We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 98 Oban B&Bs / inns

Alltavona Guest House

Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ , Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Alltavona Guest House to your Saves list
Alltavona Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
80%
Ranked #45 of 98 Oban B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
pamlowry
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    35
    16
    11
    3
See reviews for
16
89
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had another lovely stay at "alltavona" we have been coming here now for a good few years and have enjoyed every visit. Breakfast in the morning is more than enough to keep you going all day great selection on offer and had great chat and banter with the ladies doing the waitressing. Our room (4) was spotless and had the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed at this Guest House recently for a few days. The hosts were very friendly, sharing local knowledge. We had a sea view room, which if you have the chance to great, grab with both hands. The view from the room was stunning. Breakfast was also excellent and the lady assisting with these, should get a special mention. Overall,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarolAHarris, Owner at Alltavona Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review . We are delighted with your comments and truthful points . It is such a pleasure to have you stay with us and look forward to your return. Carol Harris. More

Manchester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Rather uneventful stay. Little on-site parking but we were lucky to get a free parking space in the adjacent road. Problems with the toilet cistern were addressed adequately by the son of the house - to whom, thanks. Really needs a plumber to thoroughly sort out. Location: a little far from the centre and ferry terminals if walking, but OK.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CarolAHarris, Owner at Alltavona Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Alltavona is approximately 10 min walk into town and centrally located . The toilet cistern was not broken until you flushed it and was quickly rectified, why the need to comment on this as it makes out it was broken before you arrived. I am pleased that everything else acceptable and you enjoyed your stay.... More

Kemptville, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in this wonderful old house. We had the two adjacent ground floor rooms. The service and welcome were great. The breakfast was delicious. Our rooms were comfortable and the view of the harbour and the waters superb. The esplanade is on the waterfront of course and this inn is near the war memorial ie at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Paul and carol were very professional and helpful hosts. They were very accommodating of our last minute change of plans. The room was beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. The breakfast room has a lovely view over the water and the food was delightful. It is a short walk into town with lots of great restaurants and shopping. A very pretty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My wife and I have just spent a very enjoyably three days at Alltavona. We had a lovely room with beautiful views over Oban. We didn't have a car as we had chosen to tour Scotland by train and bus. A lovely welcome with excellent food. Carol & Paul were excellent hosts and there were a couple of 'Fawlty Towers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eaglesham, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed here for one night (wise decision) during a recent holiday weekend. On arrival, we were met by the owner and notified that although we had pre-booked a room with sea view our booking had seemingly been double booked so would we mind staying in a ground floor back room next to the dining area. I love when these issues... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
CarolAHarris, Owner at Alltavona Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your hilarious review which had me laughing but I have to reply to your review which has a few discrepancies. We do offer a varied and wide selection for breakfast as other guests can read from our other reviews. Firstly the full breakfast consists of egg, two pieces of bacon two tomatoes hash brown or potato scone... More

Northallerton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

On arrival disappointed to see the very small car park (cars need to be shuffled). Room on 2nd floor ( we are retired;my fault didn't check which floor). The room overlooked the sea- great. The "wardrobe" was a closed off area of the wall with louvre doors. In the "wardrobe" was a chest of drawers with bedding on top. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 28
CarolAHarris, Owner at Alltavona Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review as threatened by text , (which I still have a copy) if a charge was to be made for your stay. As you did not vacate the room until 7 pm I was unable to re let the room that evening. You entered into a contract for a five night stay but you were not... More

Carluke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent two nights in Carol's lovely, friendly bed and breakfast. The room was very well decorated and comfortable and the tea and coffee making facilities were very good. The view over the bay was delightful. The whole house is delightfully decorated and has welcoming, friendly atmosphere. Carol went out of her way to make sure we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dervaig, Tobermory, Isle of Mull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We did not expect to be staying in Oban on a Saturday night, so just took pot luck and wandered in to the Alltavona to see if they had a room. We were in luck. There was a room with a spectacular view over Oban Bay. It seemed to have been recently refurbished, was beautifully decorated and had a spotlessly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarolAHarris, Owner at Alltavona Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that the bed was uncomfortable and on investigation found the reason, the wooden spar under the bed had been broken, which I am glad to say has now been replaced. I must hasten to add that I am sure this was not your... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Alltavona Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Alltavona Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alltavona Guest House

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alltavona Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alltavona Guest House Hotel Oban
Alltavona Guest House Oban, Scotland

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Oban with
any amenities