We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 98 Oban B&Bs / inns

Corriemar Guest House

6 Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AO, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Corriemar Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Corriemar Guest House to your Saves list
Ranked #59 of 98 Oban B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014
vonster74 Glasgow, United Kingdom
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    30
    17
    16
    15
See reviews for
30
67
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (131)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

My other half and i visited the Corriemar for the first time as a surprise birthday treat for myself back in July. We stayed in room 2 which is just a standard double room with everything you would expect to find in a b & b. We enjoyed our stay so much that we returned this weekend for another visit.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Corriemar H, Owner at Corriemar Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Vonster74, Thank you very much for taking the time to write. It's so heart warming for us to read such a straight forward open and honest review. We have been dogged, as many other hoteliers have these days, with people writing comments that are their opinion but written in such a way to hurt and damage. We take pride... More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

I had the misfortune to stay here with my family. I made the mistake of thinking it would actually be like the pictures on the site. It is NOT!! maybe 20 years ago but not now. Lights were broken, damp on walls, dirty linen with hairs and blood stains on the bedding, the whole place smelt like a old castle.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Corriemar H, Owner at Corriemar Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Judith, We were disappointed to see your review come in for a number of reasons. Firstly you have already posted a review on here from your stay back in April, so to write another one 7 months later and more importantly 4 months since your first review, we feel is very worrying and appears that for some reason you... More 

Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We stayed here for one night and found the place a bit bizarre to say the least!! Not the warmest of welcomes awaited us and the room was quite oldy worldy!! Breakfast wasn't great either as it seemed that the cheapest of the cheap food had been used. We will not be hurrying back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Corriemar H, Owner at Corriemar Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. Corriemar is a beautiful Victorian building which we furnish with high quality furniture and fixings. We appreciate it’s not to everyone’s taste, particularly if you prefer a more contemporary environment. You can see from our website we’re very much a classically traditional Guest House, but we do appreciate all feedback. Thanks again, Billy and Sandra... More 

Quincy, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

The Corriemar has a good walkable location from downtown Oban and can be a good base for exploring Iona, Staffa and Mull. The property was easy to find and in a big old townhouse which was filled with eclectic character. We stayed two nights in a sea view room which had wonderful views of the ships coming and going. Rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

This guest house has a fabulous location. The rooms are small and the ensuite satisfactory. As in most old homes, there are lots of steps. The service was uninspired though, to be fair, our group came at the end of the season. The sea view was minimal from the room but awesome from the lounge.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

The guest house has a good location on the sea front. The building is a beautiful 3 story victorian house. It is decorated in an ornate manner, stuffed with fragile ornaments and dolls. Our room, which we paid £88 for was tiny and faced a blank wall. The bedhead was surrounded by cupboards, which woke us in the night as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Corriemar, Owner at Corriemar Guest House, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your feedback. Your review has knocked us back a little and actually made us feel quite sad as you didn't make any comments to either myself or Sandra when we were chatting. We also thought we had gone above and beyond what is usual for some places, when you turned up very early to check... More 

Frankfurt/Main
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Superb location when you get a room with sea view, which we hadn´t. The room was OK, a little bit oldfashioned, but clean. Breakfast was average. The owner was nice, but in other accomodations we got warmer welcomes. For that price I honestly was expecting a bit more. Anyway, had a good time in Oban.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Corriemar, Owner at Corriemar Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write of your recent stay with us. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay in Oban. If you're every back give us a call and we'll do our best to ensure you get one of our Sea View rooms. These rooms are always very popular so it's best to book far in... More 

CoB
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Moved to this Guest House as the Caledonian Hotel in Oban failed to honour my booking (I got three different excuses! be wary of this hotel), although slightly further to walk to the Guest House, it was a very pleasant route. It a very well very appointed, the room was the best I have stayed in during my many visits... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Corriemar, Owner at Corriemar Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks very much Jim for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It was great to meet you. One of the perks of owning a guest house, we get to meet lots of interesting people! Hopefully we'll see you again next time you're in Oban. Best Wishes from us all. Billy and Sandra. More 

Gold Coast, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This is a lovely B&B in a great location. We had a beautifully appointed front room with an absolutely amazing view over the Bay. The hosts were very welcoming and helpful during our stay and most responsive to requests. The Scottish breakfasts are a special feature of this B&B and well worth experiencing, especially the haggis and black pudding. Oban... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Corriemar, Owner at Corriemar Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review of your stay with us. It makes us very happy to hear you have enjoyed all aspects of our hospitality all the way from Australia! Best wishes and take care. From us all at Corriemar. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

If you are travelling to Scotland I would not recommend this place. We booked accommodation at the above from the 21st July until the 23rd July (2 nights). The reception we recieved when we arrived was very unwelcoming so should have realised what was coming. In the room we was allocated, there was no milk, no tissues, no hand soap... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
Corriemar, Owner at Corriemar Guest House, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write your review as you promised or perhaps the more appropriate word should be threatened. Unfortunately it seems to be common practice in today’s world with some people that as we refused to allow you to stay with us free of charge not only did you threaten to ‘destroy us with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Corriemar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corriemar Guest House

Address: 6 Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AO, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Corriemar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corriemar Guest House Oban, Scotland

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay