We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oban Bay Hotel & Spa

Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AE, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Oban Bay Hotel & Spa
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Oban
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
JoanneTraveller Irvine, United Kingdom
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    355
    228
    111
    65
See reviews for
134
627
39
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1082)
  • Mar-May only
    (274)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (298)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (261)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (249)
All months
Irvine, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Food of an excellent standard and staff both helpful and pleasant. Was lucky enough to get a bedroom with a wonderful view. There is not a lot of parking but you can park at the back of the cathedral which is a two minute walk.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Forres, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

As a single person i was unable to take advantage of the offer of 2 nights dinner b&b with four friends so ended up in a guest house on my own down the road. I joined my friends for dinner at the Oban Bay and chose a meal from the a la carte menu. Very disappointed that I was then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
scotland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here this weekend with our wee pup, so had a doggy room which was at the back facing the bins, but the room was fine. The bed was one of the best I've stayed in, slept like a log both nights as did my husband-and the pup in her bed-provided by the hotel. We had the 6 course taster... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager_ObanBay, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it was truly appreciated. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to the team. I look forward to welcomin you back in the future and doggy too. Regards SH More 

Dunfermline
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a nice hotel situated on the bay. There is limited parking (approx. 10 cars) so get to the hotel early to park. We arrived at 12 and got parked no problem. Informed the hotel that we'd arrived and we'd check in later. Local amenities are within walking distance. The food was delicious. We had six course taster meal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_ObanBay, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it was truly appreciated. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards SH More 

argyll
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this hotel for a spa break as advertised. The greeting at the front desk was cold but was happy to be spending a well earned break with friends. The rooms were adequate, but having a shower was very restricted. Dressing gowns were supplied for the spa, but the carpets were threadbearn under foot on route! The hot tub which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_ObanBay, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it was truly appreciated. I am sorry you found the hotel boring but we do not provide activities in house as there is so much to do in Oban. I speak to guests on a regular basis and they enjoy their relaxation in the hotel after the hussle and bussle... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our first opinion was tainted as we had to park a wee distance from the hotel, which isnt good wen uv got stuff left in the car. As we entered the room it seemed fine but wen we pulled the sheets back we found marks/stains on them, they wer clean but still not wot u wanna see. The bath room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_ObanBay, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am sorry you had an issue with your bedding, this is not the standard that the hotel wishes to portray and I would have ensured the matter was resolved if I had been informed. Regards SH More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed in Oban for a weekend away for my birthday. We found this hotel to be very pleasant and clean. As this was one of the Christmas weekends it was quite busy with the locals but we got the full Christmas party night on the Friday with a 3 course meal. While the entertainment wasn't the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_ObanBay, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it was truly appreciated. I am so glad you enjoyed your December break and I have passed your kind comments on to the team. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future, maybe when the weather is sunny. Regards SH More 

Perth, Scotland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I booked into the Oban Bay Hotel, for only one night as we were going to a family baptism. We decided to travel through from Perth on Sunday morning and we booked into the hotel at 10.00am. There was no problem with this and the staff were very courteous and helpful. We had to take our small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_ObanBay, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your short stay and I trust you had a great time at your family celebration. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future and your dog spaniel. Regards SH More 

Kelso, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights and were lucky enough to get a room, not on the seafront, but with a view of the sea. The room was nicely decorated with tea tray and clean ensuite. It had a good shower with lovely Scottish toiletries. The breakfast was excellently cooked and was all served at the table rather than a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_ObanBay, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for tqking the time to write your review, it was truly appreciated. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regarding decor, I have passed your comments on to head office. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards SH More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly staff; tired decor but clean; breakfasts ok and bar too, but in common with so many hotels in large parts of Scotland is now behind the times. Price high for what was on offer to be honest. Places like Oban crying out for really decent quality hotel and you can't say prices here are budget.... Needs update.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_ObanBay, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it was truly appreciated. Crerar Hotels operate a rolling programme for refurbishment, therefore, I have passed your comments on to them regardin the tired decor. Regards SH More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

255 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (202)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (50)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (50)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question