We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Corriemar Guest House

6 Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Corriemar Guest House
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #59 of 98 Oban B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Liverbird50186337 Liverpool, United Kingdom
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    32
    18
    16
    16
See reviews for
31
70
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (138)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed her over the bank holiday weekend and it was a really comfortable stay. We opted for a deluxe room. The room was very large and immaculately clean. It is an old house and I loved the fact some original features had been kept. The furniture in the room is in keeping with an older house but very tasteful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

second time ive wrote this review as it keeps getting removed by owners! booked what I was told was going to be a room with a sea view only to turn up on the day of arrival to be given a room with a view of a brick wall room 17.the room was dirty bed sheets were stained as were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5

Travelers are raving about these Oban hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I treated ourselves to a night here while on our honeymoon and it is hands down our favorite place in Oban and the western coast. Gorgeous room with a breathtaking view of the sunset, and they even gave us a bottle of bubbly to celebrate our nuptials! Also a lovely breakfast with a huge amount of choice,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 2 nights, warm welcome and cosy room.. I can understand the decor isn't to everyone's choosing but I'm not keen on a generic room and the quirks make it more interesting Bathroom and shower very tidy. Breakfast filling and location handy for the town. Car parking - they do ask if your blocking someone in leave your keys... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When you arrive in Edimburg, it will take 3 hours to enjoy the scenic route to Oban. When you arrive at Corriemar house you feel home. A warm welcome, a nice place, in front of the seawall, what can you expect more? The room is quiet, cosy and I must confess that I like the deco. When.travelling to Scotland you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Banknock, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015 via mobile

We visited Oban this weekend and decided to stay at the Corriemar Guest House on the Esplanade . It is a large Victorian house with fantastic views (even in the rain!). When we arrived we were welcomed by the lady of the house who was very pleasant ! We stayed in room 6 which is a fantastic superior king size... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Lanarkshire, Scotland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

My husband and myself stayed here overnight when we visited Oban. I have read the other comments on TA and have to disagree with most of them. We were in room 14. It had a wonderful view overlooking the bay. There were one or two problems, but hey! nobody's perfect. The room was very cold, but Sandra (proprietor) supplied us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Corriemar H, Owner at Corriemar Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Helen G Many thanks for taking the time to review us and especially for your lovely comments. As you know, we were genuinely sorry that you were feeling a little chilly, but really pleased you let us know so we were able to remedy the situation right away. It was lovely having you to stay, hopefully we’ll see you... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

My other half and i visited the Corriemar for the first time as a surprise birthday treat for myself back in July. We stayed in room 2 which is just a standard double room with everything you would expect to find in a b & b. We enjoyed our stay so much that we returned this weekend for another visit.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Corriemar H, Owner at Corriemar Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Vonster74, Thank you very much for taking the time to write. It's so heart warming for us to read such a straight forward open and honest review. We have been dogged, as many other hoteliers have these days, with people writing comments that are their opinion but written in such a way to hurt and damage. We take pride... More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

I had the misfortune to stay here with my family. I made the mistake of thinking it would actually be like the pictures on the site. It is NOT!! maybe 20 years ago but not now. Lights were broken, damp on walls, dirty linen with hairs and blood stains on the bedding, the whole place smelt like a old castle.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Corriemar H, Owner at Corriemar Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Judith, We were disappointed to see your review come in for a number of reasons. Firstly you have already posted a review on here from your stay back in April, so to write another one 7 months later and more importantly 4 months since your first review, we feel is very worrying and appears that for some reason you... More 

Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We stayed here for one night and found the place a bit bizarre to say the least!! Not the warmest of welcomes awaited us and the room was quite oldy worldy!! Breakfast wasn't great either as it seemed that the cheapest of the cheap food had been used. We will not be hurrying back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Corriemar H, Owner at Corriemar Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. Corriemar is a beautiful Victorian building which we furnish with high quality furniture and fixings. We appreciate it’s not to everyone’s taste, particularly if you prefer a more contemporary environment. You can see from our website we’re very much a classically traditional Guest House, but we do appreciate all feedback. Thanks again, Billy and Sandra... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay