us at the time of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed two nights in this guesthouse during a whim visit to Oban. I had a lovely time. Wendy and Hugh, although "new" to the business, are accomplished hosts who clearly love the area and are ready to give advice about what to do (if you want). They are not obstrusive; but as I travel alone I am happy to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TaighAoigheachd, Owner at Glenroy Guest House, responded to this review

Hello There Thank you so much for your kind words. I was really nice meeting you and hope to see you again next year when you may have more time to visit Mull for those photo shots. Hugh and I are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we enjoyed your company. Have a wonderful Christmas and all our... More

London, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Hosts friendly. Beds comfortable. Everything clean. But - rooms very small, including public rooms. Not all rooms are en suite - we had to come downstairs to the ground floor, (the public area) in robes, to take a shower in a shared bathroom. If we'd been told this before booking we'd have gone elsewhere. All this for the princely sum... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TaighAoigheachd, Owner at Glenroy Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Lindamama We thank you for taking the time to write a review of you stay here at Glenroy. We are always interested to know what people like or didn't like about their stay with us as it helps us to work on improving the service we can offer our guests when staying in our home. We do our very... More

Eckington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and myself loved this place. In fact she said that she could quite happily live here.!!! The rooms are soooo comfortable and clean and there is a really good choice in the drinks/biscuits in the rooms. The beds are comfy and everything is clean. Hugh and Wendy are doing a terrific job of trying to ensure that everybody... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TaighAoigheachd, Owner at Glenroy Guest House, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and were sad to see you go. You were great fun to have here and a lovely couple. Next time you must try the porridge! ;0) Hope to see you both again in the future. Best regards Wendy and Hugh More

Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We enjoyed our one-night stay here and would recommend it highly. Our room, though small, was well furnished and equipped and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. We enjoyed the small lounge where we could have a glass of wine before setting off for dinner. Our hosts Wendy and Hugh are lovely people and made us very welcome -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TaighAoigheachd, Owner at Glenroy Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review of your stay here at Glenroy. We are always interested in what people have to say and take all reviews on board and where ever possible use them in order to improve what we have to offer our guests. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to... More

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed in the attic room which had a nice view of the harbour. Unfortunately there was an unpleasant underlying odour in the bathroom.The morning after we mentioned this to Wendy and Hugh and received a rather defensive response. We're really disappointed to have just seen that this was already raised with them via a previous review (August 2013) and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TaighAoigheachd, Owner at Glenroy Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give a review of your stay at Glenroy and sorry it was a negative one. We did inspect the room after you left and could not smell any unpleasant odour. We lifted the vinyl floor covering and it was completely dry and clean. We asked our builder if he could detect any reason... More

Wirral
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were a late booking for this Guest House, and on arrival we were shown to the Attic Room. Described by Wendy as Bijou, it was certainly cosy. Having said that, the bed - which lets face it is the most important thing in the room - was very comfy and we did get a really good night`s sleep. Yes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Glenroy Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Glenroy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenroy Guest House

Address: Rockfield Rd, Oban PA34 5DQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Glenroy Guest House Oban, Scotland

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Free Parking
Number of rooms
7

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Glenroy Guest House to your Saves list