We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Palace Hotel

3.0 of 5 20 George Street, Oban PA34 5SB, Scotland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Palace Hotel
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    25
    23
    8
    16
See reviews for
24
29
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (81)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We spent 5 nights at the Palace Hotel at the end of October and the rate we paid was real value for money. The hotel is in a prime location on George Street overlooking Oban bay. We were on a room only basis, but what a room! We had room 3, a double, which has recently been refurbished. We had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review. As with our king size room this was a major refurbishment with the room being taken back to the bare brick and everything from electrics to plumbing replaced. We have tried to recreate the luxury of our king size room for this smaller more affordable room. We hope to see you again in the... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms are a bit small but value for money. None of that matters when you meet the wonderful and helpful staff and a beautiful view. For a day or 2 this is a perfect stop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the time taken to write a review. We have rooms of varying sizes if guests wish a larger rear room we would suggest booking the king size or for a larger front room we have two super king size rooms. For the more budget minded the standard double or twin with out view is the best option.... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

A lot of the reviews on here seem to ignore the price they are paying when they review. We had a room here, the price was cheap, we had just dropped in as we had no reservations anywhere and the lady on the reception was both friendly and helpful. The room is basic and a little tired, but the location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the time taken to write a review. This room is due for renovation and we hope that you will find it has improved for the next time that you are here. You are correct that the 22" tv has only the free television channels. However the large screen tv in the lounge has even more channels. More 

Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Stayed here for one night recently. Our hosts were very friendly and welcoming. We were pleasantly surprised with the room which was more up to date than the rest of the hotel and had everything we needed. Dining and lounge areas were a little tired (and had strong smell of fried food) but overall a pleasant place to lay your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We hope to start renovations to the areas you mention shortly. The special offer on our fresh fish with chips was more popular than we had anticipated and apologize for the smell of all the cooking. We look forward to seeing you in the future. More 

Peel, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

This hotel is perfectly adequate for a couple of nights stay. The breakfasts were superb and the whole stay enjoyable. This is not a boutique hotel or anything fancy at all. The rooms are rather tired BUT the view over the harbour was superb and the price.....well, only a half of what others were charging.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the time taken to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. we are constantly repairing and improving the hotel and try to do so whilst limiting disruption to guests we hope that you will wind these changes to your liking. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Helensburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Was looking for a cheap hotel in Oban at short notice phoned the Palace hotel was given a double room en-suite for £50 ( could have had one with a sea view but that was £70). Arrived a couple of hours later to be met by a very friendly owner and her granddaughter who checked us in. The room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We try and offer clean comfortable accommodation in our home. We look forward to seeing you in the future. More 

Nottingham
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

As others have stated the Hotel is a narrow building on the sea front in bustling Oban. Parking is possible on a meter outside if you are very lucky but generally using an off road car park some five minute walk away is required As my wife had difficulty with stairs I had requested via Booking .com a room on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the time taken to write a review. Firstly we would like to apologize that we were unaware that you required a lower room as this did not come through on the booking form to ourselves. We have tried to replicate the luxury of our recently refurbished king size room in this smaller more affordable double. Along with... More 

uttoxeter
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Where to start... The hotel is in a great place, right on the front with a great view BUT... the room was very poor. There was a catalogue of issues. The double bed was so hard I couldn't sleep, the other bed squeaked, the sash windows rattle in the wind and let the cold air in and this then makes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

We apologize that your stay was not as enjoyable as you would have hoped for. We try where ever possible to let the guest choose the room that is most suitable for their needs and budget. The room in question is due for renovation and was offered at a significant discount due to this. We have a couple of recently... More 

Newark, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We paid for a night here so I feel entitled to review it, even though we didn't actually spend more than 40 minutes on the property. The location is nice near the water and bustle of Oban. The hotel itself is a faded beauty, though. Squishy carpeted floors led to a room that has been unloved for decades. Desperately outdated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerOban, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the time taken to write a review. Our twin rooms are as shown on our website and we do state that they are compact. We have wifi routers on every floor and usb modems in every bedroom in addition the the internet in the public areas. The bedding is new and regularly replaced. The appliances with the... More 

Mwanza Region, Tanzania
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
45 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

There is nothing essentially wrong with this hotel, but you need to be aware of its limitations. It is an old narrow building and does not have many modern features. Our room was on the top (4th) floor and there is no lift. Believe me, even if you are fit the stairs will tire you after a couple of ascents.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the time taken to write a review. We are a small family run hotel and each of the rooms in this 100 year old building are of different shapes and sizes. We try and remain competitively priced for the area for peak season. We have a couple of rooms that have had major refurbishments and more expensive.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Address: 20 George Street, Oban PA34 5SB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Oban, Scotland

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay