We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tanglin B&B

3 Breadalbane St, Oban PA34 5PE, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Tanglin B&B
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    22
    5
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (32)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Please note the B&B is under new ownership ... And they are off to a SLOW start. (Suffice to say we weren't impressed.). We saw the owners once - at check in. No way to reach them with questions or issues. We were asked via note to leave cash and the keys in the room when we left. Everything is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tauranga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Never saw the owner, left message on the door to leave cash in an envelope ( £88). Rooms tired and shabby. Shower not working properly, bath out of order. Had to help ourselves to breakfast, no cooked breakfast, told if you want a cooked breakfast go to cafe down the road who will give you 10% off the price. Very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
e b, Owner at Tanglin B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. You never met me due to the fact you arrived outwith our reception times and never bothered to call to arrange this and left early in the morning before I got back in from dropping my child off at nursery. Breakfast is as advertised on the site you booked... More 

Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

New owners had taken over that day they own the Cameron Guest house next door so e ery thing was an effort we had to pay extra for breakfast which was to be continental and self service not what was on booking .com. we were asked to pay in cash before we even saw rooms and as we did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

My sister and I had room 1 which had 2 twin beds. This B&B is in a good location for walking to restaurants. There is free parking available. Breakfast was delicious, but I missed the yogert that was sometimes available at other B&Bs. The UK doesn't allow outlets in the bathrooms so it is important that there is a mirror... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

This was a wonderful, comfortable inn that provided us with not only an exceptionally comfortable room but also a great breakfast and great conversations. We highly recommend this to all! The accommodations were first rate!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed here on Sunday night, arrived with the motorbike soaked through. Liz and Jim were kind enough to dry our biking gear for us in their garage. Really nice room and lovey breakfast. Would definitely recommend a stay at this lovely b and b.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Tanglin B&B was such a pleasant stay for us. We spent two nights there and wish it could have been more. Jim and Liz were such accommodating hosts. They helped us plan our time, gave us travel tips, and made sure we had everything we needed for the day. We loved Oban, in large part because we loved staying at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Jim and Liz are a team! It's sweet to see how they work together to make everything just right for their guests. Our room was cozy and clean, and we loved the view out across a slate roof to a tiny shop and alley. Be advised, breakfast is VERY hearty! If you have a small appetite, best to let Liz... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ohio
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Our hosts were kind and accommodating. The breakfast room was lovely and they were happy to accommodate our request for a vegatarian diet...that is to say, oatmeal and toast and fruit. Our room was fine, large for a B&B. location was close to the downtown strip. It is not on the esplanade, but we didn't miss that.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Tanglin B&B was perfect for our stay in Oban. Great location, very clean, very wonderful host Jim and Liz. Loved talking with them about their travels and biking and our Scottish breakfast was delicious and they went out of our way to make our stay in Oban perfect. We highly recommend this wonderful place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
4.2 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
3.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.3 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 stars 580 reviews
0.3 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#5 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 stars 705 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#64 of 98 in Oban
3.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay