We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Oban hotels

Oban Bay Hotel & Spa

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AE, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Oban Bay Hotel & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Oban Bay Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
mariemac68 Kelso, United Kingdom
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    313
    212
    103
    64
See reviews for
125
574
36
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (987)
  • Mar-May only
    (229)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (298)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (261)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (199)
All months
Kelso, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a lovely stay here,ideal for visiting family. The staff are very welcoming & friendly. Our room was OK,but as we only paid £99 for 2 nights with a 6 course taster dinner on our first night,I'm not complaining. Had I paid more,I would say,the spa isn't what you would expect,outdoor hot tub is not luxurious or to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Two night B and B with one evening meal if memory serves me correctly. I would advise not to try the tester menus we were offered. We were offered 5 courses which we thought was presented as an alternative to a 3 course meal. We expected the courses to be on the smaller size however they were generally tiny eg.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Irvine, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Got 5pm 2 night deal as a birthday gift. Arrived to friendly, helpful staff. Room was cosy & comfortable with a sea view. Had the 6 course taster meal on first night, didn't know what to expect but all the food was excellent. We utilised the hot tub, sauna & steam room. Great breakfast, liked the fact that you ordered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited on Friday at the weekend with 3 friends for a xmas party night (all girls). We all found the rooms to be very comfortable and clean. The staff were friendly, the dinner was very good and the breakfast next morning had an excellent choice and was served at your table which was a lovely change to the usual buffet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Whilst the 5pm.co.uk deal made this an incredibly reasonable midweek break for two nights, the failure to provide a basic standard of service at times tainted our trip. Firstly one third of the 'spa' (note, there is no pool) was closed the entire duration of our stay due to bad weather. The hot tub was part of the reason I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_ObanBay, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your reveiw, it was truly appreciated. I am sorry the hot tub was unavailable during your stay, however, due to the weather and health and safety reasons I had an obligation to ensure the safety of all guests, therefore had to close this facility. The issues you specified have been addressed and... More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the Oban Bay Hotel for 1 night this weekend with my partner. First of all the lady who checked us in and out was very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was also very nice with interesting options. The room however wasn't great. Old plaster wrappers and eye pencil shavings on the floor implied the room hadn't been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_ObanBay, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it was truly appreciated. All issues you specified have been addressed and I thank you for bringing this to my attention. We do have and expect high standards, therefore, this level of service is not acceptable. Once again please accept my sincere apologies. SH More 

Hamilton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had two night break in December, room was ok nothing special, could be doing with new mattress bit too lumpy for my liking! Breakfast was good, no self service and catered for gluten free which is always a bonus. Spa, I would use this word loosely, it is a small steam room and sauna in one room and a massage... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_ObanBay, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it was truly appreciated. I am sorry you were dissappointed with the spa facilities, however, it does state on all websites that we do not have a swimming pool. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you. SH More 

Troon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at the Oban Bay Hotel for 2 nights on one of their Autumn Deals. The deal was for 2 nights bed and breakfast with 6 course taster menu on both evenings. The deal also included a free bottle of wine on the first evening. The staff were very friendly and helpful and could not do enough for us. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_ObanBay, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it was truly appreciated. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and have passed your kind comments on to the team. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you. SH More 

Dumbarton, Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great hotel in a great location. Room lovely and spacious with views of the harbour. Only negative was the bed wasn't comfortable, was clearly old and you could feel the springs. Had six course taster menu on first night which was delicious. Breakfast both mornings was of a very high standard. Staff were helpful and courteous. Would visit again in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager_ObanBay, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it was truly appreciated. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and I have passed your kind comments on to the team. I am annoyed your stay was spoilt due to the bed, I will check all front facing rooms in order to establish which bed needs replaced. I... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Been there for a weekend. The place is very nice and neat. Food is good as well. But the bed were cracking a lot so can't say had good sleep. The staffs were nice and friendly if the I had good night's sleep then would have given them 5 star.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_ObanBay, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it was truly appreciated. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay but I am annoyed this was spoilt by sleepness nights due to the bed. I would appreciate if you could contact me with the room number this would allow me to investigate and replace. Thank you. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Oban Bay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban Bay Hotel & Spa

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban Bay Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oban Bay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Bay Hotel And Spa
Oban Bay Hotel Oban
Oban Bay Hotel & Spa Scotland

198 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (193)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (50)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay